Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Bamboo Hideaway

Traveller (181)
Pool & Beach (28)
Dining (24)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.5
#3 of 8 resorts in Ko Mak
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Located on the beautiful island of Koh Mak, Bamboo Hideaway Resort is a small boutique style resort built in an aging rubber tree plantation using natural materials. We here at Bamboo Hideaway have tried to capture a feeling of peace and tranquility. Eight bungalows, elevated and accessible by a walkway from the restaurant, weave its way through the trees to accommodation that have been designed to give you all the luxuries of a more traditional resort but with the advantage that only natural materials can give.Large and spacious, the bungalow has a double bed with possibility of extra bed. Air conditioning, hot water and private bathroom. It comes with towels, slippers and fresh water every day. Sea wiew most of them.Bamboo Hideaway is only less than 5 minutes walk from the nearest beach, but our service also provides you with free transportation to any beaches on the island. Our swimming pool offers picturesque view of the ocean and sunset that no other places on the island can offer!"
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Babysitting
Shuttle bus service
Massage
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Outdoor pool
Coffee shop
Wine / champagne
Open-air bath
Sun loungers / beach chairs
Sun terrace
Sun umbrellas
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Safe
Bottled water
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Spanish, Italian, Khmer and 2 more
233Reviews3Q+A14Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 184
  • 33
  • 7
  • 4
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Kate Smith wrote a review Nov 2020
5 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This place is stunning! Beautiful bungalows hidden in a jungle. The owner Jake is a fantastic host and makes everyone feels welcome. The bar and cocktails are awesome, they also make delicious Mexican food. Best holiday ever :)
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Beejung A wrote a review Apr 2013
1 contribution4 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Owners are very friendly and attentive, lovely & peaceful place, great for taking a deep breath and just slowing down.
We enjoyed our stay and the location was convenient. WiFi worked well in the rooms, overall a good experience.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
aleather wrote a review Jan 2013
Sao Paulo, SP55 contributions24 helpful votes
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
It's not enough just to mention that the views of the sea from this property are breathtaking, or that the bamboo huts are immaculately maintained and spotlessly clean. Nor is what sets this property apart simply the first-rate Italian food that Massimo, the owner, lovingly prepares every night, the fast, reliable wifi in the bungalows, or the knock-your-socks-off A/C that, when set to high, cools the bungalows literally in seconds. What makes Bamboo Hideaway really special is the service that Massimo and his wife, Francesca, provide, always with warmth and a smile. Rather than leave me to take one of the island taxis, for example, they picked me up at the pier when I arrived on Koh Mak. When I got sick (from something I had eaten in Bangkok the day I traveled to Koh Mak), they took me to the pharmacy on the island and then nursed me back to health for two days with just the right kinds of foods that my body needed in order to recover. When I needed a bike to get around the island, they cheerfully drove me into town to rent one. Since there was no one arriving to take my bungalow the day I checked out, they encouraged me to sleep in and check out late. The unique experience of living in a bamboo hut certainly was memorable, but what left the most lasting impression from my time at Bamboo Hideaway was the kindness and outstanding service from Massimo and Francesca. I'll always cherish the chance to have stayed with them. Highly recommended!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2013
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Request a front-row bungalow for the best ocean views
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
travel b wrote a review Jan 2013
San Francisco, California1 contribution6 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My advice is to check this place out ONCE you arrive on the Island. DO NOT make an advance booking on the internet.

The bad points.

*The manager charged me for an extra night against my wishes because of a ferry booking mix up which was his error.

*I heard the manager telling people on the phone that there are no mosquitoes here. I regularly saw mosquitoes but applied insect repellant when required.

* I was bitten by a dog on my last day at the resort. This will cost me close to $400 in rabies vaccinations.

The good points:

* Very nice pool and rooms.

* Great Italian food.

* Relaxed out of the way location.

*****

I was told that the current management have been there since September, 2012.

I suggest asking for the price of EVERYTHING you order. Only some prices are listed on the menu, so you might get a surprise when the bill turns up.

Spaces on the fast ferry can be very limited (about 30 people I think). You may wish to ask the manager if you will be charged for the room if the ferry is already full and you can not make it to the island.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2013Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from bamboohideaway, Direttore generale at Bamboo Hideaway
Responded 28 Jan 2013
Dear Murray, thanks for your imaginative review, the first on Trip Advisor! You did not mention about the discount we did that cover more than your lost night.... anyway you lost that because you were in the wrong place.... we booked as usual the boat for you and i told you on the phone the same day.... About the rest.... what to say to an angry man that think about a loss of money? None of what you say is real out of the positive thinks that value for you only 1 point.... Thanks, we loved anyway to take care of you, to drive you around the island and everything as usual we do to our guest.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mirjam G wrote a review Jan 2017
Copenhagen, Denmark46 contributions50 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a real place for relaxation and you live in authentic bomboo huts that are quite equal to the ones you find in the 'real' jungle - just with more facilities. In the night you can listen to the sounds of the rain forrest. The manager Jake is very helpful in all aspects. We had forgotten a purse with an IPhone on the boat to Koh Mak and as soon as we told him he convinced us that nothing would ever get stolen on Koh Mak and he went to the small harbour and found it! He was so right - this island and especially Bamboo hideaway has and atmosphere of trust and flexibility: breakfast is served any time and the pool is never closed.
There can be things that are not working. Our aircon was dripping water when we came, but again Jake got it fixed right away.
I would surely come back.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2016
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: The resort is not on the beach, but if you are not afraid of riding a scooter you can easily get...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jaap W wrote a review Nov 2013
Lisse, The Netherlands5 contributions9 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Bamboo Hide Away is a small resort with eight small cottages of bamboo on poles. There is no direct access to the sea or beach. The resort has a small swimmingpool. The cottages are very simple with no refrigerator or coffee maker. There are no closets in the cottages and the two seats are hard and uncomfortable. Breakfast is included but very simple and far too little. Lunch and dinner are also minimal and expensive. The forest in the area is cut down and has been replaced by yet another rubber plantation. The dirt road that leads to the resort was very bad and not passable for bicycle or moped. There is no street lighting and an evening stroll is therefore impossible.
All in all a bad experience.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2013Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from bamboohideaway, Direttore at Bamboo Hideaway
Responded 7 Nov 2013
Caro Jaap, grazie per esserti unito alla tua amica Ivonne per fare una seconda brutta recensione su di noi..... la prima evidentemente non vi bastava. Venire in Thailandia con la coda dei monsoni è certamente irritabile, il nostro piccolo paradiso si trasforma, ma purtroppo questa non è Amsterdam! Nel nostro sito sono chiaramente scritti i servizi e con molte foto si può vedere come il nostro resort è fatto. Per la colazione non ci sono limiti, avete avuto quello che avete chiesto... Le cene le avete passate tutte da noi eppure ci sono molti altri ristoranti e taxi per raggiungerli.. evidentemente avrete avuto i vostri motivi nel volere abbondante cibo e vino italiano in Thailandia :-) Poichè avete esaurito le vostre recensioni non avremo altre occasioni per salutarvi, per cui vi inviamo i nostri auguri e saluti da Koh Mak.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
John B wrote a review Mar 2013
London, England, United Kingdom87 contributions140 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
High on the hillside, but only a few minutes walk from the nearest beach resort, Bamboo Hideaway is exactly that. Made of bamboo and hidden away.

[View our video here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KxZH9CXlxNc ]

Wherever you are on the island, whether you have just arrived by boat or are hopping from another resort, just give the hotel a call and a lift will be arranged to get you here.

Each bungalow is made entirely of bamboo and perched on stilts within landscaped gardens.

The rooms are spacious and immaculately looked after under the watchful and friendly eyes of Massimo and Francesca Melosoni, the Italian couple who took over this boutique hotel in September 2012.

The new owners have continued the hotel’s tradition of high standards and have brought an Italian twist to the restaurant menu – so although all the Thai favourites are still here you can also choose from a wide range of authentic Mediterranean dishes.

We opted for one of the two bungalows at the front of the resort, giving us a better view of the Gulf of Thailand and nearby Koh Kood. However the rooms at the back are of equally high standard – and the pool area is probably where you will spend most of your time anyway.

The pool isn’t huge, but it’s ultra-clean and big enough for the resort even if all the rooms are full. Which is quite often. We’d stayed at three places before this on and around Koh Mak and all had been very quiet – but Bamboo Hideaway had a steady stream of guests, showing that their reputation is working for them.

The restaurant also manages to pull in extra people in the evenings, with the fresh pasta and pizza menu proving popular for those tired of too much Thai cuisine. It’s a well-appointed and nicely furnished space that is open on all sides and adjoins the pool, giving a nice view out over the well-maintained gardens to the sea and the lights of Koh Kood beyond.

During the day, although there are no fridges in the rooms, you will find a couple of big bottles of water in the restaurant fridge with your room number on them.

Back in the rooms, and – as you will see from the photos – they really are all made of bamboo. Slippers are provided as the floor ‘boards’ are also just bamboo poles…but they are smooth and have rope caulking to plug the gaps so creepy-crawlies are kept to a minimum.
You may hear the nearby 'tuk-kae' cry of one of the local resident lizards through the night though… we thought this was a bird originally, but it turns out that it s one of these monster-sized geckoes (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3p0IhnX4hzc) .

Should you want to check out this video in the comfort of your room you will be able to because the free wi-fi covers the whole resort very well.

Bed quality – large, good mossie net and the mattresses are remarkably soft by Thai standards…meaning that that they are comfortably firm, but not the breezeblock variety you usually expect to find on these islands!

[ps. Thanks to The Escape Frame for the soundtrack to our holiday video (‘Our Hideout’) – acoustic version of it is here if you want to check them out too: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZVqNXgDckfw]
Read more
Date of stay: March 2013
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: If you intend spending any time in your room during the day or in the evening then go for a sea...
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
JenMoye wrote a review Nov 2012
3 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
A Italian couple, Massimo and Francesca, have recently taken over management of bamboo hidaway. Prior to arrival and throughout our 5nights stay their efforts ensured that my partner and I had an enjoyable and hassle free stay....e.g. booking our ferry, lifts to and from beaches, motorbike rental, the occasional cheeky sambuka and numerous food tastings! Massimo is a fabulous Italian cook... By far the best western food (and wine) we sampled throughout our trip in Asia. Numerous Thai oftens also available. We could have happily eaten here every night however we were keen to see what else the island had to offer.

Bamboo hidaway is not the most central of resorts on the island however this is probably what makes it feel so special and other resorts/ beaches/restaurants are easily accessible by bike and taxis. Very few of the resorts appeared to have swimming pools and we found it a real treat to jump in the pool after a day swimming in the salty sea.

The huts themselves are remarkably clean and spacious.

Koh Mak is a stunning island and although there is plenty to do ( kayaking, cooking classes, mountain biking, fishing trips) we were surprised how satisfied we were simply testing a few beaches and restaurants.

Great stay, amazing value for money given the quality of service we recieved. I would highly recommend to anyone keen to chill out and get spoilt!
Read more
Date of stay: November 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Geeske S wrote a review Nov 2012
Hong Kong4 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We just spent 5 days at Bamboo Hideaway and we had a wonderful time! The huts (there are only 8 of them) are definitely the most beautiful on the island; almost entirely made of bamboo and yet very spacious and comfortable - with stunning views on the sea. We did not mind that this resort is not located at a beach, cause it is easy to take a motorbike and go to all the beautiful beaches on this little island (all are public). And the swimming pool is great.
Massimo and Francesca are really friendly and careful hosts, and they make delicious Italian food too (try the risotto!). We have seen most of the other resorts and we still absolutely recommend staying at Bamboo Hideaway, because of it's authentic island atmosphere.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2012
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: the two huts closest to the ocean have the best view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
minksterInTheNorth wrote a review Dec 2019
Bangkok, Thailand42 contributions52 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
What a great time! From the onset Jake was fantastic, sorting out everything from transfers, to taxis, to recommendations as to where to eat. Wonderful host. Other staff were great too. Pool was fab and bungalow spacious. Will definitely return.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
alphonse b wrote a tip Nov 2017
2 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Not sure about which bungalow was the best or the worst, our was really good!"
Read full review
Mirjam G wrote a tip Jan 2017
Copenhagen, Denmark46 contributions50 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"The resort is not on the beach, but if you are not afraid of riding a scooter you can easily get around the island"
Read full review
Mark F wrote a tip Jan 2017
Perth, Australia3 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"ask for ocean view and you might get lucky"
Read full review
Matt w wrote a tip Dec 2016
Bangkok, Thailand3 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"quiet resort hidden from the world"
Read full review
John R wrote a tip Dec 2016
Hove, United Kingdom42 contributions29 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Sea view bungalow 8"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Ko Mak area.
PRICE RANGE
£30 - £37 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
bamboo hideaway hotel koh mak
LOCATION
ThailandTrat ProvinceKo Mak
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

BAMBOO HIDEAWAY - Updated 2024 Prices (Ko Mak, Thailand)

Frequently Asked Questions about Bamboo Hideaway
Which popular attractions are close to Bamboo Hideaway?
Nearby attractions include Ko Kham (2.5 miles), Koh Mak Temple (0.8 miles), and Koh Mak Museum (0.8 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Bamboo Hideaway?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and a pool.
What food & drink options are available at Bamboo Hideaway?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Bamboo Hideaway?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bamboo Hideaway?
Conveniently located restaurants include Food Art Hut @ Koh Mak, Q Bar & Restaurant, and Koh Mak Pizza.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Bamboo Hideaway?
Yes, guests have access to a pool during their stay.
Is Bamboo Hideaway located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the centre of Ko Mak.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bamboo Hideaway?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Italian, Thai, Norwegian, and Khmer.
Does Bamboo Hideaway have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.