We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Occidental Tamarindo

Bookit.comUS$198*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$266*
US$198*
Great Deal
US$207*
US$207*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Occidental Tamarindo
Occidental Tamarindo
Panoramas (19)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,266 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,127: English reviews
Start your review of Occidental Tamarindo
 Click to rate
Victoria, BC
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were touring around and booked this place the night before on Hotwire. We got a great deal and ended up getting a free upgrade to a 2 level suite. Front desk staff were super friendly and helpful when we checked in. Food was very good, and all of the staff in the restaurant were great, but one person (Aurly)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karen F
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Compeguana. We were there related to the bike race Guanaride 2017. Nice event hosted by them, which is big for Costa Ricans. Great hotel, very green and care for their gardens and a big pool area. Good staff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah d
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review

Dear Sarah: It was great reading your review! I appreciate your time writing it, it make us feel so proud. From all the crew of Occidental Tamarindo, it was great to welcome you and we to that you for all the good moments shared. Do not hesitate to contact us for whatever you may need. Best regards! Alvaro Fontenla. General...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is more of a Costa Rican hotel than the typical Occidental or Barcelo (it's part of the latter group). It's located on Langosta Beach more or less at the end of the road and very quiet. The beach is decent and there is a river mouth. You can see crocodiles, monkeys and lots of birds. Good for surfing too....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank harleyziggy
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review

Dear Harleyziggy: Thank you so much for these lovely words. Certainly I will forward them to all my team, who will be excited to hear this comment. We work really hard in order to provide the best relaxing and wonderful days to our guest, and opinions like yours encourage us to keep on the same way. Whatever you need whenever...

Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is not down town its off the beaten path about 3 km away from all of the action. This means its a $5 taxi fare to the action, which isn't a problem we went in May so it was the slow season. The hotel grounds were peaceful until about 9pm when the entertainment started up near the ala...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Rahim H
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review

Dear Rahim H: It was great reading your review! I appreciateyour time writing it, it make us feel so proud. From all the crew of Occidental Tamarindo, it was great to welcome you and we to that you for all the good moments shared. Do not hesitate to contact us for whatever you may need. Best regards! Alvaro Fontenla. General...

San Francisco, CA
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you want a Costa Rican style resort experience, and I mean one that's geared towards locals, then stay at Occidental Tamarindo. Our family of 4 (2 adults, 2 young kids) stayed here in early April. We arrived during the onset of Easter week, which was probably why the resort was quite busy with many locals visiting. The resort is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SC070
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review

Dear SC070: Thank you so much for these lovely words. Certainly I will forward them to all my team, who will be excited to hear about this comment. We work really hard in order to provide the best relaxing and wonderful days to our guest, and opinions like yours encourage us to keep on the same way. Whatever you need...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first all inclusive experience. Our room had water leaking from the light fixture and our bed was broken upon arrival- both were dealt with quickly from staff. The hotel seemed very busy, loud and seemed to suffer with some uncleanliness in the common areas. We also found the a la carte restaurant difficult to access and were...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Leslie W
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review

Dear Leslie W: It's so important our guests feedback, but when we get one comment that detailed and elaborated, we celebrate it. Too bad we couldn't make it like we often do to provide you with a extremely good vacations since that's the goal for all of us, to guarantee you will spend some unforgettable days in Costa Rica. We...

Morristown, New Jersey
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My girlfriend and I wanted to stay in Tamarindo without worrying about food drinks etc so we decided to stay here. The rooms were a little outdated but clean. No wifi in any of the rooms. Pool was very clean as well as the restaurant and bar by the pool. There were not many snacks besides the fried food. The...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Valerie C
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review

Dear Valerie C: Thank you very much for using part of your valued time to post this interesant and detailed comment about your vacations in Occidental Tamarindo. It's, without a single doubt, the best way to keep improving everyday and thereby offer the best experience All In Costa Rica. Please, accept our excuses for not achieving the excellence demanded by...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Bathroom light was hard to switch on. Very small closet space. Close to entertainment very noisy in evenings. A la carte restaurant was below average. Staff was friendly and helpful. Noisy music all day around the pool

Review collected in partnership with Barcelo Hotels & Resorts
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brianjcalgary
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review

Dear Guest: Thank you very much for posting this review although we are not satisfied since it seems we haven't been able to meet your expectations, my sincere apologies for that. We will working all the year to improve the place everyday so next tie you visite us, the experience may be perfect. Have a nice weekend. Your sincerely. Alvaro...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First of all, this is not my first time in an all-inclusive hotel, neither in Costa Rica. I have been in Playa Tambor, where I don't have any complaints but here Tamarindo, don't know from where to start, maybe saying the few good things and then going to the worst part. Good things: - Big and nice room, very cozy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jessica Q
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review

Dear Jessica Q: I appreciate you have posted a comment about your days in Tamarindo. However I must ask for apologies in behalf all my crew and myself. It`s painfully obvious we didnt make it right with you and that makes us feel terrible, since clients happiness is everything for us. Just info, Occidental is the new brand in Barceló...

Calgary
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location for wedding. spacious rooms, clean, terrific views.Wonderful staff. stunning beach.amazing sunsets. The buffet, good, though lacked variety throughout the week. Evening entertainment loud, kept us awake several nights.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NowFaceWest
Alvaro_Fontenla, Director General at Occidental Tamarindo, responded to this review

Dear NowFaceWest: Thank you very much for your nice and elaborated comment. We learn from our clients. Let me apologize for the all inconveniences, I would like to have the opportunity to welcome you again and provide you the best holidays in Costa Rica. Thank you again, best regards from Tamarindo. Alvaro Fontenla. General Manager.

1,993 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1580)
Viewed
Dining (46)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (270)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (361)
Viewed
Room/Suite (105)
Viewed
View from Room (88)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (662)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (369)
Viewed
Amenities (48)
Viewed
Beach (18)
Viewed
Duplex Suite (74)
Viewed
Pool (43)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (40)
Viewed
Standard King Room (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Langosta
1.1 mi away
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
Hotel Tamarindo Diria
#12 of 22 in Tamarindo
2,419 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cala Luna Luxury Boutique Hotel & Villas
2.9 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
18.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
11.2 mi away
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
1,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Airport Transportation
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
5 stars All Inclusive, with private access to Langosta beach, within the Las Baulas National Park. Boutique Hotel of 198 rooms with exclusive Premium Service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Occidental Tamarindo

Address: Playa Langosta, Tamarindo 26519, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Barcelo Langosta Beach)
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Tamarindo > Playa Langosta
Price Range: £128 - £379 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Occidental Tamarindo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 198
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Barcelo, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Occidental Tamarindo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Langosta Beach Hotel Tamarindo
Barcelo Hotel Tamarindo
Barcelo Hotel Langosta Beach
Hotel Barcelo Playa Langosta
Barcelo Playa Langosta
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Occidental Tamarindo staff and other travellers.
102 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (102)

Questions? Get answers from Occidental Tamarindo staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms in building 4 too loud if you want to go to sleep early. Small refrigerator provided in room along with balcony.”
886rahimh, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“Choose high floor rooms facing the ocean.”
SC070, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Quieter rooms are near the pool side”
jessicaq83, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“room 4406-awesome view. 2 levels, balconies on both floors.”
NowFaceWest, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“This is a very quiet hotel.”
1001Cindi, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Bookit.com
US$198* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$207
TripAdvisorUS$207
HotelQuicklyUS$266
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates