We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Ancient Unicorn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Ancient Unicorn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 91: English reviews
Start your review of The Ancient Unicorn
 Click to rate
yorkshire england
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Unicorn in a courtyard room. Very warm and comfortable, The main building is reputed to be one of the most haunted pubs in England and the whole ambience lends itself to such. Small and large reception rooms, with snugs, sitting areas and large dining room. Food was good and wholesome with plenty of choice. Charles Dickens stayed there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank whiteout
Rutland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The pub is in a small village and although when we arrived the courtyard was in a state of being refurbed so no parking, it will be very nice when finished. The room was dissappointing in so much as it didnt have an opening window, no wardrobe, no shelf for washbags etc in bathroom, no glass`s for rinsing after brushing...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 100essential
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Well presented hotel/ pub , room very clean and tidy lovely view, food was really good, very friendly staff although they were undertaking some referb while we were there there was minimal distance Well worth a visit

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mandy S
Canterbury
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Planned to stay a night, stopping off here on my return home from Scotland. However, I noticed the inn was having building work done, so decided to check it out before making a reservation. There was indeed building work, but I wouldn't agree with the management's view that it wouldn't impact upon a residents stay. I arrived at 9.30pm and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank craziegrazie
Ancient U, Owner at The Ancient Unicorn, responded to this review

I can only offer our sincere apologies for the lack of service you received - we always try our hardest to offer a warm welcome to anyone who comes through our door and I am so disappointed that we failed badly on this occasion. The member of staff on duty at the time of your visit is no longer with...

Loughborough Leicestershire
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited Bowes on the 21st February to view a property. Unfortunately the property was not what we were looking for but a chance visit to The Ancient Unicorn for lunch was an excellent choice. The food was excellent and the welcome also. £10 for 2 was the bargain of the year so far. Thankyou Andy & Lesley we will...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stuart W
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We arrived at our holiday cottage in Bowes in the snow late on a Saturday evening, only to find that it was no longer available. Having eaten at the Ancient Unicorn before we had our fingers crossed that they might have accommodation. Luckily Simon sorted us out with a ground floor ensuite room for us and our two dogs and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonathan B
Blyth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2017

Have just returned from The Ancient Unicorn on a three day stay i must say had a great time we were made very welcome on our arrival had a lovely meal at lunch time 2 meals for £10 fantastic value then shown to our room which was very clean and comfortable we had an evening meal which was again fantastic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhilB365
Redcar, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband and our dog Saturday and Sunday night. It excelled our expectations by far. Easy to find, staff member, who was really lovely Lesley I think? saw us to our room which is just opposite the bar and restaurant, which is great for it was quiet and felt very private. The rooms themselves were gorgeous, really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Danielle G
Newtown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

We visited The Ancient Unicorn for the first time yesterday for a get-together to celebrate a family golden wedding anniversary. As soon as we walked through the door we felt at home straight away. There are open fires or wood burners in the public rooms which make the place so cosy. All the staff were friendly and welcoming. Despite being...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jay Z
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 February 2017 via mobile

A hotel with charm and character, warm welcome, nice quite clean room, well cooked fresh hot meal by a Scottish Chief (bonus) nice well cooked breakfast and all at a respectable price, stayed here a few years ago and found a big improvement from my last stay, will definitely stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B

53 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (46)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowes
5.8 mi away
The Morritt Country House Hotel
7.9 mi away
Teesdale Hotel
Teesdale Hotel
#1 of 3 in Middleton in Teesdale
332 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Rose & Crown
The Rose & Crown
#1 of 1 in Romaldkirk
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Jersey Farm
Jersey Farm
#1 of 1 in Barnard Castle
212 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
The Three Horseshoes Hotel
#1 of 20 in Barnard Castle
458 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Coach And Horses
The Coach And Horses
#18 of 20 in Barnard Castle
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ancient Unicorn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
south lakes uk
6 months ago
south lakes uk
6 months ago
Middlesbrough
7 months ago
Durham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Ancient Unicorn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“car parking directly outside courtyard rooms”
 of 5 bubbles whiteout, 18 Mar 2017 | Read review
“ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles 100essential, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All Rooms look great”
 of 5 bubbles PhilB365, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We didn't stay overnight, but - if the service and ambiance of the pub and restaurant are carried throughout - the rooms would be a delight.”
 of 5 bubbles bunny13, 13 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Great rooms, good food good price”
 of 5 bubbles U3825FTjohnc, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5