We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Lambert Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Lambert Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

585 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 574: English reviews
Start your review of The Lambert Hotel
 Click to rate
england
Reviewed today NEW

I stayed here for a weekend with family. It was really used as a base as we explored the area round about but we found it had everything we required and allowed us to bring our dog along too. Breakfast was good, buffet style so you could help yourself to as much or as little as you wanted, and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jo2003
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

Gorgeous setting and a lovely hotel. Staff were very friendly and the room and hotel itself was very clean and the decor was lovely. Food very good in the evening. Breakfast was slightly disappointing , not very warm under the lights, (think the cooked breakfast had been there a while)and the only other point was the mattress was very worn...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth C
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We thank you for your feedback on breakfast and the mattress, and are pleased that you enjoyed the rest of your stay.

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Went for a weekend away with my girlfriend for our anniversary and was pleased to see a lovely looking hotel when we arrived. Unfortunately the reception we received on arrival could be interpreted as poor at best and actively hostile at worst. The host seemed quite irritated that we had arrived as were a few hours early and only reluctantly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gunooner
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are sorry to see your feedback regarding the welcome, and will discuss this with those staff who were avaialble during your stay.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were in the middle of a walk on the Ridgeway , when our booking was cancelled. We ended up having to walk another 5 miles and finished in the dark. Apparently, due to local hoteliers, this is not the first time they have done this!. Their excuse inventory problems. I do not generally right reviews but I feel strongly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Hugo S
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. I am sorry to see your feedback after speaking with yourselves and making the arrangements for yourselves. As arranged, the alternative hotel was available to host your twin room request, at a lower rate than ourselves and able to collect yourselves from the Ridgeway. As you mentioned on the phone, the new location was favourable...

Reviewed 1 week ago

My room overlooked fields and was very quiet even though I could see the cars on the M40 in the distance. The room was large, clean, and spacious with a very comfortable bed and the bathroom was large and well equipped. I was in a courtyard room and the courtyard itself was very well maintained with nice trimmed lawn areas...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth H
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you here again soon. Do call directly for special offers such as the one you stayed with this time!

Worcestershire
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My room in the courtyard was modern, spacious and very clean. Well appointed bathroom with powerful shower. Lovely bar with a fab roaring fire and very friendly staff. Excellent choice at breakfast. Extremely handy for M40 and Thame. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend or go back.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tigger-2109
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Potters Bar, Hertfordshire
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Really nice friendly staff and tasty meals. Our room was nice and big, but had a small double bed which was odd being as the room was so big, plus the bedside lights were set to take a bigger bed. The lighting in the bedroom was very poor! Could hardly read in bed!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Champagne27_12
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are currently reviewing the lighting in the rooms which we are looking to change so we thank you for letting us know and will be getting these updated soon!

Brighton, Michigan
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for two nights. Room was large with a bath and shower. The room was cleaned every day with fresh towels and linen. Did not hear the other guests. Bathroom boasts an extractor fan ! Breakfast was very good with a full range of food. Staff very polite and helpfull. Hotel is very near the motorway and thankfully no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomjon
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and look forward to welcoming you here again soon.

West Malling, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very friendly and welcoming staff explained how things worked and answered questions that we asked in an excellent friendly manner . Food was excellent good portions and wide choice on the menu I had hake for main course cooked to perfection thoroughly enjoyed .There was a varied buffet cereals fruit yogurts toast plus full English for the faint and hardy-breakfast...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lesleywraight123
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with our popular Blenheim Palace Package. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Thame, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My fiance and I decided to go out for dinner and we chose the Lambert Arms as we often drive past it and say we must go in to try their food. I was able to get through to reception to book a table via phone (although they took a while to answer) but we were in luck and got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah L
143manager, Manager at The Lambert Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your dinner and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

119 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (110)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (60)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewknor
5.5 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,620 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Kings Hotel
The Kings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stokenchurch
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,150 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Peacock
The Peacock
#1 of 1 in Henton
209 reviews
7.3 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#26 of 44 in Oxford
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Kite Restaurant & Bar
Kite Restaurant & Bar
Cuisines: Bar, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A delightful traditional coaching inn, retaining its original historic features, with a modern twist. Comfortable and friendly, with open-fires, real ales and mouth-watering food overseen by Chef Chris Coates, and with a great choice of stylish and spacious bedrooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Lambert Hotel

Address: London Road | Thame, Lewknor OX49 5SQ, England (Formerly The Lambert Arms)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Lewknor
Price Range: £62 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lambert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Lambert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lambert Arms Hotel Aston Rowant
Lambert Arms Oxfordshire
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Lambert Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
Plymouth, United Kingdom
14 days ago
Chinnor, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Chinnor, United Kingdom
2 months ago
New York
10 months ago
Solihull, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Lambert Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not book”
 of 5 bubbles 635hugos, 23 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Avoid room 1 for creaky flooring, poor plumbing and the strange beer-garden staircase.”
 of 5 bubbles 868grantt, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms i think are better but you can hear a heavy person occasionaly if they stomp.”
 of 5 bubbles 126clints, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are lovely”
 of 5 bubbles 852tic, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“courtyard room was nice. We were allowed to bring our dog”
 of 5 bubbles 5cool7, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5