We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Country Inn

14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Country Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

31 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 31: English reviews
Start your review of The Country Inn
 Click to rate
Whangarei, New Zealand
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We checked in late on a Monday night and stayed in the family unit. Very nice clean room, with kitchen facilities, fridge/freezer, bath, a king bed and 4 singles. The room was immaculate and warm this was an ideal place to stay to break up the trip but not break the bank!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mearslockie
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were 2 couples and a toddler staying in a 2 bedroom family unit. Had to bring our own portacot. In Auckland for drag racing so handy to Meremere and the restaurant was good (nice meals and good service). Unit OK but a few issues: cockroaches, no handrail in bathroom, water leaking on ground outside our unit. One of our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tania B
New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Good Stay. Our group had 4 rooms 3 rooms had queen size beds and tea coffee making, a toaster, table and chairs and bathroom. No cooking facilities. The only room that had cooking facilites was the family unit. This worked fine for our group as we all met in the family unit for breakfast. The Family unit had 2 separate...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sfl47
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewed 20 February 2017

the staff were super nice and gave us refills on everything without the extra charge! The place was homey and comfortable, perfect location for a relaxing weekend getaway!! the food was delicious and the portion was very satisfying as well!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank KaitlinC365
Reviewed 16 February 2017 via mobile

We came just for the evening on Waitangi Day. I was impressed with the standard of the facilities in the room we had (and the level of cleanliness). The meal we had was traditional/classic and well cooked, which made it really enjoyable. What stood out to me though was how we were treated by those who served us. Julian was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica E
Mangere, New Zealand
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Several friends and I came to the restaurant and it was nothing short of amazing! We were served by Ken and his staff who were so hospitable and provided great customer service.Coming from a background of hospitality and customer service it was a great experience. I had ordered the Steak, Eggs, and chips and apple crumble. Typically I normally don't...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank syndisk2007
Auckland
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

I'll start from the beginning. We were attending a wedding and there was a group of us who booked accomodation through the website. We booked 3 months in advance. One of the group received a call to say that they were changing the rooms we booked because there was a big group wanting to stay, she told them to ring...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank michaelangelav
Reviewed 6 November 2016 via mobile

Booked a room months in advance, got email confirmation. Turn up at the motel...they have no recollection of our booking. Proceeded to put us in a room with no locking door which we refused... The second room...was sparse and tired looking...dirty windows...spiders... curtains not hooked up properly...tv only plays 5 random channels none of which were tvnz... Went to the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bjgcpr
Management response:

Hi bjgcpr, Thank you for your comments. We have reviewed what you have said and all staff have taken it on board. The online booking system was a problem for many businesses in Auckland during that week. The agents of these systems have apologised to us for this issue and have endeavoured that this will not happen again. Room 18,...

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

We had an 80th birthday here and the only thing positive about it was the meal. We booked 7 rooms with them and as far as we knew 3 of the rooms had no batteries in the smoke alarms. In 1 of the 3 rooms the battery was going flat and we told told them about, they came and took...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Klayton R
Management response:

Hi Klayton, This sounds terrible and we sincerely apologise for this. We have done inspection on all rooms for batteries as this is a health and safety issue. Of all rooms, two of them had no batteries, taken away from previous guests. We have implemented internal processes now where the cleaners are to ensure batteries are in there at all...

Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

Having searched online for somewhere nice, and different, to take my Mum out to lunch I came across this place. Travelled 40 kms to take my Mum to lunch there after seeing they had a cafe with cabinet food. On arrival at 12.15 ish and seeing a sign out front saying "Open coffee" went on in through the open door...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Erinphill
Management response:

Hi there Erinphill, We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused. There has been new ownership of this business and we are currently making those urgent changes as we speak. Please call us on 09 294 8320 and we can discuss for you to come in and enjoy one of our meals, on the house. Regards, Country Inn Management

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ramarama
7.5 mi away
Tuakau Hotel
Tuakau Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tuakau
136 reviews
1.1 mi away
Runciman Berries and Emus B&B
Runciman Berries and Emus B&B
#36 of 108 in Auckland
14 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dancing Trees Bed & Breakfast
Dancing Trees Bed & Breakfast
#115 of 245 in Auckland Region
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Lavalla Estate
Lavalla Estate
#1 of 1 in Tuakau
8 reviews
4.3 mi away
Touchwood Motor Lodge
Touchwood Motor Lodge
#1 of 2 in Pukekohe
134 reviews
5.1 mi away
Papakura Motor Lodge & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Country Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Only used the restaurant.”
Trickydicky795, 14 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I probably wouldn't choose a lower level room if it is busy.”
Jin2000, 10 Oct 2015 | Read review
“Right at the back of Motel are the best rooms with the awesome view of Ramarama”
Benleek, 28 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Ask for an upstairs room to avoid hearing every footstep overhead. A back room will avoid early morning truck noise although the trucks are parked on the other side of a large car park so didn't worry us at all when we weren't down the back.”
lefantlover, 20 Mar 2015 | Read review
“ask for second floor room. my sleep quality was a reflection of hearing loud footsteps overhead due to tiled floors.”
mudamrefu, 3 Mar 2015 | Read review
5 of 5