Chartridge Lodge
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Chartridge Lodge

Wallpaper coming away from the walls
Traveller (134)
The games and TV room
Room & Suite (63)
Dining (13)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.0
#2 of 2 hotels in Chesham
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value
Chartridge Lodge, Chesham, Buckinghamshire Chartridge Lodge is located in the heart of leafy Buckinghamshire, yet only a short train ride from Central London, and is easily accessible from both London Heathrow & London Luton Airport. Originally a private house dating from the beginning of the 19th Century, the Lodge still maintains many of its period features today. Set in extensive landscaped grounds against the backdrop of the rolling Chiltern Hills, an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB), Chartridge Lodge provides a tranquil setting, whether for a meeting, wedding or weekend break. And, if you’re looking to relax with your favourite tipple from the bar or enjoy a mouth-watering meal freshly prepared by our expert Chefs, our venue offers the perfect spot. At a Glance: • 20 meeting and training rooms • 57 en-suite bedrooms • Free Wi-Fi throughout the venue • 150 free on-site parking spaces • Direct access to Central London and Wembley Park via the Met line
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Hiking
Conference facilities
Banquet room
BBQ facilities
Baggage storage
Internet
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Room features
Housekeeping
Safe
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Mid-range
422Reviews4Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 88
  • 108
  • 99
  • 74
  • 53
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Hannah M wrote a review Feb 2020
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband and I stayed at Chartridge this weekend for a 40th. We were given a lovely spacious and bright room with a beautiful leaded window which overlooked the grounds. Our room was spotless and equipped with all the things you'd expect to have in a room, inclusive of an interesting potted history of the house. The bed was large and comfortable. We only paid £97 for bed and breakfast for one night, which seemed incredibly reasonable given the size of our room. There was a very good spread offered at breakfast, inclusive of danish pastries, cereals, tea, coffee and juices and cooked breakfast items. The sausages and hash browns were particularly tasty. We enjoyed a wander around the grounds after breakfast, and enjoyed the number of beautiful mature trees. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful and really made us feel at home during our stay. Yes, the decor in the rooms could do with up-dating, but this is a very big old building, and I think people forget how much that would cost a business to do. In the meantime, they are doing just fine.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Go for a superior with a view of the gardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heather Love, Agency / Consultant at Chartridge Lodge
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Hannah, thank you for your 4* rating and lovely review. It is appreciated. Yes, some of our rooms need investment, which is part of the plan, which is reflected in the price, however we have some lovely rooms. It is a lovely venue, I'm passionate about it, love it and the food is excellent and customer service spot on. It melts my heart to receive such a lovely review. Thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
WitchypooCumbria wrote a review Jan 2020
Alston, United Kingdom112 contributions53 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here on three separate occasions and unfortunately the stay was unsatisfactory throughout.
I was here on business, attending training courses locally, and the first problem was the appalling wifi connection. I was unable to research, email and access documents because the Wi-fi was just not up to the challenge, regardless of where I was in the hotel. The TV lost its connection on several occasions.
The first stay was in the hotel on the first floor. There were no lifts and I had mobility problems, so climbing up two flights of stairs with heavy bags was difficult.
The subsequent stays were in the cottage adjacent to the hotel. The pathway to the cottage was dark and there were no lights at the front door where there was a ramp for wheelchair access. Because it was so dark I fell off the side of the ramp twice and struggled with keys to locks. Coming out of the cottage in the dark again, tripped off the edge of the path.
Both rooms I stayed in were spacious if a little plain. The larger one of the two was dusty and cobwebs with accompanying spider attached themselves to my hand when plugging in my charger. There were no bedside lights in the larger room only a centre main light, making it difficult when waking during the night and looking for the light switch. The mattress was unbearably uncomfortable with springs so close to the surface it left a physical bruise on the hip. The water was not hot enough from the shower in either room for me.
The food was unremarkable. If you enjoy the usual burger and chips, chicken and chips, good old English grub you will be fine. But for vegans, vegetarians or other dietary restrictions there is little choice and not particularly tasty. The bar and lounge room was cold and lacked any character.
Breakfast was standard but I was not impressed on my last visit being put into a small meeting room with 4 tables in two rows making it very difficult to get to all the seats. It did not allow for any privacy to use phones/computers for early morning business and being asked by another guess to sit somewhere else so her party could sit together I found very annoying in such a small environment.
The positive - the staff were fabulous. The reception staff were polite, professional and helped when asked about any problem. The barman was always smiling and his service was prompt and professional. The cleaning staff acknowledge you with a smile and greeting.
I did ask for a feedback form to report my concerns and relay suggestions but unfortunately the property does not have such forms.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heather Love, Agency / Consultant at Chartridge Lodge
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Hi Witchypoo Cumbria, well, what can I say? After a change of general management and key team members it is a lot different now. I'm please to read that you were moved to a room that could accommodate your mobility issues on subsequent stays. As far as the wifi is concerned, we don't have wifi in the Cottages, as sometimes guests like to switch off, however I've never been made aware of a problem in the public areas, so sorry about that. I love the Cottages, personally, flood lights should have come on when approaching them. And yes, the housekeeping has improved. The Cottage is so old, it's difficult to keep on top of the dust, and spiders come out of nowhere. They have so much character. Re the TV, Chesham itself has issues with technology, for which we apologise. If you had requested a vegan or vegetarian menu, it would not have been a problem. We have excellent chefs who would have prepared you a delicious vegan or vegetarian meal. No trouble. Re the bar and lounge being cold we did have some issues with our heating, lacking character, well that's a personal view. Chartridge Lodge isn't a 5 star luxury hotel, it s a 3* conference and meeting venue, which is reflected in the price charged. Maybe the Latimer would be more suitable for you. We can''t answer for the rudeness of other guests at breakfast. However, thank you for praising our staff, the team is great. We do have feedback forms, however feel Trip Advisor is a great medium for feedback, to which we respond, I will pass your comments onto the General Manager and team. With warm wishes and thank you.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Happy stitcher wrote a review Mar 2020
7 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I have just spent the last weekend at Cartridge with a group of 21 fellow textile artists. Chartidge were very attentative to our needs, reacting quickly to any queries or issues and providing us with a tasty set menu throughout the weekend. The sea bass and stir fry veg was amazing :). The rooms are basic and a bit dated, but the beds were comfortable, representing good value for money. Service was friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. I would reccomend it for other group weekend workshops.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the beautiful grounds.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Heather Love, Agency / Consultant at Chartridge Lodge
Responded 16 Mar 2020
Thank you happy stitcher! Thank you for your 4* rating and a positive review. It is appreciated. We loved hosting your group and look forward to welcoming you again in 18 months time!
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MichaelVisits wrote a review Aug 2021
Buckinghamshire, UK75 contributions37 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
They cancelled our event booking and the only way we found out was some of our guests got emails cancelling their rooms.
When we finally got to talk to someone who knew what was happening they said they could of told us 2 months ago, but actually gave us less than 2 weeks. So no time to organise anything else.
Promised a refund with 7 days, still waiting having chased.
Terrible
Terrible
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Don't you will be dissapointed.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AliE241 wrote a review Sept 2020
Aberdeen, United Kingdom119 contributions87 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
No food, drinks were available in the evening only. The TV was small and dated. Its a good 10 mins from Chesham and 15 mins from Amersham. No bath and shower wasn't great. No air conditioning so on a hot date it was unbearable. The one member of staff i dealt with was nice and helpful
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kevin T wrote a review Aug 2015
Cadiz, Spain45 contributions57 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
When we arrived in reception, there was no-one to greet us, then like London buses, two turned up. We stayed in the old part of the hotel up three flights of stairs. Our room had a view of a brick wall, the bathroom was disgusting. The toilet pan was stained, the shower was full of mould and the top of the tap was missing. If you wanted a drink in the bar you had to hunt down a member of staff and we couldn't have food because they were catering for a wedding.

One of the worse hotels I have stayed in.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chartridge, General Manager at Chartridge Lodge
Responded 10 Aug 2015
Dear Guest, I am sorry you were disappointed. After 3 months and your really did have a problem perhaps you could enlighten me further by coming back to me directly as I am at a bit of a loss. None of my bedrooms has a view of a brick wall and I don't have any bedrooms up three flights of stairs. Happy to make amends but without a room number and a little more detail I am unable to do so. Do come back to me at stephen.quigley@chartridge.co.uk if I can help any further. Many Thanks Stephen
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
happytraveller069 wrote a review Jul 2015
norfolk11 contributions16 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed overnight at this hotel, very unfriendly receptionist on arrival definitely did not have good customer service skills. My room was very uninviting a bit like a travel lodge with dirty windows and flies. Do not bother. Paid over £70 with measly breakfast just for good measure. Really bad telephone network.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2015
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patience Musuka wrote a review Mar 2015
Scotland, United Kingdom15 contributions12 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed last week, my room wasn't clean, hair in my shower, room not cleaned everyday properly, I would find pillow on the floor where I had accidentally left it. Staff very nice apart from one lady who comes around 6 ( cleaner maybe) . Curtains didn't shut properly and my toilet didn't flush properly despite informing the reception.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2015
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chartridge, General Manager at Chartridge Lodge
Responded 11 Mar 2015
Dear Guest, Please accept my apologies. Unfortunately one of my Housekeeping team had an accident at home and was able to attend that week.I am sorry that this effected our usual high standard. Thank you however for submitting your review to Trip Advisor. I am refurbishing the property in stages at present and hope to complete most of the works by next year. Kind regards Stephen Stephen Quigley General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lstcause wrote a review Jun 2014
Dudley, United Kingdom22 contributions24 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Were do i start,this hotel is diabolical. I was down in Aylesbury on business and checked in here at 3.10pm and checked out at 5.00pm and told them i simply could not stay the night in there rooms. Firstly the receptionist was completely useless and checking in was a hassle as she demanded i needed a bank card to check in, i informed her the company had paid for it and i didn't carry cards. This seemed to bemuse her and a manager had to be called and after another 10 minutes messing about it was sorted. My room was up 2 floors in a cramped hallway that was frankly disgusting. The toilet had not been cleaned and still had excrement down the side, the 'desk' was covered in cup marks and i could see the outside through the windowsill! There was no phone reception in the room or hotel (had to sit in the car) and also wifi access was restricted to the lobby. Completely useless for business personnel. When i complained i was told there were no other rooms available. I briefly looked through the menu simply so i could write a review and it was very poor with limited choice, i wouldn't advise eating here as the first thing i noticed when I pulled up was 2 of the kitchen staff stood out the rear of the 'hotel' smoking right by the exit. I then decided id rather tackle the 3 hour drive home than stay in this so took my key back to reception and informed the useless girl on reception that I could not stay in the hotel due to concerns about cleanliness to which she replied 'ok then bye bye' and that was it, . . No apology, nothing. Disgusting. Save your money and go to either the travelodge or premier inn in Aylesbury.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2014
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Chartridge, General Manager at Chartridge Lodge
Responded 27 Jun 2014
Thank you for your comments. Not typical but I would like the opportunity of making amends if you could call me I would appreciate it. Regards Stephen Stephen Quigley General Manager.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Michael D wrote a review Feb 2019
Manchester, United Kingdom32 contributions40 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I and my sons / friends have stayed here every time City have played at Wembley as we have friends in Chesham.

The staff are first rate, always welcoming and friendly, lovely breakfast too.

We only stay a night at a time but the grounds are magnificent, you can see why it must be popular for weddings.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: All rooms we have stayed in are excellent.Room 44 is a very spacious twin room.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Ashwin R, General Manager at Chartridge Lodge
Responded 5 Apr 2019
Thank you for your amazing comments and we look forward to seeing you soon. Best wishes Ashwin
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SoozJD asked a question Jul 2019
Watford, United Kingdom36 contributions15 helpful votes
Is there a pool? And if so is it a good size.
Answer from Ashwin R
Swindon, United Kingdom
Hi There is no Pool onsite.
psemon04 asked a question May 2019
Little Chalfont, United Kingdom19 contributions13 helpful votes
Is there only Indian option in the dining room?
Answer from Ashwin R
Swindon, United Kingdom
Hi We have 2 menus running in the evenings which you can have in the Oak Tree restaurant or the Orangery area in our bar. Menus are on our website. We look forward to seeing you.
Justin P asked a question Sept 2017
Cannock, United Kingdom36 contributions16 helpful votes
Is there still a small gym there ?
Answer from Kevin S
Bolton, England, United Kingdom24 contributions11 helpful votes
Sorry, don't know.
Patience Musuka asked a question Mar 2015
Scotland, United Kingdom15 contributions12 helpful votes
Is the a gym for guest to use?
Answer from Chartridge
The Gym is for guests use. It is a small fitness room with Treadmill Weights and a Cross Trainer hope this helps. Kind regards Stephen
MichaelVisits wrote a tip Aug 2021
Buckinghamshire, UK75 contributions37 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't you will be dissapointed."
Read full review
Happy stitcher wrote a tip Mar 2020
7 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask for a room overlooking the beautiful grounds."
Read full review
Hannah M wrote a tip Feb 2020
3 contributions
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Go for a superior with a view of the gardens"
Read full review
hillsyPortMacquarie wrote a tip Oct 2019
Port Macquarie35 contributions35 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Roome in the old part of the building seemed nicer, but no lift so beware."
Read full review
Hugo2003 wrote a tip Sept 2019
Cannock, United Kingdom17 contributions14 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Ask to see the room before you pay."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Chesham area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
chartridge conference centre hotel chesham
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandBuckinghamshireChesham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
57
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

CHARTRIDGE LODGE - Reviews, Photos

Frequently Asked Questions about Chartridge Lodge
Which popular attractions are close to Chartridge Lodge?
Nearby attractions include The Rex Cinema (4.8 miles), Natural History Museum at Tring (4.2 miles), and Amersham Memorial Gardens (4.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Chartridge Lodge?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free parking.
What food & drink options are available at Chartridge Lodge?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and barbeque facilities during their stay.
Is parking available at Chartridge Lodge?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Chartridge Lodge?
Conveniently located restaurants include Crockers Tring, DARMON deli, and Bistro Twelve Twenty.
Does Chartridge Lodge offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Chartridge Lodge?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Berkhamsted Castle (5.0 miles), Church of St Peter, Great Berkhamsted (4.7 miles), and Babbling Brook of Waterside (3.0 miles).
Is Chartridge Lodge accessible?
Yes, it offers reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Chesham HotelsChesham Hotel DealsHotels near Chartridge Lodge
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire