We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

640 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 442: English reviews
Start your review of Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco
 Click to rate
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Unique and eclectic hotel. Very centrally located--100 meters from good restaurants and <500 meters from downtown area. Comfortable beds and well appointed rooms. Nice pool and jacuzzi. Unfortunately, wifi limited to restaurant and public areas and ongoing construction detracted from the experience.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank danandheidiries
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Trip Advisor user. Thank you very much for your comments. We are very sorry we are undergoing a series of small modifications at the entrance of the hotel, actually, appart from the rooms areas, yet, I totally understand how this can v¿be an inconveniece. We considered doing this works during high season due to the fact that it is...

Ottawa
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights due to the overbooking at our original hotel, hotel Monteverde. Couldn't sleep as the strong wind picked up from 9:00pm every night and the horrible sound let us worried it may blow down the building, what a nightmare. The hotel staffs are friendly and the restaurant serves quality food for dinner. The location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kanataman
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Mrs. Kanataman. We are very sorry you did not get a good night´s sleep, Monteverde is quite windy and even though it might feel very strong, it’s pretty normal up here. I wish you´d let us know this situation was interfering with your rest and enjoyment, we have rooms that are on first floor, of down by the...

Hertford, NC
Reviewed 1 week ago

While we noted mixed reviews of this hotel, we opted to book it and were not disappointed at all. This is a very nice hotel, comfortable and clean and the staff friendly and helpful. While the rooms are not what you call spacious, ours had everything we needed to be comfortable. Ours may have been a bit bigger (room 35)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Luckyfriday
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Mrs Luckyfriday. Thank you very much for such a nice review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. Indeed room 35 is a bit bigger and it features the new amenities and comforts of our recently renewed rooms. We have quite a few rooms that are located away from the street, thus, this rooms are more quiet...

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is right on the edge of town so it is convenient. There are a number of restaurants you can walk to. The town itself doesn't have much of anything in it - a few souvenir shops and restaurants. Our room was fine but certainly nothing to rave about. We had to walk up a lot of steps. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wrbvvf
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Wrbvvf. Thank you for your comments, our location is one of the biggest highlights, access to restaurants, bars in town, cafeterias, shops, super markets and much more. Santa Elena might not be the prettiest down town in Costa Rica, But it sure has plenty of things to watch and enjoy. There are over 20 little restaurants just in...

Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Liliane welcomed us at our arrival. Very knowledgeable about nature oriented excursions. Offered us a room in a quiet setting with a great view. Clean room. Great jacuzzi with a pool. Easy access to bus, 2 min from the hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank YoAnne B
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs B. Thank you very much for your very kind, very nice review. I can speak for Lilly, Michael, Laura and everybody at Poco a Poco; they all are very knowledgeable about tours, nature and they are always willing to go the extra mile in order to provide the best service and make guests feel welcomed and taken care...

Sarasota, Florida
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Montverde was not what we expected. That is, in fact, an understatement. It was a little green, but not lush like the tropical rain forest where we had been. It was unbelievably windy. Not just a few gusts windy but, knock you over, hurricane windy. I don’t know if the hotel was just designed poorly. Regardless, the noises of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mkschlam
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. Mkschlam. Thank you for your review. The cloud forest is different from the rain forest from the lower slopes of the Caribean or South Pacific of Costa Rica, indeed, during this time of the year, the wind blows very strong and this is our driest / warmest time of the year. We hope you did go to the...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was centrally located and was comfortable. The rooms were average and at the time when I was there, they were making repairs and/or improvements to their facilities. On the whole, we would stay there again, but at the same time, I'd be open to other places.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Ryan, Thank you for your review. Monteverde is a great place and there are several great hotels in the area, we are proud to be one of the best: our location, our amenities, added values like pool, Jacuzzi, rooms with a/c, wifi, etc make our hotel one of the most complete. Next time we hope you choose to stay...

Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As the hotel was booked as part of a tour, we had the surprise to be granted of the Garden Bungalow. It's a separate little building, at the bottom of the garden as the name might indicate. It's thus very quiet, with a small private sunny terrace with a view, a spacious bright bedroom and bathroom and....ice on the cake....it's...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aralya
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs Aralya. Thank you very much for your review, we are very glad you enjoyed your stay. Our deluxe room is actually the best on the house, spacious, comfortable and private, it is one of the 4 rooms with Air conditioned, ceiling fan, it also has a minifridge, great shower and a terrace with a private hot tub for...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I did not stay at this hotel so cannot comment on the hotel, however when I asked around for a massage after days of travelling around Costa Rica I was recommended to the spa. My massage therapist was Maggie and she gave me one of the best massages I have ever had. She asked me about what made me want...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nadine R
Gerencia Genera... H, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mrs. R. Thank you very much for your review about our spa and our therapist Mayi, we are very glad you enjoyed your treatment and her service. Naroa spa is a part of the added values we wish our guests to enjoy. Hotel Poco a Poco is one of the best hotels in Monteverde, we offer a great array...

Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The best thing about this place is the location. The rooms are small. The first room we were given had a broken shower door, mildew in bathroom, poor lighting, no AC, no place to put luggage. The next room was cleaner and bigger but still no closet, no place to put luggage, no tissues, no hair conditioner. They are very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lee G
GuidoMontero, Director General at Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco, responded to this review

Dear Mr G. Thank you very much for your review and your feed back. We are very sorry you felt this way about your stay. There are certain things we have tried to facilitate and perhaps they did not work for you, for instance, we offer body and hair gel in every shower, our rooms offer led lights, actually hotels...

315 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (281)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (76)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (31)
Viewed
View from Room (37)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Other (93)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monteverde hotels
0.2 mi away
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
Monteverde Lodge & Gardens
#3 of 23 in Monteverde
1,033 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monteverde Inn
Monteverde Inn
#5 of 23 in Monteverde
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Pinos - Cabanas y Jardines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Fonda Vela
Hotel Fonda Vela
#12 of 23 in Monteverde
661 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Belmar
Hotel Belmar
#1 of 23 in Monteverde
1,248 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Bosque
Hotel El Bosque
#8 of 23 in Monteverde
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Spa
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Airport Transportation
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
As its name stands for, Poco a Poco is a hotel that has grown little by little, from five rooms in 2000; our restaurant and 6 more rooms in 02, 18 more rooms at the end of 2005, our heated pool and the last 3 rooms on 2006 and finally for march 2009, our new front desk building, with a new standard in architecture and construction materials: modern, versatile and clean.The hotel's analogy and emblem: The Turtle, relates to its mythological attributes of wisdom, spirituality and perseverance; values that are part of our business philosophy. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco

Address: | Santa Elena Centro, Frente Al Centro Comercial Plaza Monteverde, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Monteverde
Price Range: £87 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Poco a
Poco a Monteverde
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Woodbridge, Canada

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel & Spa Poco a Poco staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 35 may have a bit more space, and is away from the parking lot and road.”
 of 5 bubbles Luckyfriday, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“lower floors - there's no elevator”
 of 5 bubbles wrbvvf, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I don't know how the wind noise was in the other rooms so just ask at the front desk for a quieter room.”
 of 5 bubbles Mkschlam, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms 50 and 51 are bigger and newer”
 of 5 bubbles LeeG51, 7 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors seem to be better”
 of 5 bubbles Ballardian, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5