We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Bongani Mountain Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Bongani Mountain Lodge
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 179: English reviews
Start your review of Bongani Mountain Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I'm not really sure how we feel about the bongani mountain lodge... The rooms and bathrooms weren't clean (we actually found two black button spiders in one of them), but the bedding was good. The food wasn't exceptional, but edible, and though the scenery was nice, we didn't see much more than a few buffalo, lots of cheeky baboons, vervet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jessica C
Benfleet, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

At a reputed (fenced) 8000 hectares (according to our guide) Bongani is too small to sustain a balance of predators and their prey. Its fenced off from Kruger National Park, thus limiting animal transfer. The mountainous terrain looks spectacular, but the tracks are poorly maintained, making for an unnecessarily uncomfortable ride. I've been to 8 different game reserves in South...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stevethearchitect
Johan M, General Manager at Bongani Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear valued guest Thank you for participating and contributing towards our on-going efforts to continuously improve our services and facilities. We sincerely apologise that you did not enjoy all our offerings to the extent that we have set ourselves out to achieve. Bongani Mountain Lodge is actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable....

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

First visit to South Africa and loved the experience of our Safari expeditions twice daily, The service was very good; staff friendly and welcoming; food was delicious and plentiful. Our lodge was very authentic with lovely views across the bush and landscaped gardens. House keeping very good and each night our mosquito drapes were drawn before we returned from our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lyn684
Johan M, General Manager at Bongani Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear valued guest Thank you for taking your valuable time to write this review, I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your room was comfortable and your food was delicious, and will be sure to tell the staff that you appreciated their service. It's a pity that you didn't get to enjoy the...

New York City, New York
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked this lodge relatively last minute for a short stay and was completely blown away by the place. Aside from being set in an absolutely gorgeous setting of rolling hills that require you to take an off-road vehicle to even access, the establishment was lovely and unique, very clean, and the staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. In addition...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kristen K
Johan M, General Manager at Bongani Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Kristen Thank you for visiting Bongani Mountain Lodge and taking your precious time to write this great review. I'm very happy to hear that you has had such a great time at our beautiful lodge in these magnificent mountains that we are so fortunate to be able to call home. I will make sure that your review is shared...

Gorebridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here for 7 amazing days. From the time we arrived until the day we left we were treated so well by all the staff The food was excellent and a good variety and always served with a smile. Our lodge was spacious and comfortable and a very comfy bed The views stunning, and we shared our garden with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz K
Johan M, General Manager at Bongani Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Liz Thank you for taking you valuable time to write this fantastic review about our beautiful lodge. I will be sure to pass your messages to all our staff and to Nikki, Aaron and Elliot. Looking forward to welcoming you back here soon. Kind regards Johan Meintjies

hampshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From arrival, which is spectacular, to departure this place is faultless. After a 4 hour transfer, we were met by Aaron at the gate and were given a lift to the lodge. It took approx 1 hour, but went through the most amazing countryside that we have seen. After being greeted with cold towels and a drink we were shown...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank likeha
Johan M, General Manager at Bongani Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear valued guest. Thank you for visiting Bongani Mountain Lodge and for taking your valuable time to write this review. I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your room was comfortable and that you enjoyed the food and surprise bush dinner, and will be sure to tell the staff that you appreciated their...

Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewed 18 January 2017

We were not informed that we couldn't drive all the way to the hotel, we had to leave the car at the gate and wait 30min to be picked up. The warm lunch were served with cold fries, when we complained they just heated them up a bit instead of giving us new and warm. We got stuck with cold...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank karianneb2017
Johan M, General Manager at Bongani Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear valued guest. Thank you for visiting Bongani Mountain Lodge and for taking your precious time to write this review. We take all reviews extremely serious and will make sure that your review is shared this all the relevant departments, the extra fees that had to be paid was a conservation levy which is unfortunately not included in the rate....

