We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Cheshire Cheese Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hope
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Cheshire Cheese Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 196: English reviews
Reviewed yesterday NEW

It is what it is,a room above pub,clean and comfortable.Excellent breakfast,sets you up for the day,good choice of meals for the evening,our first evening,food superb,second evening,my partner had to return the homemade pie as it was burnt.He had another one after a short wait and we werent charged for it and staff very apologetic,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cherie O
York, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Decided to pop in for an early dinner. It was quiet so there wasn't much of an atmosphere, but I think that was little to do with the place and more to do with the time we visited. It's a typical old country pub with open fires, very cosy. I just had the soup with fresh bread which was lovely,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tre W
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Came here for the new year, the rooms are lovely and the people running it are very nice. Lovely pub food and (my boyfriend assures me) nice beers too. Will definitely be returning, thanks for a lovely time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jade K
Stockport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Last came here over 30 years ago and then had excellent fish and chips,nothing changed had fish and chips again and were just as good as the last visit. choice of beers was good.don't think it will be another 30 years to my next visit.all our party enjoyed the visit and made to feel welcome

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charles S
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Quaint little pub, tucked away in the back streets of Hope, but worth looking out for. Open fires friendly staff and nice food. Only criticism was that once again due to the Christmas rush several dishes were off the menu as they had run out. Does Christmas sneak up on people unannounced or is it on the same date each...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Del B
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 December 2016

In Buxton for the weekend for a family trip so looked at a few places to eat around the premier inn and decided on this pub. What a great choice, fantastic choice of both real ale and lager, even some interesting soft drink options! Menu although not extensive was good pub fare and between us went for the pie special,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ozandang
Whitley Bay, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 October 2016

Good evening meal, good choice of beer and wine, super breakfast, very friendly staff. Room ok, comfortable but could do with a proper clean. Dogwood Rose an unexpected treat of a Folk band made it a great night :)

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nichola S
loffless, Owner at Cheshire Cheese Inn, responded to this review

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I'm very sorry to hear that you felt that the room was not up to standard. If you had mentioned it then we would have done our best to rectify the situation. All our rooms are cleaned on a daily basis and as you will see from other reviews...

Reviewed 26 October 2016

This pub has a very nice homely feel to it with an open fire and many lovely traditional features. They serve a range of ales but the food on the day we visited was a bit disappointing. We were there for a Sunday roast. It was all a bit bland, tasteless and some of the food felt a little cold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Toadseyeview
loffless, Owner at Cheshire Cheese Inn, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal. We do try our best to make sure that meals are prepared to high standards. If you had mentioned it at the time we would have done what we could to rectify the situation. I am glad that you have previously enjoyed your visits but it is a shame that you have...

Nottingham
Reviewed 25 October 2016 via mobile

Lovely little pub with great beer and fantastic home cooked food. The soup was amazing. The pub is quite small so book ahead. its a five minute walk from the main road in hope but well worth the short walk.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Akeroyd
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

Went twice in two days - went for fajitas both times complemented by some lovely ales (a very good range). Would definitely come back and will think about staying here next time too (though I've no idea about the rooms). Kids liked the food too and were very welcome.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hope
0.7 mi away
Losehill House Hotel & Spa
4.0 mi away
George Hotel
George Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hathersage
360 reviews
10.0 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Castleton, Peak District
8.2 mi away
Old Hall Inn
Old Hall Inn
#9 of 166 in Peak District National Park
280 reviews
10.7 mi away
Pack Horse Inn
Pack Horse Inn
#1 of 3 in New Mills
353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Cheshire Cheese Inn

Address: Edale Road, Hope, Peak District National Park S33 6RF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Hope Valley > Hope
Price Range: £74 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cheshire Cheese Hotel Hope Valley
Cheshire Cheese Inn Hope, Peak District National Park
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cheshire Cheese Inn staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Cheshire Cheese Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book the four poster room”
 of 5 bubbles rhodes120, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
“A great British pub, high quality with heaps of character”
 of 5 bubbles Llanungar, 17 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Dined only”
 of 5 bubbles CJeremyL, 30 May 2016 | Read review
“We found Room 3 quite noisy and cramped.”
 of 5 bubbles Karen_USGER, 15 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Pub has 4 rooms to choose from”
 of 5 bubbles chelsea098, 9 Feb 2016 | Read review
5 of 5