We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Fortrose Bay Campsite

Save
Share
Wester Greengates, Fortrose IV10 8RX Scotland
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Traveller (84)
Pool & Beach (19)
View from Room (10)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Contactless check-in
  • Contactless check-out
Updated 03/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Fortrose Bay Campsite
Updated 03/07/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#1 of 3 Speciality lodging in Fortrose
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Come and camp on the shores of the Moray Firth. Relax on the pebble beach with a BBQ whilst watching the sunset over the distant mountains. Fortrose is an historic village and only 20 mins drive north of Inverness. Happy Camping!
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Wifi
Paid wifi
Beach
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Self-serve laundry
Room types
Ocean view
141Reviews0Q+A18Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 109
  • 25
  • 4
  • 3
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
John Newman wrote a review Oct 2021
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia4 contributions
Friendly welcome, good facilities. The Crofters cafe at Rosemarkie was great. Lots of easy walks, the fairy glen was a super little walk. The beach walls are a great way to relax. We got to see dolphins. Winner winner chicken dinner
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Brown, Owner at Fortrose Bay Campsite
Responded 20 Oct 2021
Thanks for the fantastic review Sydney! Glad you enjoyed your holiday on the Black Isle. Happy Camping 🐬🐬🐬 Best wishes, the Fortrose Bay Campsite Crew
Read more
Jack S wrote a review Sept 2021
Nottingham, United Kingdom85 contributions5 helpful votes
1st night on our NC500 trip and stayed at Fortrose Bay Campsite. Unfortunately arrived after sunset about 7.30 but Rachel was very helpful when we spoke to her on route and informed us which pitch we had. View is stunning from all pitches, facilities are great. Rachel recommended walking down to Chanonry Lighthouse (10mins) and we might see dolphins, we walked down in the morning and saw 4 swimming not far out from the lighthouse. Would recommend to anyone if they're looking to stay in the area.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Brown, Owner at Fortrose Bay Campsite
Responded 22 Sept 2021
Thank you so much for the lovely review! Glad you enjoyed your holiday your stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes, the Fortrose Bay Campsite Crew 🐬🐬🐬
Read more
Keith wrote a review Sept 2021
1 contribution
We stayed here for four nights in a motorhome whilst visiting family who live locally, we had a lovely pitch and the views were to die for, The lady who booked us in was very friendly and helpful however things declined during our stay - the site was packed, one member of staff was very adamant regarding where your pitch was and the boundaries, however, we got the impression that if you had stayed there before or you were staying a longer period that rule went out of the window - for example, two large campervans next to us were clearly friends and that had set up a camp within a camp. Very large campervans and caravans with awnings on both which were the size of the motorhomes themselves, = They clearly had no consideration for others around them, Lots of dogs between them - yes they were well behaved however the owners could have been more considerate regarding their own behaviour, they decided to have a bbq on the beach - they didn't build it in front of their own motorhomes they decided to build it right in front of ours. The smell of smoke and fish was overwhelming. - so much so it ruined our last night, On the point of the site itself, money clearly needs to be spent on the toilet block and the shower block or shack as it is called - no other word for it - it VASTLY needs to be updated - the shower I used was blocked and the water didn't run away and to be honest the water pressure in the shower or should I say lack of left a lot to be desired, I suggest they put up the prices to deter undesirables and to use the money to update the facilities. On the whole, this site could be a lot better we went to have a look at the Rosemarkie campsite which appears to be a lot nicer and well kept.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The views closest to the beach are to die for however be very aware of people having BBqs
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Brown, Owner at Fortrose Bay Campsite
Responded 18 Sept 2021
Thank you for your review and comments Keith. We're sorry you didn't find our modern shower shack to your liking. If you had let us know of any issues at the time, we could have rectified them immediately. We could have also explained that the shower head has adjustable flow options. The fresh yet dated facilities are reflected in our prices. As you can see from many of our reviews, campers appreciate the clean facilities and spacious pitches along with the quiet peaceful atmosphere, despite us being full every night. Our 10 metre wide pitches allow for a certain amount of leeway when pitching, in some circumstances, which helps us to achieve the laidback relaxed approach that many appreciate. It sounds like you would be suited to a more regimented approach that club sites offer. Hope you still managed to have an enjoyable holiday. Best wishes, the Fortrose Bay Campsite Crew.
Read more
Kate R wrote a review Sept 2021
Brides-les-Bains, Rhone-Alpes, France21 contributions2 helpful votes
Stayed here on the first night of our NC500 road trip. Great pitch right on the estuary so we could light a campfire on the beach. Very friendly/helpful hosts. Lovely walk to Chanonry point to look for dolphins. Nice clean shower/loo block. Would definitely recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021
Value
Service
Room Tip: ASk for a pitch on the seafront.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Brown, Owner at Fortrose Bay Campsite
Responded 17 Sept 2021
Thank you for taking the time to give us a great review! Hope you had a lovely holiday and that we are able to welcome you back soon. Best wishes, the Fortrose Bay Campsite Crew 🐬🐬🐬
Read more
TheFatlaws wrote a review Sept 2021
North Hykeham, United Kingdom41 contributions32 helpful votes
Friendly welcome, beautiful views from all the pitches. We took the short but scenic walk to Channory point and then back via Rosemarkie. Cooked dinner on a campfire on the beach. Clean facilities. Quiet site. Perfect start to North Coast 500.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Rachel Brown, Owner at Fortrose Bay Campsite
Responded 15 Sept 2021
Wow! Thanks for the great review. Hope you have a fantastic trip! Best wishes, the Fortrose Bay Campsite Crew.
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandScottish HighlandsRoss and CromartyFortrose
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Fortrose Bay Campsite
Which popular attractions are close to Fortrose Bay Campsite?
Nearby attractions include Rosemarkie Beach (0.7 miles), Fairy Glen Falls (1.6 miles), and Fort George (1.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Fortrose Bay Campsite?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free parking, kids activities, and internet access.
Is parking available at Fortrose Bay Campsite?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Fortrose Bay Campsite?
Conveniently located restaurants include Fortrose Cafe, IV10 Cafe Bar Deli, and The Star Inn.
Is Fortrose Bay Campsite located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 miles away from the centre of Fortrose.
Are pets allowed at Fortrose Bay Campsite?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Fortrose Bay Campsite?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Fort George (1.6 miles).
Does Fortrose Bay Campsite have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.