We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Bull Inn

Booking.comUS$110*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$123*
US$110*
Great Deal
US$123*
US$123*
US$110*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
The Bull Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

152 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for The Bull Inn
See the most recent reviews
Showing 152: English reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2016

The recently refurbished Bull ticked the boxes - Greeting on entering the establishment Bright attentive waiting staff Speedy service for drinks and order taking. Most importantly the food that arrived was hot, plentiful and delicious. We will return and just hope that not quite so many toddlers and noisy Mummy's are next to us! (Not the Bulls fault)! Bull staff,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carrob10
Poole, Dorset
Reviewed 22 September 2016

Good central location in a lovely Cotswold village, ideal for the places we wanted to visit. Room 7 on the first floor of the Barn building behind the Inn was spacious and beautifully decorated with well chosen furnishings. The bed was very comfortable with good quality linen. Thick, white towelling dressing gowns provided for use. The young team running the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dohoPoole
Reviewed 22 September 2016

We arrived at the bull inn in charlbury at about 2 pm it has a decent sized car park at the rear also a very nice seating area which is gravelled .we were welcomed by the manager who although was quite young did help us with our luggage which was a nice touch ,he also showed us to our room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim B
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Just had a fantastic couple of days at The Bull. Room (5) was wonderful and our son and girlfriend also commented on how lovely their room (4) was. The staff are great and we thoroughly enjoyed the bar food especially on the evening we ate outside. Breakfast is also excellent and we prefer fresh local produce cooked to order which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanHen
lancashire
Reviewed 11 September 2016

The fish and chips where lovely, pity about the portion size, more for the childs menu-considering it was £12.50 certainly wasnt worth the money-which is a shame because the staff where very attentive, very polite. The decor lovely and relaxing throughout

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gillybean6664
Hugo K, General Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Dear Gilly, We are very sorry that you received such a small portion of fish, this isn't the standard size that chef weighs out for each portion. We have followed up and are going to ensure that every dish lives up to our standards. We hope to see you again soon to put our mistake right. Kind regards Hugo Kelly...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 September 2016

Well we took my, slightly posh, step mum, her husband and my sister, out for a family meal. we were staying in Witney, having driven up from Exeter, and The Bull in Charlbury was recommended. Excellent service, good food - reasonablely priced, tho wine a tad expensive, and thoroughly fussed over by young enthusiastic staff, who really wanted us to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MicChrissy
Hugo K, General Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Dear Chrissy, Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review, we are very glad you enjoyed your time here. We hope to welcome you again soon. Kind regards Hugo Kelly hugo@bull-inn.com

Worcestershire
Reviewed 9 September 2016

This must be one of Charlbury's gems - a lovely old Cotswold inn run by a young enthusiastic team who tried hard to make us feel very welcome. The rooms were superb, the food delicious... in fact our only complaint was no marmalade for breakfast!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crown_house
Hugo K, General Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Dear Crown House, Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our Pub. We will now have marmalade available for every breakfast, thank you for the feedback. Kind regards Hugo Kelly hugo@bull-inn.com

Chepstow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016 via mobile

Although a nice looking establishment the food and service let's it down badly. We had to wait for over 45 mins for our meals with no explanation given for delay until we finally enquired. The beetroot and goats cheese salad consisted of lots of chunks of beetroot and I failed to find any goats cheese. All this for 12 pounds....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
Hugo K, General Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Dear Jane, I am very disappointed to hear about your experience at the Bull. This is far below the standards we set or what we expect. Please can you contact me direct so i that i can put right the poor time you had. Please accept my sincerest apologies. Kind regards Hugo hugo@bull-inn.com

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Friendly staff, very relaxed atmosphere. Lovely comfortable rooms with quality decor and finishes. Dinner was great. Someone has said the menu was limited. From our perspective, it was based on local, seasonal, fresh produce and provided a good choice. Menus with large choices are like it for a reason. Breakfast great too. Noticed that locals were coming in for coffee...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sidekick18
Hugo K, General Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and give us your feedback. it is greatly valued. Kind regards Hugo Kelly hugo@bull-inn.com

Reviewed 31 August 2016

Stopped off in Charlbury en route from London to Cornwall and had a fantastic stay. One hour out of London by train with the station in the village which is really convenient. The rooms are fabulous; lovely big comfy beds and contemporary country decor. The staff could not have been more helpful, especially David. Food was equally impressive with a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Wildeve100
Hugo K, General Manager at The Bull Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review and give us your wonderful feedback. It is always so good to hear and we thrive on it. Kind regards Hugo Kelly hugo@bull-inn.com

46 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (12)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlbury
0.0 mi away
Bell Hotel
Bell Hotel
#1 of 1 in Charlbury
195 reviews
5.7 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,734 reviews
5.6 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,203 reviews
6.6 mi away
The Maytime Inn
The Maytime Inn
#1 of 8 in Burford
357 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Bull at Burford
The Bull at Burford
#4 of 8 in Burford
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A True Home from Home ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Bull Inn

Address: Sheep Street, Charlbury OX7 3RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Charlbury
Price Range: £94 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bull Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Bull Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bull Inn Charlbury, Oxfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Bull Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Check the radiator position in the bathroom”
UNool, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The dark blue walled double is wonderful”
Nickemmel, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 5 great for couples”
clare2104, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 3 is my favourite.”
katewinny, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“room 4, spacious, comfortable bed and pillows, very large and clean bathroom with huge fluffy towels and robes.”
Snorkellbabe, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$110* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$123
TripAdvisorUS$110
Orbitz.comUS$123
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates