We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Kings Head Hotel

Traveller (39)
Dining (24)
Room & Suite (19)
Certificate of Excellence
About
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
See why so many travellers make The Kings Head Hotel their inn of choice when visiting Great Ayton. Providing an ideal mix of value, comfort and convenience, it offers a quaint setting with an array of amenities designed for travellers like you. Close to All Saints Church (2.9 km), a popular Great Ayton landmark, The Kings Head Hotel is a great destination for tourists. Guest rooms include many amenities such as a flat screen TV. The property boasts free breakfast, to help make your stay more enjoyable. If you are driving, free parking is available, and while at The Kings Head Hotel, guests can go online with free internet access. Traveller's looking to enjoy some crab can head to Joplins Restaurant or Dudley Arms. Otherwise, you may want to check out a cafe such as Fletchers Farm Coffee Shop, Number 5 Coffee House, or Stamps Coffee Shop. At The Kings Head Hotel, your comfort and satisfaction come first, and they look forward to welcoming you to Great Ayton.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Internet
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Wheelchair access
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Quaint
HOTEL CLASS
Reviews & more
301Reviews
98Photos
1Q+A
42Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 129
  • 71
  • 38
  • 33
  • 30
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Lovely hotel and excellent staff. Clean and really nice place to have a break. However, the food is very poor. It is a pub chain and the food is tasteless and obviously mass produced so it is easy for staff to prepare. Yuck! It’s a shame as it would have so much going for it. We
Read more
Response from ChrisM13390, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel
Responded 10 Nov 2018
Thanks for your review. Sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your meals, I will address with the kitchen team. I am pleased you enjoyed the rest of your stay though, and hope you will come again. Thanks again for your feedback :)
Read more
I’ve been here a few times with my family and believe the location and food to be outstanding. Staff always give a warm welcome and even better we can take our family dog making it perfect as a cosy finishing point after a walk.
Read more
Response from ChrisM13390, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel
Responded 10 Nov 2018
Thanks so much for your review Joanne D We're delighted you have enjoyed your visits each time, and look forward to your next visit :)
Read more
I must admit that this is the 1st time I have visited in a long time. We used to be regulars and have not been since the hotel changed hands. We came with mixed feelings, would it be as good as it used to be? Well not quite, but having said that the Sunday lunch we had was
Read more
Response from ChrisM13390, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel
Responded 17 Oct 2018
Thank you so much for your review Ken H We're delighted that you enjoyed everything and that we made the cut into your top five!! We look forward to your next visit :)
Read more
Popped in for lunch , lovely pub very friendly service . Lovely food and good wine would definitely give it a try there is seating outside for those who smoke . Family friendly , lovely comfy table and chairs plenty of room and not on top of each other making it perfect to
Read more
Response from ChrisM13390, General Manager at The Kings Head Hotel
Responded 9 Oct 2018
Thanks for your review Joanne C We're delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you again soon :)
Read more
Whilst staying in the area for a week's holiday we ate here three times.... Each time was fantastic! Party of four and a dog (a member of the bar staff even brought treats out for our dog). Very surprised by the previous negative reviews on here as they are the complete opposite
Read more
Response from ChrisM13390, Manager at The Kings Head Hotel
Responded 29 Sep 2018
Thanks so much for leaving your review Joanne M Like every business we get negative reviews when things go wrong, but not many of the positive experiences make it onto TripAdvisor, so it really is great when folk like yourself leave your reviews. I will pass on your kind words to the team, and am delighted you had such a lovely holiday. We look forward to your next visit :)
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerDining Room & Suite
Photo provided by managementThe Kings Head Hotel
Converted 17th C cottages house comfy rooms
My husband in our comfortable room
View of Roseberry
PreviousNext
1234
Are dogs allowed?
yes they are.
0 votes
"If you're over 3 feet tall avoid room 1."
"We had a room with the view and no room noise from the car park(90"
"All rooms appear to suffer from the plumbing noise whichever one you are in"
"Rooms at back give you a view of Roseberry Topping"
"Avoid room 2 in the summer its a conservatory so an oven"
PreviousNext
1234569
PRICE RANGE
US$132 - US$148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandYorkshireGreat Ayton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
12
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing