We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

593 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 412: English reviews
Newburyport, Massachusetts
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Hmmm-been thinking about this review for days. I will qualify this by saying the sun did not come out the entire time we were here and that may have contributed to the general overall glumness of this place. I will also say that this was the least friendly place we stayed at out of 4 stops in CR. Staff not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisac1962
East Sussex, UK
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Disappointing stay No wow factor here. Very dated rooms. Bathrooms need updating as cracks in porcelain so not very hygienic. Whole guest area Looks grubby. Pool was too cold to use jacuzzi nice. Service in restaurant was poor. Breakfast inadequate. No lift. Close to some shops but you don't go to Monteverde for the shopping experience.No where to sit to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lyke2snype
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr / Mrs Snype. Did you approach front desk personnel or management during your stay to express your discontent about our service ?? If so, was my response rude or unsatisfactory? Did you talk to either of the receptionists about this? I'm sure either one of them would have address your situation properly, specially since they are very good...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was lovely nestled in the mountain side full of treasures the garden and hot tub are the highlights the food was great and the room was basic and clean it even had a balcony. This place has so many special features you must see for yourself we would defiantly stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank weavemaster1
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr / Mrs Weavemaster: Thank you very much for your very nice review. We work hard to present a nice, comfortable and well located facility. Our team tries its best to deliver the best service. And we have put a lot of thought on details, special areas, amenities, etc. Our food, pool, Jacuzzi, gardens, music, renovations, rooms, etc are...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had different ugly bugs in our room. We ask them to clean it again but the next day the room was again filled with bugs. This was the only hotel in costa rica where we had bugs. No aircon...at night icecold, during the day to hot. Everything felt dirty.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andrea H
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Andrea. Greetings from Monteverde. I'm sorry you experienced some bugs when you stayed with us. I wonder if we offered an Up Grade to our deluxe Air conditioned rooms, we do have two rooms that are the first two rooms in Monteverde with A/C. Monteverde is supposed to have a cool nice temperature, specially considering the cold temperatures...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2016

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel in May. 2 nights too long No lift Room small - can't be helped Clothes Hanging space non existent - Noisy from road Balcony no chairs Hours of noise from hotel repairs - why electric sawing next to guest rooms when you don't have to - hotel was not full. Complained 2nd day after...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kez64
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr/Mrs KEZ. We understand how works and noise can affect one´s stay. We try to compensate our guests in everyway possible, even with a full refund so they can find a more suitable place to stay. Some people are not pleased with the type of hotel we offer: more modern, well equipped, pretty much at down town Santa Elena,...

Fort Collins, Colorado
Reviewed 16 October 2016

This hotel is small, but has a great manager that can arrange guided tours for you to visit the cloud forest, coffee plantation, etc. with short notice. We arrived late, as usual, and she planned our next day for us within 15 minutes. Had a great dinner and free breakfast in the hotel's restaurant and bar. A good nights sleep,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Joet6192
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Joet6192. Thank you very much for your very nice review. We are very glad you enjoyed Monteverde and all the tours and activities. Guests should try to experience the most of the Cloud Forest once they have made it up this far! Our team, our hotel and our services are a great way to help you enjoy the beauties...

Trieste, Italy
Reviewed 30 September 2016 via mobile

Rooms are small,not very clean,overpriced for the quality and service you don't get.Very very noisy and uncomfortable for the place where is located.Friendly reception,awful restaurant service. Much nicer if we woukd have chosen a cheaper cabana...do not visit

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Giulia S
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Ciao Mrs Giulia. Why didn't you keep on looking for hotels that night? You came as walk ins, all 4 of you and I specifically recall we gave you a very very good deal. We mentioned the renovation works, we also talked about our services and such and you stayed for two nights and we did not hear none of...

San Jose, California
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Very good location - near downtown, restaurants across the street, and a grocery store very nearby. During our visit (September) some major remodeling was going on, causing loud construction noises all day. Our room also heard all the conversations and footsteps in the hallway. And our room was on the side of the hotel by the road - small but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean K
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr / Mrs Spkaldor. Thank you for your your review and for being the kind of guests we wish to have. Hotel Poco a Poco offers comforts and added values for those who are looking for a comfortable place to stay, from where to enjoy the town´s attractions and restaurants, bars, shops, cafeterias, and more. I´m sorry about the...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel very close to town. Short walk across street through parking lot of shopping center then down the hill. The shopping center has a few restaurants, shops and a large supermarket. It was nice to finally be in walking distance of town without the cost of taxis. Room is basic but cute, clean & comfortable with a nice shade...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Greetings and thank you for your review. Our location is privileged, we are just three blocks away from down town and across the street from the comercial centre: shops, places to eat, banks, market and more.. Our staff, our amenities, coffee in the room, jacuzzi, spa, covered pool and other comforts make us the best value place to stay in...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 4 September 2016

We traveled to Monteverde with our 2 kids (6 & 9) and wanted to stay somewhere nice, but still close enough to walk to the town center, which is pretty much limited to hostels. This hotel is about a 5 minute walk to everything, including the bank, a grocery store, and a great restaurant (Sabor Tico). The hotel property is...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MissMoeTO
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Miss Moe. Thank you very much for your very nice, complete and helpful review. You are exactly the kind of guests we look forward having with us!!! We are a small, nicely run, comfortable and cozy hotel, strategically located near EVERYTHING in Monteverde. Thanks a lot!!

302 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (268)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
View from Room (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (86)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 22 in Monteverde
939 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
0.8 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 22 in Monteverde
1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#4 of 22 in Monteverde
158 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#7 of 22 in Monteverde
170 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#11 of 22 in Monteverde
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Spa
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Airport Transportation
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As its name stands for, Poco a Poco is a hotel that has grown little by little, from five rooms in 2000; our restaurant and 6 more rooms in 02, 18 more rooms at the end of 2005, our heated pool and the last 3 rooms on 2006 and finally for march 2009, our new front desk building, with a new standard in architecture and construction materials: modern, versatile and clean.The hotel's analogy and emblem: The Turtle, relates to its mythological attributes of wisdom, spirituality and perseverance; values that are part of our business philosophy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Address: | Santa Elena Centro, Frente Al Centro Comercial Plaza Monteverde, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Price Range: £90 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poco a
Poco a Monteverde
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Woodbridge, Canada

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“ask for one that doesn't have a tree obscuring the light”
 of 5 bubbles lisac1962, 8 Dec 2016 | Read review
“My best tip would be choose another place to stay”
 of 5 bubbles lyke2snype, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Rooms are spread out in various buildings.”
 of 5 bubbles Joet6192, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room not facing the road are quieter. Lots of traffic and this place is on a hill.”
 of 5 bubbles bethm722, 12 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Room up higher give a better view.”
 of 5 bubbles 224debbiet, 16 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay