We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Traveller (27)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (4)
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Overview
Hotel website
E-mail hotel
15462 Hwy 6 Queen Street, Manitowaning, Ontario POP 1NO Canada See on map
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Air Conditioning
Non-Smoking Hotel
Kitchenette
Concierge
2.5 Star accommodation
Additional information
Visit Hotel Website
Reviews (86)
Filter reviews
80 results
Traveller rating
63
14
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
63
14
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsquiet at nightthe ownermanitoulin islandfew minutes drivebar fridgelocal attractionsstayed longerwould definitely stay here againbeds were very comfortableenjoyable stayrecommend this placeper nighta great staysouth baymouthsueelizabethferry
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 80 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was a good size with full amenities. Hostess could not have done more for us. BBQs available for guest use, plus availability of cooking utensils, spices and eating utensils. Town was only a short walk away. We cooked two lovely pork chops.

Thank Fiona B
Response from Elizabeth W, Owner at Wayside MotelResponded 6 days ago

Hello Fiona, Thank you very much for this feedback and more so for your stay with me. I hope to host you again in future. Best regards.

Hotel's Favourite
Reviewed 7 August 2018

I stayed at the Wayside Motel with a couple of friends and had the most amazing time. The rooms are really spacious, clean and comfortable and I was impressed by all the thoughtful touches (kettle, tea selection, fridge, etc). The owner is really attentive and...More

Thank Mika V
Response from Elizabeth W, Owner at Wayside MotelResponded 8 August 2018

Hello Mika. Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other potential guests and travelers. Being an independent and privately own motel brings both advantage and some challenges. Our advantage is our small size and a complete and focused attention on our guest's individual...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first trip to Manitoulin Island. In all honesty we chose this property because everything else was sold out. We weren’t disappointed though. Our hostess was very pleasant and knowledgeable about local attractions. The lake was walking distance and we browsed the local...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vivotchka
Response from Elizabeth W, Owner at Wayside MotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay. Best regards

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Lovely clean room, Owner was very friendly, full of information on area and offered up many tips. BBQ worked well and was clean. Would stay again. Motel is right on highway 6 but is totally quiet at night.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ian F
Response from Elizabeth W, Owner at Wayside MotelResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Ian, Thank you for your feedback and I am glad to know that you have enjoyed your stay, however short it was. Best regards. I would like to use this opportunity and add a few words about Hwy 6 for the potential readers of...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spotless inside and out, super friendly and helpful staff. Coffee and tea in rooms. Barbecues and picnic tables. So peaceful and relaxing. Can’t wait to go back. It was our first trip to the Island and we loved it.More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fallenangel0723
Response from Elizabeth W, Owner at Wayside MotelResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello, Thank you for staying at my place and I am truly happy to know that you've enjoyed it. The Island is something of a miracle, maybe because it is the Island of the Great Spirit according to native legends. The atmosphere of peace and...More

View more reviews
About
Description
Motel under new management. We offer one room with queen-size bed and 5 rooms with two double-size beds. Complementary Wi-Fi and cable TV, coffee, tea, fridge, microwave, hair dryer. Free parking, spacious rooms. ...More Convenience corner with snacks and drinks on-site. Less
Hotel class
Contact Information
Hotel Amenities
HOTEL FEATURES
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Air Conditioning
Concierge
Microwave
Non-Smoking Hotel
Refrigerator in room
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette
Hotel class
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Certificate of Excellence
Contact Information
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms, Kitchenette
Number of rooms
6
Price range
US$81 - US$110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Also Known As
Wayside Motel Manitowaning, Manitoulin Island, Ontario
Location
Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Manitoulin Island > Manitowaning
Photos
Traveller (27)
Room & Suite (34)
Dining (4)
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 16 hotels in Manitoulin Island
My Friends Inn Manitoulin
207 reviews
.16 miles away
Paradise Motel
24 reviews
11.26 miles away
The Wigwam Gift Shoppe & Motel
24 reviews
16.03 miles away
Manitoulin Hotel & Conference Centre
181 reviews
16.86 miles away
Nearby RestaurantsSee all 71 restaurants in Manitoulin Island
Loco Beanz Manitowaning
42 reviews
.49 miles away
Garden's Gate Restaurant
146 reviews
9.99 miles away
Green Acres Tent & Trailer Park & Restaurant
18 reviews
11.12 miles away
Chi-Cheemaun
70 reviews
16.04 miles away
Nearby AttractionsSee all 63 attractions in Manitoulin Island
Assiginack Museum
18 reviews
.50 miles away
Bebamikawe Memorial Trail
10 reviews
6.63 miles away
Kicking Mule Ranch
38 reviews
8.49 miles away
Ten Mile Point Trading Post
43 reviews
8.68 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Kathy D
29 May 2016|
Answer
Response from S M |
Hi: I am sorry my motel is not pet friendly. I have numerous issues in the past in this regard, and had to make a decision. I am sorry. Thank you: Wayside Motel
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Rooms are very clean, spacious and bright and furnished with rustic furnishings."
Read review
"Of course."
Read review
"Only 6 rooms in total. Room 6 is the end room and has a bit more privacy."
Read review
"Over all a very nice place to stay. Found it to be very relaxing."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing