We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bongani Mountain Lodge

Save
Traveller (589)
Room & Suite (107)
Dining (43)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good21%
  • Average4%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“game drives”(58 reviews)
“the reserve”(22 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Air Conditioning
Pool
Non-Smoking Rooms
Restaurant
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerAttributes":null,"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (429)
There are newer reviews for Bongani Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
235 results
Traveller rating
155
53
14
10
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
155
53
14
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgame drivesthe reservekruger national parkoff roadsouth africawild animalsan adventureamazing placean amazing experienceviewing deckour honeymoonwhole experiencespectacular viewsbeautiful locationspent nightsevery mealspecial thanks
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
41 - 45 of 235 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2017

Beautiful setting in the surrounding hills. Had the unique opportunity to go out with the local rangers to track a leopard that had been trapped. This leopard had been snagged with a wire snare and the snare what broken off but was cutting into its...More

2  Thank Zorro5991
Response from Johan M, General Manager at Bongani Mountain LodgeResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Zorro5991 Thank you for visiting Bongani Mountain Lodge and taking of your precious time to write this great review. I'm very happy to hear that you had such an awesome stay with us and that you had this once in a lifetime experience with...More

Reviewed 29 June 2017

Bongani Mountain Lodge in very unique as it is set in the Mountains and the landscape and views from the property just take your breath away. We had a wonderful 2 night stay. The staff are fabulous and the Game Rangers were so knowledgeable, from...More

2  Thank Maria W
Response from Johan M, General Manager at Bongani Mountain LodgeResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Maria W Thank you for visiting Bongani Mountain Lodge and taking of your precious time to write this great review. Please be assured that your review has been passed on to all our fantastic staff who work so hard in giving our guests the...More

Reviewed 26 June 2017

Beautiful scenery, plenty of animals, great ranger and tracker, good food and excellent service, can't really ask for more. Mthunzi was our guide and he was very knowledgeable, we saw sparring rhinos, elephants up close and very personal and a leopard at night, Fantastic. Be...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank madtraveller6
Response from Johan M, General Manager at Bongani Mountain LodgeResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Madtraveller6 Thank you for staying at Bongani and posting your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and agree that Game Drives are always such a highlight here. You are also 100% correct in saying that the winter evening...More

Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

We booked this holiday to celebrate my partners 50th birthday, and what an amazing experience it was. The lodge stayed in was spotless, and tastefully furnished. We practically overlooked the watering hole where as soon as we arrived spotted rhino, giraffe and zebra. The game...More

Thank lesleybateson
Response from Johan M, General Manager at Bongani Mountain LodgeResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Lesleybateson Thank you for staying at Bongani and posting your great review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and agree that Game Drives are always such a highlight here. Please know that your review has been shared with our wonderful...More

Reviewed 14 June 2017

Our Conservation Team spent 3 nights at Bongani in June 2017 to work in the surrounding Communities of Lupisi, Matsulu and Pienaar. The Manager Johan and Operations man Nuell Mashigo are incredibly passionate and run a very dedicated team. The Game drive with Simon was...More

Thank Grant F
Response from Johan M, General Manager at Bongani Mountain LodgeResponded 12 July 2017

Dear Grant Thank you for taking your time to write this great review. It was very nice meeting you and being able to spent some time with you. Looking forward to your next visit soon. Kind regards Johan

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Matsulu
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Pool
Room Service
Free Parking
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Spa
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Room Service
Free Parking
Airport Transportation
Breakfast included
Meeting Rooms
Laundry Service
Multilingual Staff
Room amenities
Air Conditioning
Things to do
Restaurant
Pool
Bar/Lounge
Spa
Details
Price range
US$361 - US$497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Details
Price range
US$361 - US$497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Suites, Non-Smoking Rooms, Family Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (589)
Room & Suite (107)
Dining (43)
Pool & Beach (35)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
ExpectingtheBest77
14 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Anna B | Reviewed this property |
I was a single traveller and so were several other people. The package I had included game drives, and whereas no animal sighting is ever guaranteed, I saw lots - the guides there are excellent. Again, on the package I... More
1
Vote
blueandwhitehoops
30 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from raos1234 | Reviewed this property |
I agree with sorrow above But having said that I thoroughly enjoyed the food very homely lots of stews always a grill. --- didn't eat the Kudu having just seen it on the hoof but my other half said it was delicious!!!
1
Vote
dianne1961
20 September 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from sugandha k | Reviewed this property |
South African Rand is what u need as per us safety wasn't an issue at all! For hotel bills cards can do too but if you go out or tip someone u need the local currency
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Room 15 Has fantastic views"
Read review
"All the rooms are incredible, set up as lodges."
Read review
"Some of the have a fabulous view over the edge of the escarpment ask for one of those"
Read review
"Most are adjoining bungalows with a few singles"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing