We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotel Fonda Vela

Traveller (474)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (197)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Fonda Vela Hotel is located in beautifulMonteverde, famous for its Resplendent Quetzals,Three-wattled Bellbirds, an abundance of orchids anda gorgeous cloud forest. The climate is refreshing,often referred to as "The Eternal Spring". The views ofthe Gulf of Nicoya from the hotel’s 1400-meterelevation are spectacular. Monteverde is an idealdestination for relaxing and enjoying the wonders ofthe tropics. A visit of at least two nights inMonteverde is recommended.
Read more
Property amenities
Restaurant
Free parking
Pool
Free Internet
Bar/Lounge
Concierge
Laundry Service
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor pool
Show more
Room features
Family Rooms
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quiet
Park View
HOTEL CLASS
812Reviews
694Photos
13Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 262
  • 315
  • 145
  • 48
  • 42
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
This site was recommended by our guide. It’s secluded and a little away from the downtown which is good and bad. We had transportation so it was easy to get into down town but also nice to be away from everyone. Accommodations were nice. Best bathroom we have had this far, by
Read more
Response from HotelF54, Gerente at Hotel Fonda Vela
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Davenylas, We appreciate that you have shared your valuable comments about your stay and we are happy to know you have enjoyed your stay that much. We will certainly take each of your words and to improve the experience of our clients. We would love to meet you again in the future, to enjoy from a unique stay. Fonda Vela Staff
Read more
Anywhere Costa Rica did a wonderful job of selecting our hotels...we stayed in the Fonda Vela on the 2nd leg of our Costa Rica journey. The staff was friendly and helpful. The setting was beautiful and serene. We loved our stay.
Read more
Response from HotelF54, Gerente at Hotel Fonda Vela
Responded 2 days ago
Dear KimGlathar, We are very happy to know that your experience has been so positive and magical. Without a doubt, it fills us with happiness to know that our privileged location has done its work and we have been able to offer your family an environment that invites relaxation and total tranquility. We hope you visit us soon, FondaVela Staff
Read more
Two story rooms , okay if you are more than two people but a couple like to sleep within shouting distance ,shame that the beds are only Queen size as well . Shower left a lot to be desired and as for hot water 20 minutes was about how long it took to come through . Having said
Read more
Response from HotelF54, Gerente at Hotel Fonda Vela
Responded 2 days ago
Dear 0911janiceb, We appreciate that you have shared your comments about your experience in Fonda Vela. We regret that your experience has not been perfect as we would have liked but we will take your comments into account to make the necessary improvements immediately. FondaVela Staff
Read more
The best bits are the gardens, beautiful and the pool looked decent. The rooms appear to be a tribute to a Ski Lodge with excessive and poor quality wood pannelling EVERYWHERE!The bathroom was one of those 'I don't want to touch anything' types. The choice of decor was weird
Read more
Response from HotelF54, Gerente at Hotel Fonda Vela
Responded 5 days ago
Dear C4LWX, We appreciate your positive comments about your visit and without doubt, we appreciate your feedback that will help us learn and improve day by day. We regret the inconveniences and we will make the necessary improvements immediately. Warm regards, Fondavela Staff
Read more
Very pretty setting with view of volcano. Room was lovely. Staff was super nice. Restaurant was good. At breakfast the staff places fruit in tree branches outside the restaurant to attract amazing birds. Make sure to bet room with number higher than 5 to avoid highway
Read more
Response from HotelF54, Gerente at Hotel Fonda Vela
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Go628004, We appreciate that you have shared your valuable comments about your stay and we are happy to know you have enjoyed your stay that much. We will certainly take each of your words and to improve the experience of our clients. We would love to meet you again in the future to enjoy from a unique stay. Fonda Vela Staff
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachFamily and Play AreasBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Double room on 2nd floor - gorgeous hardwood floors but you're not allowed to wear shoes, so beware of falling.
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel Fonda Vela
The Standard Room at the Hotel Fonda Vela
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorHotel Fonda Vela
The Junior Suite at the Hotel Fonda Vela
PreviousNext
12345639
I am not sure what is meant by customer service. The place is not a 5 Star facility...most places in Monteverde tend to keep staff fairly lean because tourism is only 6-8 months per year. That said, we did not experience any issues, in fact quite the opposite. We had what we needed and were really happy with our stay, and would return. Perhaps it depends on one’s expectations?
1 vote
Show all answers
How late is the restaurant open for dinner?
9:00 pm closing
0 votes
I am worried the negative reviews here as we are booked in the spring
It was one of my daughter's favourite places to stay, lovely rooms, good food and helpful front desk staff. It was close to where we saw our first Quetzal :)
0 votes
Show all answers
Do you have air conditioning?
Our hotel as any Hotel in the area, doesn´t provide any air conditioning A/C, this due mostly of the year Monteverde keep a fresh weather. Also, our room structures are build to keep high spaces to let the air flow and keep it fresh.
0 votes
Show all answers
Is there wi-fi in the rooms or must you go to the lobby or restaurant for wi-fi?
The wifi throughout the property is hit or miss and slow. In the lobby it is a bit better. You have to find the right spot.
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123
"In the new block with good countryside views."
"I think all the rooms had large windows and lovely views."
"Jr Suite!!"
"Seem to all be far from the pool but would suggest something on the 2nd floor with a view."
"We had a room with a king and queen bed. Nice view and spacious."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$122 - US$183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
fonda vela hotelfonda vela monteverde
LOCATION
Costa RicaProvince of PuntarenasMonteverde
NUMBER OF ROOMS
42
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing