We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Wynyard Hall

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Wynyard Hall
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

978 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Wynyard Hall
See the most recent reviews
Showing 976: English reviews
Billingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Lovely setting, historic hall with lovely grounds. Have been there many times and have been impressed but this time was a disaster. Poor service. Staff are inexperienced but pleasant, you are given two menus-a brasserie menu and a la carte but the whole party has to chose from one menu (they come from different kitchens...). It's not cheap and is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fred H
South Shields, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We got married here on Saturday 7th May. Overall it was a fantastic occasion. The venue is breathtaking, my wife fell in love with it the moment we first visited. It has a chapel located to one side which was an added benefit to us (being Christian). This was simply stunning. The conservatory room was also lovely for our evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank anthonykippax
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 May 2016

Spent an afternoon with my girlfriends in the Spa and it was absolutely delightful. The only disappointment was the huge dirty ceiling in the actual spa. It looks like they are having problems with either a leak or mould but either way it could do with improving Wynyard! It didn't however spoil our day and I would definitely return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill G
Co.Durham UK
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

I've enjoyed afternoon tea previously at Wynyard, but tonight went for a Brasserie meal. The venue is spectacular, by way of a positive. The food wasn't particularly hot, very basic and not of restaurant quality. The staff were pleasant but inattentive, furnishing us with food but being otherwise absent. They did respond appropriately to my feedback but had there been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Clarabella01
Reviewed 24 May 2016 via mobile

We arrived with my mother today and the attitude from arrival was simply terrible. The gentleman behind the desk who did the booking was simply cold. My wife arrived 20 mins early and he was not impressed. He wouldn't give a menu and left her and my mother who is 90 sat for 20 mins no explanation nothing. Then came...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RozaMorris
Stanley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2016

I posted a review of a visit to the Garden Cafe on 30 April 2016 earlier this month stating how disappointed I was with it - the manager replied to this review - the result of which was a second visit yesterday 14 May 2016. My main criticisms in my first review related to the use of plastic plates and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2016

We had lunch here yesterday and while the food was nice, it is very expensive. We also experienced very poor service, we had to wait a long time for someone to bring menus, we were not offered a wine menu, we were not offered bread and had to ask for this. I would expect much better service for a very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ABR27
Hartlepool
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Prawn cocktail-tiny serving with only 3 crevettes. My starter, goats cheese salad with beetroot and walnuts on menu. I WAS SERVED PEANUTS in mine no walnuts. I pointed it out to waiter, waitress and maitre d' who said they were Possibly cashew nuts! I assured him they were peanuts and said I was disappointed. No apology no offer of compensation....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosemarie B
BrianvanOosten, General Manager at Wynyard Hall, responded to this review

Dear Rosemarie B, Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments in regards to your recent visit. Dietary requirements are something which we take very seriously and I apologise that your dish was not accompanied by walnuts, I will take this matter up with the chefs. I can only apologise for this error and assure you that it...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2016 via mobile

My lovely daughters arranged for us to have Afternoon Tea recently and we had a very pleasant afternoon. The afternoon tea was lovely, everything freshly made and plenty of variety; lots of speciality teas to choose from. The dining room was very calm and organised; there was live background music too which was great. The staff were very friendly and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pauline1026
East Sussex
Reviewed 18 May 2016

The hotel is set in a fabulous 18th Century building beautifully restored. The staff were very attentive, the food good and the sommelier both knowledgeable and helpful. We were only there one night for a business trip and both would like to go back with our wives for a longer stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Neville421

467 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (461)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
View from Room (28)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (269)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Billingham
15.2 mi away
Seaham Hall
Seaham Hall
#1 of 1 in Seaham
1,256 reviews
13.5 mi away
Ramside Hall Hotel, Golf & Spa
13.1 mi away
Rockliffe Hall
Rockliffe Hall
#1 of 1 in Hurworth-on-Tees
2,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Headlam Hall Hotel Spa & Golf
11.7 mi away
Redworth Hall Hotel
Redworth Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Redworth
2,998 reviews
5.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hardwick Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Show More
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Wynyard Hall staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Wynyard Hall staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We were in room 4 which was spacious and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles Jet2ers, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 6 which faced the front driveway but we didn't hear any noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 698maureens, 17 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on south side overlook the lake, all rooms are quiet, probably because of old thick walls!”
 of 5 bubbles Lynne_720, 9 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Cottages were excellent for 3 couples”
 of 5 bubbles 720anon, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Duke of wellington”
 of 5 bubbles susancA970VR, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5