Il Contado Country House & Spa
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Il Contado Country House & Spa

Traveller (161)
Room & Suite (31)
Pool & Beach (15)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

5.0
#2 of 2 villas in Poppi
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Romantic
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Free breakfast
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Airport transportation
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Sauna
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Shuttle bus service
Spa
Laundry service
Self-serve laundry
Room features
Air conditioning
Kitchenette
Microwave
Minibar
Refrigerator
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms

Location

Viale Dei Pini 2/B, 52014, Poppi Italy
Name/address in local language
132Reviews2Q+A1Room tip

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 117
  • 14
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
MariaChristiana wrote a review Nov 2018
Singapore, Singapore56 contributions50 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed at Il Contado Country House & Spa for one night. It was a beautiful property with modern, nice décor and interiors. The room was clean, spacious, beautifully furnished. The bathroom was very well-lit, almost too well-lit with a very bright light that emitted heat.

The only major downside was the noise. The walls were so thin, and I imagine it was full-house that night as all parking spaces were occupied. We heard one of our neighbors having a huge argument in the middle of the night (we could nearly hear word for word), whilst another set of neighbors were having sex. The paper thin walls made it very difficult for us to fall asleep.

This also resulted in a peculiar breakfast as we faced all the other guests the next morning. The breakfast spread was substantial with an array of bread, pastries, cereal, cold cuts as well as hot options such as eggs.

We didn’t try the spa facilities so unable to comment.

We loved the room & the décor but the noise was a major issue.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2018
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lorenzo S, Proprietario at Il Contado Country House & Spa
Responded 7 Dec 2018
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for your nice words for our hotel and for the commitment we put into every day to make your stay a must, we are very sorry for the "noisy" neighbors but we hope that this will not deny you to come and visit us in the future ! I wish you good evening, Best Regards Lorenzo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
growingreal wrote a review Sept 2019
Fort Collins, Colorado24 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
The design is chic and warm at the same time--all in all well done. There is a sense of space inside and out; the hills are also beautiful. The room was filled with a lovely television, nice air conditioning, complete comfort and class. This is not a tiny b&b in the middle of the woods. It was what we needed, a sense of expansiveness and again very warm and professional treatment by the staff.
After a long trip, the spa with beautiful steam room and hydromassage in the indoor pool, along with great bathrobe, was perfect. It gives you the airiness to totally also enjoy the beauty and history of the Casentino.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: The mountain view is the best.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lorenzo Spagnuolo, Proprietario at Il Contado Country House & Spa
Responded 1 Sept 2020
Dear Guest, We are so so so happy to read you WONDELFUL review!!!! Thank you very much for the nice words for Us and our hotel! I hope that you can come again in the future to visit us! Best Regards Lorenzo Il Contado Country House & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ackeber1978 wrote a review Jul 2019
Bristol, United Kingdom39 contributions19 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed in July, and were lucky enough to have the whole property to ourselves. The jacuzzi spa is bliss, leaning on the edge overlooking the hillside. The egg chairs were our personal favourite hangout choice.
Our bedroom was large, with 2 chairs to relax in. Large bathroom, with lovely toiletries.
The property decor is fantastic, and is such a great mix of contemporary and old original features.
Breakfast was lovely.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lorenzo Spagnuolo, Proprietario at Il Contado Country House & Spa
Responded 31 Aug 2020
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your wonderful review! We are so happy that your stay went well and we hope that you can come in the future to visit us again. Best Regards Lorenzo Il Contado Country House & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CarolineHolidayQueen wrote a review Aug 2019
London21 contributions26 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here for 2 nights in August 2019 and it was the perfect end to our Tuscan tour. It's a steep walk to the town but only takes 5mins. We didn't find much to do in Poppi itself but there were some nice restaurants. I recommend this hotel for a great relax. Fabulous staff, service, views, spa, food and value for money. There is a real personal, boutique feel to the place (and $6 for an aperol spritz which is half the price of anywhere else in Tuscany!). THANK YOU FOR A PERFECT STAY!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lorenzo Spagnuolo, Proprietario at Il Contado Country House & Spa
Responded 31 Aug 2020
Dear Guest, Thanks a lot for your wonderful review!!! We are so happy that your stay went well and we hope that you can coma another time in the future to visit us! Best Regards Lorenzo Il Contado Country House & Spa
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
James T wrote a review Jul 2018
4 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I booked to stay here as I was playing at a wedding nearby. I was traveling alone and speak practically no Italian. On arrival the staff were very friendly and welcoming and my room was clean, spacious and modern. The spa/pool was clean and relaxing - i can’t believe the great value for money of this hotel. The setting is so beautiful. Would definitely come back - thank you so much for the lovely staff for making my stay so comfortable. I have already been recommending it to all my friends!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2018Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lorenzo S, Proprietario at Il Contado Country House & Spa
Responded 9 Sept 2018
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for this beautiful review, we are so happy that your stay went well and we hope that you can return in the future to visit us! Best Regards
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
888DMPM wrote a review Nov 2017
Bristol, United Kingdom162 contributions61 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Set just down the hill from Poppi Il Contado apartment was spacious and well equipped. The staff were friendly and helpful. It is a long mountainous drive from Florence and Siena but wait to be wowed by the beautiful countryside and small town on Poppi. Our only disappointment was that the outdoor pool was not open although we were there mid October the weather was beautiful and us hardy Brits would have used the pool. If you want a peaceful relaxing few days then this is the place for you.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lorenzo S, Proprietario at Il Contado Country House & Spa
Responded 21 Nov 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for the Nice review, we are very glad that you have found it well! As for the outdoor swimming pool is active from the end of May/early June until the end of September because after those dates the temperatures are too low to be able to swim outside as the water is not heated. We hope you can return in the warm summer months so that you can use our outdoor swimming pool with breathtaking views over the Casentino valley. Best Regards!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Metellin wrote a review Sept 2017
Antwerp, Belgium40 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a wonderful stay here. The house was very modern and the spa facilities were amazing. Our room was very big and beautiful. The hosts did a great job to make our stay as pleasant as possible. Also the breakfast buffet was varied and delicious. We highly recommend it!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lorenzo S, Proprietario at Il Contado Country House & Spa
Responded 12 Sept 2017
Dear Guest, thank you for your kind words and for the wonderful review. To know that our guest are so well here from us makes us very happy and proud of what we do, we hope you can come back and visit us again in the future, Many greetings
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Angela B wrote a review Aug 2017
Cairns, Australia9 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This new hotel is perfect place for your stay in Poppi. The staff were exceptional, Lorenzo & Laura went beyond the call of duty on numerous occasions to make out stay perfect. The spa is fantastic, the pool is cool and offers a welcome reprieve in the summer heat, the outlook is serene and the prices (which include breakfast) are very reasonable. Highly recommend.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lorenzo S, Proprietario at Il Contado Country House & Spa
Responded 26 Aug 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you for your review, we try to do our best to make your stay unforgettable and read that you are so happy makes us so happy too. We hope you will come back and visit Many greetings Lorenzo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Christopher B wrote a review Aug 2017
Florence, Italy131 contributions52 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Nice new a great place to stay if you are visiting the area or just for business. The house is brand new, luxury fixtures, clean and have a spa and pool area. I would highly recommend it. Good value for money.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2017Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Lorenzo S, Proprietario at Il Contado Country House & Spa
Responded 17 Aug 2017
Dear Guest, thank you for your review, every day we try to do everything possible to make your stay as relaxing as possible and read your beautiful words makes us really happy and proud. We hope you can come back and visit us in the future Thank you very much Lorenzo
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Bside17 asked a question Jan 2019
4 contributions8 helpful votes
L'accesso all'area spa é illimitato durante il giorno?
Answer from Zanziscott
18 contributions5 helpful votes
Scusi se rispondo solo ora ma non mi collego spesso ... che ricordi io si può accedere alla spa in qualsiasi momento durante la giornata. Posto bellissimo soprattutto in estate direi perchè c'è anche la piscina esterna
avlemoon asked a question Apr 2018
Genoa, Italy476 contributions129 helpful votes
è possibile prenotare anche massaggi o trattamenti benessere?
Answer from arwal
Italy58 contributions34 helpful votes
sì, sono disponibili massaggi e trattamenti su prenotazione.
growingreal wrote a tip Sept 2019
Fort Collins, Colorado24 contributions33 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The mountain view is the best."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Poppi area.
LOCATION
ItalyTuscanyProvince of ArezzoPoppi
NUMBER OF ROOMS
11
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

IL CONTADO COUNTRY HOUSE & SPA - Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Il Contado Country House & Spa
Which popular attractions are close to Il Contado Country House & Spa?
Nearby attractions include Castello di Poppi dei Conti Guidi (0.2 miles), Abbazia San Fedele (0.3 miles), and Chiesa della Madonna del Morbo (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Il Contado Country House & Spa?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and free breakfast.
Which room amenities are available at Il Contado Country House & Spa?
Top room amenities include a kitchenette, a minibar, and air conditioning.
What food & drink options are available at Il Contado Country House & Spa?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Il Contado Country House & Spa?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Il Contado Country House & Spa?
Conveniently located restaurants include La Taverna del Castello, La Torricella, and Osteria Del Tempo Perso Di Vezzosi Claudio E C Snc.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Il Contado Country House & Spa?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a sauna, and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Il Contado Country House & Spa have airport transportation?
Yes, Il Contado Country House & Spa offers airport transportation for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Il Contado Country House & Spa located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.09 miles away from the centre of Poppi.
Are any cleaning services offered at Il Contado Country House & Spa?
Yes, laundry service and self serve laundry are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Il Contado Country House & Spa?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
All Poppi HotelsPoppi Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in PoppiHotels near Il Contado Country House & Spa
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire