The Ship Inn
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

The Ship Inn

Traveller (18)
Roll-Top Tub - Luxury Stays
Room & Suite (34)
Restaurant with Sea Views
Dining (21)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

3.0
#2 of 2 special hotels in Mundesley
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
Escape to the North Norfolk coast & enjoy an idllyic beach getaway at The Ship Inn. Our restaurant with rooms is the perfect place for eating, drinking & relaxing, exuding nautical charm where you can walk straight onto the golden sands of Mundesley Beach. We operate a 72 hour cancellation policy. We're proud to be a dog friendly establishment
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Room features
Housekeeping
Bath / shower
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

21 Beach Road, Mundesley NR11 8BQ England
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 60 out of 100
60
Norwich Airport
14.9 mi
See all flights
44Reviews0Q+A6Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 11
  • 7
  • 6
  • 12
  • 8
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Matt C wrote a review Jun 2021
Ickleford, United Kingdom5 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We took two rooms in this pub hotel (one for my wife and I and one for our daughter), paid a lot of money relative to the norm for this kind of establishment and were 'treated' to faulty plumbing and poor service throughout our stay. The showers were either radioactive or no water at all came out (including eventually both the toilets and wash basins), which was obviously hugely entertaining! We advised the staff of the problems shortly after arrival but no action was taken, no apology given and no recompense offered on the extortionate room rate. They've made a nice effort to refurbish their rooms but if you're going to try and get away with these kinds of prices you better have the service to match - and on our visit they just didn't
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helen Laing, Marketing at The Ship Inn
Responded 7 Jul 2021
Dear Matt C, Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your experiences. Please feel assured that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and is taken very seriously in order to improve our services. Please let us apologise for the inconveniences you faced with the water supply during your stay, and please know that we share the frustrations this inevitably caused you and your family. We will be sure to raise these problems to our management in order to prevent another situation like this from occurring again. We pride ourselves on delivering excellent customer service, so we are really sorry that you felt as though your concerns were not acknowledged and dealt with at the time. We do hope you'll come back and see us again so we can offer you a more positive experience here at The Ship. Best wishes,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Frenchie-lains wrote a review Jul 2023
Horsham, United Kingdom213 contributions62 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel was located perfectly for the beach walks and offered friendly accommodation. Our room was ‘cosy’ with the smallest courner shower ever but had everything we needed including an ironing board etc and some hangers (no draws though). Bed was small but comfortable and and room was tidied every day and tea coffee and water supplies every day with good biscuits.
We had breakfast included which for the first two mornings was absolutely delicious with big pot of strong coffee. However on the last day was slow and a little disappointing.
Staff in the hotel where all very friendly and happy to help.
I would recommend staying here but maybe upgrade to a bigger room and bed if you are staying more than a few nights.

Oh very dog friendly as well. Even gave the dogs a sausage with breakfast in the morning.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Good parking
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helen Laing, Marketing at The Ship Inn
Responded 2 Aug 2023
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you'll visit again. Warm wishes, The Ship Inn.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
STP wrote a review Oct 2021
Brandon, United Kingdom13 contributions6 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
The Ship is ideal for dogs and their owners looking to spend time by the sea. Sadly, not in my opinion for guests without dogs. The dogs are permitted in all areas of the building for breakfast, lunch and evening meal. The website incorrectly states that pets are not allowed in the restaurant, hence we ate a meal with a dog water bowl at our feet.
The Inn has been designed and refurbished to a good standard. However, after checking in there was no heating available in the room until we spoke with the manager. There is an issue with low water pressure, having to use some bottled water to rinse off my hands when it stopped altogether temporarily. Each time we ran water or flushed the toilet there was a loud noise (presumably from a water pump located nearby). The bedroom had an odour of dog/ air freshener and in places could do with a thorough clean.

On a positive note, the food was good, the bed very comfortable and the staff very helpful and friendly. The location is good overlooking the sea.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helen Laing, Marketing at The Ship Inn
Responded 21 Oct 2021
Dear S T, Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your experience. Firstly, please accept our sincerest apologies that your stay with us here at The Ship wasn't as you hoped it would be. As you described, dogs are welcome in all areas of our hotel, except for our restaurant, however please accept our apologies that this was not the case on this occasion. It is our top priority to ensure that we accommodate all of our guest's needs, both those with furry friends and those without. Therefore, our rule regarding no dogs in our restaurant is to respect our guests who do not wish to dine with dogs. Please feel assured that this was a one off, and we will be sure to look into this immediately to ensure that further disruption is not caused. Please also allow us to apologise for the issues with the heating and also the water pressure. With being a busy tourist town, this means that the water pressure can be low across the board, with our hotel being at the centre of this. Please know that we share your frustration regarding this, however we do our best to ensure that our guests are aware of any issues they may come across during their stay. Nonetheless, please allow us to apologise for any inconvenience this subsequently caused you. Thank you for your feedback regarding the odour in your room, and please also accept our apologies for any discomfort this brought to your stay. We pride ourselves here at The Ship for offering relaxing coastal stays, so please allow us to extend our apologies once again that your stay didn't quite meet your expectations. However, it is excellent to learn that you very much enjoyed our tasty pub dishes and that our friendly and attentive team were so accommodating. Thank you for your positive feedback. We hope upon a future visit to Mundesley you will perhaps give us a second try, as we would be incredibly grateful of the opportunity to create a stay for you which goes above and beyond your expectations. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact us via hello@mundesley-ship.co.uk to speak to a member of our team. Best wishes, Marketing.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
veggiefairy wrote a review Jan 2020
Norfolk, United Kingdom62 contributions59 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I had a birthday stay here and it was awful. The room was tiny, absolutely freezing and the bathroom didn’t even have a radiator- it’s like a fridge. I asked for an extra blanket they didn’t have one. They had to get another quilt.
The noise in the room from kitchen below and extractor fan is just insane. This room should be locked up and never used.
At dinner, with our baked Camembert we were given cold untoasted bread.
We did complain about the room and asked to move but they couldn’t help. We were offered free breakfast ( it’s not included in the already over priced room rate for a cold noisy shoe box) but we didn’t want it- the bathroom was that cold neither of us wanted to shower and we just wanted to get out of there.
The staff know this room is an issue yet they continue to let people stay here. It’s shocking. We will never ever return and we live on this coast, so you’ve lost potential regular customers.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mjw14 wrote a review Jan 2021
7 contributions6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This isn't really a review of the property but rather a review of the management company, Bluebelt Hospitality Ltd.
Having booked a 2 night stay back in January 2020 and paid in full for a 'Winter Madness' package from 31st March to 2nd April I telephoned the proprietor to claim a refund due to the closure of the inn during the lockdown. He promised me that my money would be refunded by Bluebelt Hospitality in due course.
Despite chasing the company on many occasions over the next few months and promises that a refund would be made no refund has ever been forthcoming.
Although The Ship Inn may be a restaurant of choice for some people I recommend that you do not part with any money for a stay at the property unless you can afford to lose it!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helen Laing, Marketing at The Ship Inn
Responded 24 Jun 2021
Dear Mjw14, Thank you for your honest review. Please feel assured that we take all of our guests' feedback extremely seriously, and we appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences. We share your frustrations regarding the experience you have described, and we would like to apologise for the inconveniences you have faced in trying to receive your refund. With the property being closed during this period & with staff on furlough, this subsequently meant that there were minimal staff on the ground to deal with incoming enquiries. We hope that, now a few months on, this problem has now been rectified for you and a refund has been issued. If you are experiencing further issues, please do contact us via hello@mundesley-ship.co.uk to speak to a member of our team. Best wishes,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Hannah S wrote a review Jun 2021
Dubai, United Arab Emirates2 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Disappointing end to our Norfolk Coast Holiday. Booked as a treat as it cost an extortionate £250 a night. Shower stopped working both mornings and no water supply to room both mornings (couldn’t flush the toilet or brush our teeth!). Room service didn’t touch the bathroom, left with wet towels for the evening. Only given an hour slot to eat breakfast in the morning. I have emailed management to voice my dissatisfaction and have not had a response. Shocking customer service and hugely overpriced considering amenities. Book anywhere else in Mundesley over the Ship Inn. I just wish I had read more reviews before booking.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helen Laing, Marketing at The Ship Inn
Responded 7 Jul 2021
Dear hannahsL1807UR, Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your experience. Please feel assured that we take all our guests' feedback extremely seriously, and your comments are very valuable in helping us to improve our services. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay, and please know that we share your disappointment that you felt as though your stay wasn't good value for money. We will raise your feedback regarding the water supply to our management team immediately in order to rectify the problems, and please let us apologise for the discomfort and frustration this inevitably caused you. We pride ourselves here at The Ship for offering a relaxing seaside stay, so we are deeply saddened to learn that your stay with us was a disappointing end to your Norfolk Coast holiday. Delivering excellent & friendly customer service is extremely important to us, so please let us apologise that on this occasion you felt let down. We do hope you will come back and give us a second chance, as we really do believe that The Ship Inn is a wonderful place to stay when visiting North Norfolk. Best wishes,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
G L wrote a review Oct 2021
3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Unfortunately didn't have a great stay. Room 9 is right above the kitchen door/The Catch, so lots of banging, swearing and shouting until 22:45. Room didn't smell of food which was good given its position above the kitchen.

Room was small but v clean, nicely decorated. Bathroom was nice but no running water from 6pm. When we asked the staff, we were met with "yeah that happens, but you can use the facilities down here" meaning the pub toilets !! and no apology. Not really acceptable when you're paying for a night away.

Poached eggs in the morning were inedible and just tasted like vinegar, really disappointing as was hungry! Staff said "oh the chef is useless at eggs, he's allergic" when the majority of the breakfast menu is egg based! They did give us both breakfasts for free which was nice.

Unfortunately wouldn't stay again
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helen Laing, Marketing at The Ship Inn
Responded 27 Oct 2021
Dear gl470, Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your experience. Please feel assured that we take all of our feedback extremely seriously, as it is our top priority to understand how we can improve our services here at The Ship Inn. With this this mind, please accept our sincerest apologies that your stay wasn't as you hoped it would be, and please know that we are incredibly sorry for the disruption caused from our kitchen. Ensuring all of our guests enjoy a restful night's sleep is imperative, so thank you for sharing your experience and we will be sure to report this back to our team immediately. Please also accept our apologies that you had no running water in your room after 6pm. With being situated in a busy tourist area, this can mean that the water pressure across the village can be low and often limited at times. Please feel assured that we completely understand your frustration, and appreciate the inconvenience of this issue. We are working hard to ensure that this issue causes as minimal disruption as possible, however unfortunately, is something we are unable to control. We pride ourselves here at The Ship for our excellent pub classics and hearty dishes, so please accept our apologies that you felt let down by your breakfast on this occasion. We are always striving to deliver the best guest experience possible, so your feedback on our eggs will be incredibly valuable in helping us to improve our egg based dishes moving forward. Please allow us to extend our apologies once again that your stay here at The Ship didn't quite meet your expectations, and please note that we share your disappointment that you would not choose to stay with us again. Creating ship-shape stays here on the Norfolk coast is what we're passionate about, so we hope upon a future visit to Mundesley you might consider giving us a second try, as we would be incredibly grateful of the opportunity to create a stay for you which goes above and beyond your expectations. If there is anything further you would like to discuss regarding your stay, please do not hesitate to get in touch via hello@mundesley-ship.co.uk to speak to a member of our team. Best wishes, Marketing.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
sam wrote a review Oct 2022
Norwich, United Kingdom5 contributions
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We are just back from a 2 night stay at the ship and I have to say it was wonderful in every way, we had room 4, a sea view double and the view was amazing, we kept our window open and woke to the sounds of the waves each morning. I stayed with my best friend for my Birthday and we normally try to book a twin room, but this double room though cosy was perfect for us with a comfy large double bed. The food and ambiance in the restaurant was lovely, all the food was freshly cooked to perfection, so much so that we decided to eat in the hotel on our second evening. Breakfast was also cooked freshly to order and was piping hot and one of the the best breakfasts I’ve ever had which set us up for the 7 mile coastal walk to Cromer. All the staff were so genuinely friendly and accommodating which made the stay even better. The hotels decor combines quirky modern with old and traditional and we loved this, especially in our room which had boat ours as hooks and groovy lighting. Everything was super clean and the lovely lady that looks after the housekeeping made our room spotless for our return from the long walk and day in Cromer. As a chef and x travel agent with high expectations, I can honestly say this was one of the nicest short breaks I’ve ever had, testament to a team that have got it right! We will be back, thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Book taxis well in advance, especially around school run times.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helen Laing, Marketing at The Ship Inn
Responded 13 Nov 2022
Dear Freedom00099218767, Thank you ever so much for your wonderful feedback and for choosing to stay with us here at The Ship. We look forward to sharing your excellent review with our team! We are overjoyed to hear you had such a fantastic time! We hope to welcome you back sometime soon! Take care! Kindest,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
SRK wrote a review Aug 2020
5 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked dinner here on a Saturday.
Without doubt some of the best pub food I have tasted in along time. Cumberland sausage with scallion mash was fabulous. Onions cooked to perfection with a rich gravy that elevated the meal to the realms of culinary orgasm.
Prices are more than average for pub food, but for a special meal this is so worth it.
Covid wise most staff are pretty well aware of the care required too.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Helen Laing, Marketing at The Ship Inn
Responded 27 Apr 2021
Dear stupot56, Thank you for your review and for choosing to dine here at The Ship Inn. We are so thrilled to hear you enjoyed a fantastic meal and that you believed it to be the best pub food you'd tasted in a long time! Wow! We will be sure to share your kind words with our team. We are delighted to hear that you felt at ease with the Covid measures we had in place at the time; the safety of our guests and staff is our priority during these challenging times. We hope you'll visit us again to celebrate another special occasion soon! Best wishes,
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karen A wrote a review Oct 2023
18 contributions9 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a really enjoyable 4 night stay, quaint nautical themed room (cosy double) bed was very comfy, well stocked hospitality tray and room was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was superb, lots of choice, freshly cooked and very tasty. Food a little on the pricey side but of excellent quality. Made to feel at home and everyone was very pleasant and accommodating.

Now for the fly in the ointment ... the kitchens extractor fan. It's noisy, very very noisy and can be heard from both the front and back bedrooms. My room was at the front of the building and I could EVERYTHING going on in the kitchen, banging, swearing, men shouting as well as the constant droning of the fan which started at 8:00am and didn't stop until about 9:00pm. The fan acts like an amplifier projecting the sounds from the kitchens into the rooms & is very annoying especially at night. A very big design fault that needs sorting... Sorry...
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the extractor fan as possible
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Mundesley area.
PRICE RANGE
£71 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast AngliaNorfolkMundesley
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Prices are provided by our partners for one room, with variable occupancy rules as provided by the property, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SHIP INN - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about The Ship Inn
Which popular attractions are close to The Ship Inn?
Nearby attractions include Mundesley Beach (0.1 miles), Mundesley Maritime Museum (0.06 miles), and Gray's Amusements Mundesley (0.07 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Ship Inn?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Ship Inn?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Ship Inn?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Ship Inn?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Beach Hut Cafe & Ice Cream Parlour, The Ship Inn, and New Sage.
Is The Ship Inn located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.2 miles away from the centre of Mundesley.
Are pets allowed at The Ship Inn?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to The Ship Inn?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Felbrigg Hall (7.7 miles) and Blickling Estate (9.7 miles).
Does The Ship Inn have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire