We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hadrian Hotel

11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Professional photos
Hadrian Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

218 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 217: English reviews
Start your review of Hadrian Hotel
 Click to rate
North Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We called in at the hotel for Sunday lunch ( four adults, three children ). Our first impressions were positive seeing a much needed refurbishment in progress. Altogether more welcoming. The menus didn't offer too much of a choice but we did order a variety of dishes. The roast beef dishes were good although we were surprised to hear that...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 736dennisl
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

I was delighted when this hotel came under new owners, especially people who have other local pubs in the area. It had been closed during the winter for a start to be made on refurbishment after years of what can only be described as neglect. I met a colleague here for a light lunch one weekday and expectations were high...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Having visited and enjoyed many a meal at the Hadrian we chose to take friends their visiting from Scotland. Big mistake. The menu had changed and didn't seem to offer same choice. We ordered and while the portions seemed smaller than I remembered food looked ok. Well it wasn't! Mashed potatoes accompanying steak pie were cold so back it went....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Review186394
stockton
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Stopped over on impulse on a day out for a drive. Had previously stayed a few years ago and thought we'd give it another go. Slightly different experience from our last visit but still enjoyable. We stayed in room 3 which was spacious with a great view across the vale. . As with a few places we have stayed recently...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank golfking50
HexhamJane, Guest Relations Manager at Hadrian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear golfking50, Thank you so much for visiting us on impulse and for leaving such a great review - works are still underway so we hope you get the chance to visit again, glad you enjoyed this trip! Best wishes, All at The Hadrian

Dronfield
Reviewed 13 April 2017

We called here on a Sunday, as this is a 'Brit Stop' pub. Telephoned in advance to make sure that there was room to park up. We had full Sunday lunch which was excellent. The food was well cooked and plentiful. The staff were helpful and friendly. Total cost was £33.00 for two persons including drinks and tip. Would recommend....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonikg
HexhamJane, Guest Relations Manager at Hadrian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear tonikg, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a great review - having recently taken over The Hadrian we are working hard to get everything right. Apologies for your disturbance, we will make people aware of the "Brit-Stop" idea. Hope to see you again, Best wishes, From all at The Hadrian

Cramlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 March 2017

The roast meat we had today was beef and pork. Both tender, which for me is the biggest obstacle! It came with 2 Yorkshire puddings and a nice selection of vegetables. Extra gravy was also available.The service is alway friendly. The food at the Hadrian has always been good. The menu has changed since I saw it last year. There...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YolandaBage
HexhamJane, Guest Relations Manager at Hadrian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear YolandaBage, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review of The Hadrian, it is always good to hear people have enjoyed their visit to us. We have noted your point about the pie and shall see what we can add for our Summer menu and yes, you will be pleased to know the new loos...

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 January 2017 via mobile

We planned this visit with the dog, we weren't expecting the best hotel to be honest. The night before we received an email saying that they were undergoing work, there was a 48hour cancellation policy, so we wouldn't have been able to cancel anyway. We drove up on the morning, went for a walk on hadrians wall so we're a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
HexhamJane, Guest Relations Manager at Hadrian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kate F, Please do accept our apologies, this is not good enough. We have recently taken on the pub and as such, we do have some teething problems and thank you for bringing this to our attention - we shall do better and again, please accept our apologies. Best wishes, The Hadrian

Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

With new chef and owners we tried Sunday lunch. Great food, big dish of fresh veg and excellent value roast beef. Also great cheslese soufflé. Defo worth a visit. Not posh but getting better. Thanks very much.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mpjbells
HexhamJane, Guest Relations Manager at Hadrian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear mpjbells, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review of The Hadrian, we're glad to hear you enjoyed your Sunday lunch - lots of work going on at the pub so we hope you'll come and see the progress some time soon! Best wishes from The Hadrian

Newcastle
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

Having visited quite a few times in the past I was looking forward to another trip earlier this month. However I was disappointed to see the menu had changed. Previously I had always had a coronation chicken sandwich and chips and was always so impressed with the quantity and quality of the food. I found the new menu much more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisadorritt
HexhamJane, Guest Relations Manager at Hadrian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lisadorritt, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The Hadrian, we are sorry it couldn't be more positive. Our new menu is a reflection of seasonal, local produce and we take pride in the sourcing, preparing and serving of it. Having acquired the pub at the start of November we did feel some changes were...

Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

After visiting the hotel for years as we loved the home cooked meals, portion sizes and the friendly atmosphere we were so disappointed when we went up last week. The menu had changed and the choice was poor, the prices have been hiked up also. Staff didn't seem to have a clue what they were doing. We were ignored for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nicandchar
HexhamJane, Guest Relations Manager at Hadrian Hotel, responded to this review

Dear nicandchar, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of The Hadrian, we are sorry it couldn't be a more positive one. We recently took the pub over and it has been something of a whirlwind, rather hitting the ground running in the run-up to Christmas. Our staff are always happy to help, though a change or...

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wall
1.1 mi away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chollerford
668 reviews
6.4 mi away
Langley Castle Hotel
Langley Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in Langley-on-Tyne
1,082 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Beaumont Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.3 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#32 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
950 reviews
21.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Jesmond
#18 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
790 reviews
10.3 mi away
The Twice Brewed Inn
The Twice Brewed Inn
#14 of 62 in Hexham
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Hadrian Hotel

Address: Front Street, Wall, Hexham NE46 4EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Hexham > Wall
Price Range: £67 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hadrian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hadrian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hadrian Hotel Hexham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hadrian Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Hadrian Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Quieter rooms are to the rear”
Teesdalepark, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“enjoy the food as its the best bit by miles”
davidN2740TS, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I believe some rooms are en-suite, I would recommend getting one of those it you choose to stay.”
839IanO, 23 Aug 2016 | Read review
“room V111 had the views but is twin beds and bath & toilet along corridor”
NigelM140, 3 Aug 2016 | Read review
“go to another establishment”
zogi10, 1 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Expedia.com
* /night
View Deal
Booking.com
Travelocity
Hotwire.com
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates