We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wilson Arms

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wilson Arms
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

394 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 394: English reviews
Start your review of Wilson Arms
 Click to rate
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What can I say - apart from fabulous!! - Apartment was very high spec and spotless - Hot tub was a real bonus too - Ate 2 nights at Wilson Arms - food was outstanding and very reasonably priced - Staff were so friendly, helpful & Welcoming - can definitely recommend for anyone who likes walking in the day and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clarey2906
ashton
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked a standard Room but it was good. The Pub is Close to Coniston village. Great place if you want to walk or use it as a base to drive from. Plenty of parking. Very Pet friendly you can take dogs into the bar when you want to eat. Food very good i had steak pudding never had one...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank gaztn55d
walsall UK
Reviewed 13 January 2017

We spent three nights in what was a standard room while we toured the lake district. Our accommodation was extremely comfortable and the staff, including the owner who did breakfasts each day were friendly and informative of the area. The Wi Fi signal was mostly adequate. Our bed on castors had a mind of its own on the wooden floor!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jdavies51
Lake District, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Fantastic weekend spent in the Wilsons arms . Rooms impeccable with lovey finishing touches . staff highly accommodating and food excellent . As a group of friends and a dog ! we were able to accommodate the penthouse one apartment and three double rooms. At the wilsons you get a marvellous mix of modern with the authenticity of traditional. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ssj6
Reviewed 12 January 2017

The pub has a number of good points: the staff are welcoming, the rooms are well-equipped, modern and very clean, and the food is very good. Normally I would have considered giving the Wilsons 4 stars: however, I do think that they need to consider their breakfast policy: when you are paying £100 for bed and breakfast it is disappointing...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank yamana
Sowerby Bridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

I love the Lake District, stay every year and have stayed In lots of hotels, bed n breakfast, cottages and camping in Cumbria but this place is far behind the rest.. Paid for a superior room, got to room , felt small eg normal bed 12" tv . Asked staff if it was a superior room they said it was.....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Thud1310
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

We booked the Herdwick apartment at the Wilsons arms for a week over Christmas. was the best stay we've had... apartment very clean and it's finished to a high standard. (Would be nice to have a microwave.. but not the end of the world) The staff at the pub are very friendly and helpful.. food is excellent. Really dog friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kasranio
FranMayvers, Manager at Wilson Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review on the Herdwick. We really are pleased you enjoyed you stay in there so much. I am sure Mr Wilson enjoyed the company too! We look forward to having you back again, Best wishes, The Wilsons Team

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 December 2016

Lovely setting, nice room but that and bathroom were very small. When paying £100 for bed and continental breakfast I don't expect to be told the breakfast is cereal and toast as there were no pastries available!!! And if I am,it would be nice if the staff were apologetic about it rather than have an offhand attitude about it. If...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Comealongtiddlers
FranMayvers, Manager at Wilson Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologise about the breakfast as pastries should have been on offer. All our special offer rates and booking.com rates include a Continental breakfast. We have tried several ways and had many attempts with b.com to get this added on in a more apparent place, but we are still struggling...

Reviewed 28 December 2016

We wanted to stop for 2 days in the Lake District on route to centre parcs so I searched Trip advisor for ideas and was impressed by the reviews for the Wilson Arms. We were not disappointed, the accommodation was first rate, the welcome friendly, and the beer and food equally good. It is a good location for touring the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
FranMayvers, Manager at Wilson Arms, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the great review - we really are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. You have given us some lovely compliments which are most appreciated. We hope to welcome you back again soon, Best wishes, The Wilsons Arms

West midlands
Reviewed 22 December 2016

The most unfriendly Pub I have ever been to. We arrived with no greeting or acknowlegement at all. It was extremely embarrassing. When we asked about our table, we were not shown where it was, just told to sit on the table on the right. It was an extremely embarrassing situation. We were told we couldn't have starters as we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank robertscotford
FranMayvers, Manager at Wilson Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us and pointing out a few issues. We must apologise for the attitude of the staff on duty - this is certainly not the expected behaviour or our usual standard. When we have groups for a meal, we ask for a pre order as this relieves the pressure on...

203 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (86)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (62)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (117)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torver
2.6 mi away
Waterhead Hotel
Waterhead Hotel
#1 of 6 in Coniston
609 reviews
2.4 mi away
Black Bull Inn and Hotel
2.4 mi away
The Yewdale Inn
The Yewdale Inn
#2 of 6 in Coniston
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Cragwood Country House Hotel
Cragwood Country House Hotel
#2 of 20 in Windermere
887 reviews
9.2 mi away
Rothay Garden Hotel
Rothay Garden Hotel
#5 of 15 in Grasmere
793 reviews
7.2 mi away
Newby Bridge Hotel
Newby Bridge Hotel
#3 of 5 in Newby Bridge
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Wilson Arms is a family owned country inn sat snugly in the shadow of the world famous Old Man of Coniston and Dow Crag. An ideal stop off for those travelling the Cumbria Way, being one days walk from the beginning (or end depending on the direction) this charismatic Lake District inn is the perfect country retreat. The fantastic location means The Wilson Arms makes a superb base for exploring the Lake District. With the Coniston and Furness Fells or the beautiful Duddon Valley on your doorstep and Ambleside, Bowness-on-Windermere, Grasmere, Grizedale & Wastwater all within easy reach. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wilson Arms

Address: Torver LA21 8BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Torver
Price Range: £69 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilson Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Wilson Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Arms Hotel Coniston
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Wilson Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a standard room but some cost more its a very old pub.”
 of 5 bubbles gaztn55d, 25 Jan 2017 | Read review
“N/A But wouldn't like to stay there!!”
 of 5 bubbles robertscotford, 22 Dec 2016 | Read review
“It makes no difference ,the rooms are lovely !”
 of 5 bubbles 680kevn, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in Room 2. Looks exactly as advertised. Overlooks front of hotel and road, though not noisy at all.”
 of 5 bubbles Jo_D_Morgan, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“all the rooms are clean & modern”
 of 5 bubbles normanh972, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5