We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

290 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 290: English reviews
Ulverston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Absolutely fantastic wedding this weekend at Clarence House. We could not fault the staff they were all courteous and friendly and helpful. The bar staff were friendly and we had a good laugh with them. The wedding planner Carol was helpful and guided us through the day and was always approachable. The food was excellent and there was plenty of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
Clarencehsehotel, General Manager at Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Good evening Thank you for your wonderful review of the team and the services at the the hotel. We are always very proud to be asked to host a couples wedding day, especially when they are so wonderful to work alongside, as the both of you. Our wedding planner Carol ,takes tremendous pride in her role to ensure each wedding... More 

Cumbria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have visited here several times and have always had a pleasant time. But sadly the standards of food, service and surroundings have slipped. On arrival we sat in the small area nearest the bar. We were the only couple waiting to purchase a drink but had to wait 10 minutes before being served. Even though staff were popping in and... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank lalass
Clarencehsehotel, General Manager at Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Good evening I apologise that your visit to the hotel was not to the very high standards many of our returning guests enjoy. Your comments will be forwarded to the team to ensure future errors are not made. The entire team at the hotel remain committed to delivering the high level of service on which we have built our reputation... More 

Travellers are raving about these Dalton-in-Furness hotels

Level Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

First impressions mean a lot, especially in the food and drink industry. On arrival after asking for 2 gin and tonics, the barman held up 2 half pint glasses and asked if our drinks were ok in these as they had 'ran out of' other glasses as it was 'busy'😒. After reluctantly agreeing he then disappeared and magical found some... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank J7Y
Clarencehsehotel, General Manager at Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Good evening I am sorry to read your review after receiving great feedback from the newly married happy couple and guests. Our beautiful Bar has now received a stunning refurbishment and a new Bar manager has been appointed to ensure all guests receive their drinks correctly and to a standard on which we are noted and judged. Kind regards David... More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my friends decided we would try the Fizzy Friday afternoon here, 3 course for £19.95 which wasnt too bad, but there was only one choice for starter and you were not allowed anything other than that which for me not liking Tomato soup was a let down, the 2nd course was different things from the buffet, all very... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hails1605
Clarencehsehotel, General Manager at Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Good evening I am sorry to read that the renowned Fizzy Friday served at the hotel was not entirely to your satisfaction. As the foods served are changed each week with different beautiful dishes presented to meet all tastes we very much hope that you will return. Kind regards David Yip More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There's little more to add, except to say that Clarence House and their wedding planner, Carol, were most accommodating to all our hopes and dreams for the day. They worked tirelessly and seamlessly to ensure our day went without a hitch and I appreciate how much effort was put in by the whole team. It is wonderful to have such... More 

Helpful?
Thank nellie279377
Clarencehsehotel, General Manager at Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Good evening Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very honoured to have hosted your wedding day and that the day was "perfect" for you and your guests. The hotel welcomes many guests from the local community and will proudly continue delivering the great services our clientele thoroughly enjoy. Kind regards David Yip More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

the hotel was excellent me and my partner had a lovely buffet for tea which was very nice good selection of good quality food staff where very nice enjoyed a drink at the cosy bar really relaxed atmosphere then the room was excellent very spacious clean tidy bathroom lovely with spa bath bottled water biscuits coffee even iron and ironing... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank marksim28
Clarencehsehotel, General Manager at Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Good evening Thank you for your wonderful review concerning the team at the hotel and the services provided. We hope to see you soon. Kind regards David Yip More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2016 via mobile

Hi Vicky all in all I'm not happy with my stay at Clarence House hotel. After booking the executive suite well in advance I thought I would be in for a nice relaxing pleasurable stay after a long 200 mile drive from home. How wrong was I. When I arrived the hotel manager made me aware that my room had... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank Alex B
Clarencehsehotel, General Manager at Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Good evening I am very disheartened to read this review as despite the entire team delivering the excellent customer service for which we are renowned we could not placate your needs. An offer was made to find you alternative accommodation with a full refund which was declined. After your first visit to the hotel which resulted in considerable damage to... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2016 via mobile

We had such a lovely time at this hotel. We would particularly like to mention the friendly girl at reception (I think she's called Jordan). She was extremely accommodating. On arrival she managed to change or room to the bridal suite. She also gave us useful tips on where to go for activities and food. We would definitely return here... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Donna C
Clarencehsehotel, General Manager at Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Good evening Thank you for taking the time to post your review, I am very pleased that the team delivered the level of service many of our guests enjoy. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards David Yip More 

Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We meet up every two month _ old work mates now grand parents for a catchup. We live to come here so comfortable relaxed atmosphere. Friendly cheerful service.. Excellent food three course lunch on a Monday for around fifteen Pounds. _ no I am not kidding. Delicious carrot soup _ pan fried chicken with country trimmings _ sticky toffee pudding... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret Y
Clarencehsehotel, General Manager at Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Good evening Thank you for your very kind review it is always great to receive such positive feedback from guests who return to the hotel. The team look forward to welcoming your party back to the hotel. Kind regards David Yip More 

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

Arrived on a Saturday evening with our little dog to a slightly disorganised reception so after some faffing we were shown to our room. Unfortunately water was pouring through the ceiling so we were promptly moved, and as there were no spare rooms, were sent down the road to a lovely 3 bed cottage! Walked back up and had a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Mackenzie763
Clarencehsehotel, General Manager at Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant, responded to this review

Good evening I am sorry to learn that your recent visit to our award winning hotel was not to the high standards we deliver to our guests and the plumbing issue spoiled your stay. We very much hope you will consider returning to the hotel so we are able to deliver the customer service on which we are noted. Kind... More 

82 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (37)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dalton-in-Furness
0.2 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#1 of 2 in Dalton-in-Furness
225 reviews
1.4 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
599 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Furness Railway Hotel
The Furness Railway Hotel
#1 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Hotel
Premier Inn Barrow-In-Furness Ho...
#2 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
333 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
The Duke of Edinburgh Hotel
#4 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
447 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#9 of 13 in Barrow-in-Furness
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Every room in Clarence House is decorated and designed to an individual theme using rich fabrics and upholstery in deep burgundies and fresh creams.For a very special night to remember, the supremely comfortable beds boast thickly padded headboards and feather top mattresses that wrap you in an all-enveloping warmth. 'The best sleep ever' praise all the visitors.Bathrooms are beautifully appointed and include luxury toiletries, while carefully chosen pieces of furniture enhance the bespoke feel. The modern touch has not been neglected, and suites feature communications facilities and work areas for business guests.This inviting environment is more indulgent living than impersonal hotel stay. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Mount Pleasant | Dalton in Furness, Dalton-in-Furness LA15 8BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Dalton-in-Furness
Price Range: £88 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarence House Country Hotel And Restaurant
Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant Dalton-In-Furness, Cumbria
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Clarence House Country Hotel & Restaurant staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bridle suite”
 of 5 bubbles marksim28, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Book in good time, watch website for offers”
 of 5 bubbles 968lindan, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles Sally_b2010, 31 Jul 2016 | Read review
“we had a little annex off from the main hotel .. room 16”
 of 5 bubbles Jackie220262, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Only rooms in main house have wifi. Avoid room 18, the ceiling and stairs make it undesireable.”
 of 5 bubbles swoomer, 28 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay