The Royal Hotel, Mundesley
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Royal Hotel, Mundesley

The Royal Hotel Paston Road Norwich, Mundesley NR11 8BN England
Traveller (136)
Bedroom
Room & Suite (31)
Bar area
Dining (20)

View prices for your travel dates

Fully refundable before Thu, 6 Jun
Breakfast included
£125
Fully refundable before Fri, 7 Jun
Breakfast included
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
£125
Breakfast included
Multiple ways to pay
£105
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

3.5
#1 of 2 special hotels in Mundesley
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.5 of 5 bubbles
Value

See why so many travellers make The Royal Hotel, Mundesley their small hotel of choice when visiting Mundesley. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a family-friendly setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you.

The Royal Hotel Mundesley offers guests an array of room amenities including a flat screen TV, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available.

The small hotel offers newspaper, currency exchange, and baggage storage, to make your visit even more pleasant. The property also features free breakfast. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to free parking.

If you’re looking for a cafe, consider a visit to The Beach Hut Cafe & Ice Cream Parlour, The Beach Cafe, or The Village Cafe, which are all conveniently located a short distance from The Royal Hotel Mundesley.

At The Royal Hotel, Mundesley, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Mundesley.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Special diet menus
Outdoor furniture
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, Greek, Thai

Location

The Royal Hotel Paston Road Norwich, Mundesley NR11 8BN England
Getting there
Car recommended
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 50 out of 100
50
Norwich Airport
14.8 mi
See all flights
484Reviews5Q+A100Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 137
  • 132
  • 101
  • 56
  • 58
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
TJ wrote a review Aug 2020
United Kingdom260 contributions49 helpful votes
+1
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Reception: Check in was quick and easy, the receptionist was polite and friendly and offered to book me a table for dinner; this really felt genuine and not an attempt to upsell.

Room: Superior room was clean and comfortable, with furniture and decor on a par with what you’d expect from a large chain. King sized bed had a brand new mattress, linen was spotless and crisply ironed.

Breakfast: Served in the Trafalgar Suite which is really the function venue. Tea, coffee, juice, cereals, yogurt, toast, hot buffet (served by hotel staff). Fairly standard and absolutely fine.

Restaurant: Good food, huge portions, swift service.

Bar: Lovely little bar that’s clearly just had some light refurbishment. A nice place to sit and relax after dinner with a beer and a book.

Location: A short walk (500 yds) along a quiet road to the top of the cliffs, where a tarmac driveway sweeps down to the lifeboat station and the beach - which is absolutely beautiful and the reason people come to Mundesley.

Overall: I had a very comfortable stay here. My room and all the public area I saw were clean and many had been recently decorated. Yes, some of the carpets are stained (cleaning stains more than anything else) but as I don’t sleep on the carpet it really doesn’t matter. All of the staff were warm and welcoming, and that’s what made it such a relaxing stay.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jack C wrote a review Aug 2020
Chelmsford, United Kingdom42 contributions63 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Spent 4 nights with my wife, 17 year old daughters and her friend, 2 rooms.

Good points- food at the restaurant was very good, one of the best steaks I’ve ever had actually. Carvery was really nice, breakfast not great but not bad, a buffet style offering. Location good, near beach short walk. Friendly staff except one woman who looked a bit like Katie Hopkins, she wasn’t very warm but reasonably efficient. Restaurant service good. Decent TV with all free view channels. Quiet of a night with no disturbance.

Bad points- Room was a bit grubby, stained carpets, light cord switch in bathroom very dirty so we wrapped it in plastic. Shower mat was mouldy with black stains on, I left it near the bin in the room but was replaced back in the bathroom! It’s a shame as it would cost around £10 to replace these items!
Didn’t realise dogs were allowed everywhere which was probably my fault for not checking. Allowing dogs into the restaurant is a no no in my opinion and would probably prevent me staying there again. I wondered if any dogs had fouled the carpet in our rooms, not a pleasant thought.

Overall a good experience but the place could be improved with a little TLC
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Stayed in room 262, only had another room one side
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Amanda H wrote a review Oct 2021
1 contribution
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We had a lovely 4 poster bed that was very comfortable.
Our room was very clean .however the carpet was stained paint peeling off the wall by the kettle.
The house keeping didn't come in after our first night .
The staff were very friendly and helpful .
Breakfast was nice although the sausages were not of a good quality everything was nice and hot but no poached egg option .

Evening meal was expensive. The crab starter tasted more like tuna mayo than crab .
.
No designated blue badge spaces .
Price of drinks varied nightly from £8 + to £10+ for a wine and a pint .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Peter G wrote a review Aug 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Reception shabby and tired. Bar area needed dusting could write name on copper pots on fireplace. Corridor Carpets very stained, carpet in bedroom stained and dirty. Mold on the window recesses, Coving coming away from ceiling, walls of bedroom were dirty, outside used bottles were on the roof. Hotel comments that the stains were due to previous users of the room and maids unable to clean. Hotel reluctant to amend /change room or reduce the price of the £120 cost of the room. This hotel does not warrant the £120 per night or a 4 star rating.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
mandy S wrote a review Sept 2020
3 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My days, this place is grim. There are comments on here re the carvery which I don't need to repeat. Suffice to say, breakfast is worse! The orange juice is watered down and every single cooked item was cool or cold. I thought cooked breakfast meant it would be hot, not that once it had been cooked! My wife asked for fresh toast and was told that couldn't happen then a gentleman sat down next to us and was brought a plate full of freah toast. The portions are small and the coffee anemic. The top of the range bedroom is shocking. We arrived to the sound of running water which was a broken bath tap gushing hot water. The bathroom was like a steam room. The solution was to turn off the hot supply so we had no hot water or a shower (think the shower is dodge anyway, far too much rattles). So much for covid guidance around hand washing. So much for washing come to that! This was apparently unavoidable. No it wasn't, the maintenance and room prep is rubbish! The carpets are stained, the seating unpleasant, the bed has no headboard but there is an exquisitely greased stained wall instead. Oh, and an electrical socket in the bathroom is not sealed and one in the room is just hanging onto the wall. The decor is grim too. Seriously the world has been in lockdown and this place hasn't had a makeover sunce the 70s. And we have two more nights......... Top tip, any Royal here long since abdicated, find somewhere else.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paradise319970 wrote a review Oct 2020
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom6 contributions3 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My husband booked the 'superior twin' room in this hotel, assuming that, being rated with 4 stars, it would be comfortable for our 2 night stay (we were attending a funeral in nearby Cromer).

The hotel itself is very tired and in need of some serious updating, carpets old and stained. There was no heating at all in our bathroom, cold tap in the basin was loose and dripping.
The lighting in the bedroom was dreadful, almost needed a torch to see inside the wardrobe.

The bar and restaurant were soulless. Breakfast very sub-standard, orange juice (no alternative juices) must have been the cheapest available, also coffee very weak. Only fruit on offer were apples and oranges. Considering the average age of the guests, the background music was dreadful and quite inappropriate.

On checking out I was told AMEX acceptable, but when I produced it was asked if I had another card as it cost them so much. WHY say you accept AMEX if you don't want to take it ? I insisted on paying by AMEX, which was accepted grudgingly.

We were pleased to leave and will not be back. 4 stars ? We'd really struggle to give it 3.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: We chose a superior twin and found it wanting, so no idea what a regular room would be like.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Paul D wrote a review Sept 2020
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I’ve never written a review on here before, but after our visit here I feel compelled to do so. I visited the restaurant for a carvery meal on the bank holiday Monday with my family and friends. Our first impression was the rudeness of the member of staff who served our drinks. A member of our party requested a glass of Sauvignon Blanc. They didn’t have this and the bar maid recommended another. Not unreasonably, my friend thought she’d receive a taster, however, she was given a full measure. When she advised the barmaid that it wasn’t to her liking she was told “I’ve poured it now so you’ll have to pay for it”. In fairness a different member of staff rectified the situation. Little did we know this would prove the highlight of our visit.
We were escorted to our table and all ordered a Carvery. One of our party is a vegetarian, but we were reassured, when we checked, that day, that the carvery caters for vegetarians. When we went to the carvery to get our food, the vegetarian enquired what options were available for her and she was told “anything but the meat”. I would consider vegetarian options to include such things as nut roast, meat free sausages etc. When we complained we were told “well there is cauliflower cheese” (I’ll come back to the cauliflower cheese in a moment). I think it’s not unreasonable to say there was no vegetarian option other than a plate of vegetables. There was no vegetarian gravy either.
The vegetarian in our party proved to be the lucky one as she avoided any of the meats. The six other plates in our party that had meat on them at the start of the meal pretty much had the same amount on them at the end of the meal. I had gammon and pork. I had a bite of gammon, and the rest of my meat went untouched. Nobody else touched theirs. The veg was a strange mix of undercooked or overcooked, but sadly nothing in between. The roast potatoes were eatable. The Yorkshire puddings whilst unpalatable provided an unexpected source of humour amongst our group. The cauliflower cheese only contained 50% of what it’s name would suggest. If there was any cheese in there none of us could taste it.
When we complained the general response couldn’t have demonstrated less interest or remorse.
I have to say, in every aspect, I cannot think of a time that I’ve received a worse dining experience than this. Please do not waste your money here!!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bekah H wrote a review May 2021
Blaenau Ffestiniog, United Kingdom10 contributions7 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
NO HEATING AND NO HOT WATER
I cannot even begin to explain. I have emailed to complain without leaving such an awful review and they don’t even care enough to reply and apologise so I had to share the experience!

This is what I wrote to them......

I am writing to you about our stay with you in Saturday 1st may.
I understand it is difficult times at the moment with COVID 19.
However I think it is terrible that you charged us full price when we did not receive any breakfast. Not even anything left in the room.
We had some out of date biscuits which we could not eat. There was no heating on the room so we had to sleep in jumpers and socks and to top it all off after having to find somewhere to eat outside and returning to the room freezing cold we then found out there was not even any hot water. We raised the issue with you ok the phone and did not even get an apology.
I look forward to hearing back from someone about this as me and my partner now have terrible colds and have spent a lot of money on a terrible service.
No reply from anyone. We were more than reasonable never saw a staff member would have rather camped in the freezing cold than stayed here! I’m in disparity that we were charged £120

I don’t aim to gain anything from this review as no one can be asked to reply but I just hope I ensure no one else goes through the same awful experience. After all this time not being able to go anywhere and this if the first thing my boyfriend and I experience! Wow is all I can say! Steer clear guys!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
NikNikP wrote a review Feb 2022
Aylesbury Vale, United Kingdom11 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed at the Royal Hotel for a family celebration and, whilst we were given a warm welcome, there was little else positive about our stay. The room was exceptionally cold and very basic which, when paying for the four poster executive room was very disappointing. The shower was dirty and had not been cleaned properly for a long time as there were extensive cobwebs and build-up of grime around the shower. The light pull and the toilet roll holder were also coming away from their attachments. There was a good atmosphere in the bar, with a good range of drinks, but the food served at dinner and breakfast was mediocre.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sputnikqueen wrote a review Jun 2021
London, United Kingdom21 contributions6 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We ate here on Saturday 29th May 2021, in the main dining room. This room used to be the Hotel's function room but has now been realigned as a lovely space - well spaced tables, a feeling of Covid-safe as much as can be. I had obviously pre-booked but we were led to our table promptly upon our arrival and drink orders taken. The food was superb! All plates, even those containing vegs and tatties were heated and the four of us had an array of superb food from burger, pork chops to whole sea bass. Puds were good and the whole evening was delightful! Excellent service, very good food, and we can't wait to come back! So, so pleased to see that the Royal is back with us, and, if I may say, better than ever!
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
laverne a asked a question Jan 2017
Suffolk, United Kingdom33 contributions54 helpful votes
What room did you stay in as i have read that the carpets are stained and the showers mouldy,
Answer from nightdriver2016
Birmingham, United Kingdom5 contributions3 helpful votes
Sorry, but cannot remember the room number, but yes, the carpets were stained, although by badly. The bathroom was perfect and a pleasure to use.
David C asked a question Apr 2016
Basildon, United Kingdom4 contributions
Is there a lift?
Answer from JAS
Manchester, United Kingdom101 contributions39 helpful votes
No there is no lift and as far as I recall all bedrooms are upstairs.
Michael C asked a question Aug 2014
Norwich, United Kingdom2 contributions
a lunchtime menu please....
Michael C asked a question Aug 2014
Norwich, United Kingdom2 contributions
.Can I read a menu please?
baggyboy26 wrote a tip Sept 2023
Birmingham, United Kingdom95 contributions66 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"If you are less mobile ask for a room nearer reception as there is no lift ."
Read full review
Calon Lan wrote a tip Oct 2022
Neath, United Kingdom89 contributions23 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don't stay or eat here and go to the ship inn"
Read full review
hellid D wrote a tip Sept 2022
17 contributions10 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Some rooms are VERY high up, beware!"
Read full review
Mike P wrote a tip Sept 2022
Manchester, United Kingdom556 contributions140 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"When I come again I’m getting a room closer to the reception."
Read full review
Karen B wrote a tip Aug 2022
Derby, United Kingdom5 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Rooms are ok, don’t think it caters well to people with mobility problems."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mundesley area.
PRICE RANGE
£103 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the royal hotel, mundesley hotel mundesley
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkMundesley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE ROYAL HOTEL, MUNDESLEY - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Royal Hotel, Mundesley
Which popular attractions are close to The Royal Hotel, Mundesley?
Nearby attractions include Mundesley Beach (0.3 miles), Gray's Amusements Mundesley (0.2 miles), and Mundesley Maritime Museum (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Royal Hotel, Mundesley?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Royal Hotel, Mundesley?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Royal Hotel, Mundesley?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Royal Hotel, Mundesley?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Beach Hut Cafe & Ice Cream Parlour, The Ship Inn, and New Sage.
Is The Royal Hotel, Mundesley located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Mundesley.
Are pets allowed at The Royal Hotel, Mundesley?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Royal Hotel, Mundesley?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Thai, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to The Royal Hotel, Mundesley?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Felbrigg Hall (7.8 miles) and Blickling Estate (9.7 miles).
All Mundesley HotelsMundesley Hotel DealsHotels near The Royal Hotel, Mundesley
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire