We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Zhilam Hostel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kangding County
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Zhilam Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

128 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 108: English reviews
Whistler, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago NEWvia mobile

This place definitely lives up to the hype! I stayed in the dorms, which had lovely big beds complete with bed heaters and privacy curtains. The facilities are far better than what you will find in most of China, and far cleaner (they even had a washer AND a DRYER for doing laundry, something you won't find in most places...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheViewSeeker
krubesh, Owner at Zhilam Hostel, responded to this review

Hey thanks so much for your kind comments. Enjoyed having you here and do come back! Kris

Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at Zhilam for 3 nights in a private room (new house). The room was nice and clean and we got to meet and chat with nice people in the hostel's lobby. We stayed here regardless of the price because we found good reviews everywhere and we were a bit disappointed. The place was definitely not worth the price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Angelique G
krubesh, Owner at Zhilam Hostel, responded to this review

Dear Angelique, I'm sorry your stay was unpleasant. I am thankful for your review however as I really don't want people's expectations of our place to be set too high! We are a family run home in the wild west of China...that's it! When our guests suffer with water shortages, so do we (we live at the hostel)! At times...

Bergen, Norway
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Wonderful to find a hostel where everything works and where staff speaks English and they all are very helpful. We were hiking day trips around Kangding and then went on a longer trip with local horsemen to Gongga Si. We got advice (sometimes with sketchmaps, sometimes with pictures) about where to start our trips. We could rent equipment instead of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hans-Schaefer
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

We spent 7 nights at this wonderful B&B. The hosts are very friendly and did everything possible to make our stay exceptional. We enjoyed yak yogurt and homemade granola, homemade carrot cake, and a variety of other goodies. There are other options on the menu and they serve breakfast, lunch and dinner. The rooms are quaint, generous size with hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynne A
Beijing, China
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Zhilam hostel is a great hostel in Kangding. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We arrived very late at 2am and the owner Kris waited for us. After a long bus journey we were greeted with a hot cup of apple cider and an amazing self made cake. The rooms are very cozy and clean. The bathrooms and showers...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FloTanja
Gorontalo Province, Indonesia
Reviewed 9 October 2016

Our bus was delayed and we didn't arrive until 4am, but Kris (he and his wife own the place) was sleeping on the floor in the front room. He answered our call from the deserted street where the bus left us, gave the driver we found directions, and went out to the porch to signal to our car when we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarucane
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

We loved our stayed at Zhilam. Hosts are very nice, the hotel is really nice and there is a real cosy atmosphere. We stayed in one of their dorms which was very clean. Hot shower We warmly recommend it!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoire R
krubesh, Owner at Zhilam Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks so much for staying with us. Really appreciate that you took the time to review us. Kris

Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Great place to meet people but made so much mistakes with the booking and with a simple van reservation - booked us a taxi for one price and the taxi demended a much more expensive price when it arrived. Food is pricy and tiny, dorms are great but private rooms prices are rediculous (240¥). Unfortunetly i was dissapointed but glad...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Daniella N
krubesh, Owner at Zhilam Hostel, responded to this review

Daniella, I'm sorry it sounds like you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I hope the following comments will not be read as a defense, but as an explanation of your disappointments: We actually don't book taxis and vans for guests because we don't want to be liable in the event that there is an accident or a bad experience....

Bern
Reviewed 1 September 2016

We stayed for 5 nights in the meditation room. Zhilam hostel was very very pleasant. The Tibetan staff including the American owner are extremly friendly and try to make bonds with the guests. The hostel is a bit outside of the center up the hill. All of the rooms we had a glance in and also the common area are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Flurina Z
krubesh, Owner at Zhilam Hostel, responded to this review

Thanks for staying with us Flurina and making the time and effort to comment on TripAdvisor. Hope the journey has gone well and you are learning all sorts of great stuff about Tibetan culture!

Manila, Philippines
Reviewed 29 August 2016

This place has a good vibe, a nice café/restaurant where you can mingle with the staff and other travelers, mostly backpackers from around the world, but also young Chinese backpackers. Chris is like a CEO of a small and well managed enterprise. When he has the time to sit down (which he did on his day off) he can respond...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Millevoyages
krubesh, Owner at Zhilam Hostel, responded to this review

Hey thanks for your very kind response and review on our home. Salamat!

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kangding County
0.6 mi away
Dengba Hostel No.1 Kangding
Dengba Hostel No.1 Kangding
#21 of 71 in Kangding County
23 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lam-ze Lin-ka Hotel
Lam-ze Lin-ka Hotel
#4 of 71 in Kangding County
33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Daocheng Drolma's Guest House
Daocheng Drolma's Guest House
#2 of 10 in Daocheng County
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Gesang Garden
Gesang Garden
#2 of 59 in Kangding County
2 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Yujing Sausurea Boutique Hotel
#3 of 71 in Kangding County
2 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gesar Hotel
Gesar Hotel
#12 of 71 in Kangding County
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Kitchenette
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our hostel sits on a hillside just above Kangding city-center. It can be reached by a foot-path in just five minutes. We can also be reached by car, although the route is a little longer. Being above the town, we enjoy great views, peaceful silence, and a little cleaner air. We are situation across the valley from Pama Mountain (a major tourist destination) and have great views of snow caps to the South. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Zhilam Hostel

Address: Bai Tuo Kan area, Kangding County 626000, China
Region: China > Sichuan > Kangding County
Price Range: £5 - £47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Zhilam Hostel Kangding County, China - Sichuan
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Zhilam Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid the new house, too many stairs and water problems”
 of 5 bubbles angeliqueg15, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“best view at rooms 9 through 11.”
 of 5 bubbles Hans-Schaefer, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Annex rooms are quieter but the shower drains slowly.”
 of 5 bubbles Miss_Leeding, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“If you seek privacy, request a room in the new building behind the hostel”
 of 5 bubbles , 15 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Big recommendation about the day trip above the hostel”
 of 5 bubbles Guymu, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5