Bensheim, Germany
Reviewed 16 January 2017

We deeply enjoyed the stay and the Safari trips made at Bongani Mountain Lodge. It was an excellent experience and our expectations were met. We recommend this trip to all People looking for wildlife expereince combined with a beautiful Location and very good Service. Also the Food was very good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank t_schatti
Johan M, General Manager at Bongani Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear valued guest Thank you for taking you time to write this great review, I will be sure to share your review with all our staff. Looking forward in welcoming you back here in the future. Kind regards Johan Meintjies

Durban, South Africa
Reviewed 5 January 2017

The room was beautiful and the guide (SImon) was great! The staff are friendly, food is good although quite hearty. I had an amazing massage in the spa and we enjoyed the pool on the viewing deck. Lodge itself is a little dated but this was not a big concern for us. We battled to find the lodge as the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MichRocke
Johan M, General Manager at Bongani Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear MichRocke Thank you for visiting Bongani Mountain Lodge, I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please know that I will personally pass on your message to Simon and the spa ladies, and that will are giving attention to the directions to the lodge. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards...

Modena, Italy
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

On our honeymoon, I and my wife have recently spent 3 days in this Wonderful lodge, at the Southern border of Kruger National Park; the reserve is not very big, but this is actually an advantage, due to the fact that it is located in a mountain environment, and therefore the offroad paths can not be run at too high...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andreacorradini
Johan M, General Manager at Bongani Mountain Lodge, responded to this review

Dear Andreacorradini Thank you for choosing Bongani Mountain Lodge for your Honeymoon, I am delighted to hear that you had such a great time at our beautiful mountain lodge. Please know that your message has been shared with all our staff that work so hard on creating the best possible experience for all our guests. We also take negative feedback...

426 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (404)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (29)
Viewed
View from Room (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (71)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Other (180)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matsulu
15.6 mi away
Pestana Kruger Lodge
Pestana Kruger Lodge
#1 of 1 in Malelane
352 reviews
12.9 mi away
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
Belgrace Boutique Hotel
#1 of 10 in White River
167 reviews
8.0 mi away
Kambaku River Lodge
Kambaku River Lodge
#2 of 10 in Malelane
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Buhala Lodge
Buhala Lodge
#1 of 10 in Malelane
285 reviews
13.5 mi away
Rio Vista Lodge
Rio Vista Lodge
#2 of 11 in Malelane
88 reviews
13.2 mi away
River House Lodge
River House Lodge
#5 of 11 in Malelane
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Discover the spirit of Africa and feel at one with the great African explorers and hunters of yesteryear as you step into this magnificent Mountain Lodge. Bongani Mountain Lodge is situated in the shadows of the Malelane Mountain range and surrounded by the peace and tranquillity of the African bushveld. Here you can connect back to a more simple life amidst the tranquillity of nature and the culture and history of this fascinating area. Take a trip here and you'll feel rejuvenated as you immerse yourself into the pulse of nature and luxury. Unspoiled beauty, warm and friendly hospitality make Bongani Mountain Lodge a favourite destination for both local and international travellers. Bongani Mountain Lodge is situated at 745m above sea level in the middle of the magnificent Mthethomusha Game Reserve, on the South Western border of Kruger National Park. We have a total of 38 rooms. 9 Of which are joined via a small passage which ensures that families can be close. While the remaining 20 suites offer greater privacy as well as King size beds, bath, indoor and outdoor showers, and all the ammenities one would expect from a luxury Lodge. Our Rates include: accomodation and all meals, daily game drive plus transfers within the reserve to and from our welcome. Rates exclude: Conservation fees, alcohol and soft drinks and all other items of a personal nature. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bongani Mountain Lodge

Address: Mthethomusha Game Reserve, on the southern border of the Kruger National Park | Off the N4 between Nelspruit and Kaapmuiden, Matsulu 1295, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Matsulu
Price Range: £300 - £351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bongani Mountain Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Bongani Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bongani Mountain Hotel Mpumalanga
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Bongani Mountain Lodge staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Bongani Mountain Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lodges near to the reception very good 22 and 23”
 of 5 bubbles lyn684, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Lodge 24 has an amazing view of a watering hole”
 of 5 bubbles 853lizk, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“All rooms are quiet, visited frequently by baboons and vervet monkeys. Room 24 has to be the ultimate”
 of 5 bubbles likeha, 27 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Try to get the House at the big rock! You will have amazing views!”
 of 5 bubbles 687stephanw, 19 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Huts on the edge of the rock have best views, e.g. 13-15, 24, 25. Hut 26 was set back but perfectly peaceful location.”
  • Beautiful sunset during our last evening game drive.
  • Palatial bed in beautifully-fitted hut.
  • View down the mountain to the village of Matsulu.
 of 5 bubbles nickandlinds211006, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5