We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 69: English reviews
Start your review of Waterberg Wilderness Lodge
 Click to rate
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The road from Windhoek ends here. The Waterberg Wilderness Lodge is very self contained indeed. Whilst we were there with Pack Safari with 7 people we were blacked out by heavy thunderstorms and everyone was in good mood all the same. Fortunately we had extra lights with us so that the excellent dinner could be savoured. This place lives off...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dag Ingemar N
Caroline R, Manager at Waterberg Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

All roads lead to the Waterberg. Why should have Rome a monopoly? ;-) Thank you very much for your positive comment about our staff and for making the best of the black out.

Swakopmund
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Amzing place with an amazing view! Even though we had a few struggles on the way there. We had an amazing time there. Friendly staff and great food. They have great offers/activities as well. Will most definitely visit again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nightshade96
Caroline R, Manager at Waterberg Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your "amazing" comment, which we will pass on to our staff. We are looking forward to welcome you again.

The Netherlands
Reviewed 25 August 2016 via mobile

I must say that the staff is very friendly and helpful. And the rooms are nice cool. But that's about it. It's the worst place we've stayed in Namibia. The rooms are sterile as in some institutions with an echo in both bathroom and sleeping room. No African feeling here. On the walls just a few photos of 100 years...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank travel61addict
Caroline R, Manager at Waterberg Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

We regret that the decoration and the food of our Waterberg Wilderness were not to your liking. The meat is fresh and comes from our own butchery. In January we invested in a large cold room in order to let the meat hang long enough even at times when all three lodges are fully booked. Kindly keep in mind that...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

We spent two nights staying at the Plateau Campsite - they must be ranked among our favourite in Namibia. Each pitch is beautifully secluded in the bush, with your very own toilet and shower. An extremely hospitable lady brings firewood (free!) round to your pitch daily. A small plunge pool is on site, to cool down in having walked the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aaron W
Caroline R, Manager at Waterberg Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive feedback which we also forwarded to our colleagues of Waterberg Plateau Campsite! Your team of Waterberg Wilderness private nature reserve

Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewed 7 August 2016

We were greeted warmly when we arrived. The staff are very helpful and are eager to help. Went on the rhino drive and came to about 20 meters from the rhino. Also saw various other animals on the game drive. The food is delicious but there is no options. There are also a couple of nice hiking trails around the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rohan K
Caroline R, Manager at Waterberg Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your remark concerning the guide which we mentioned on our last staff meeting. We constantly train our staff, including the guides, of course. We offer a set menu for dinner (starter, main course with side salad, dessert), but when notified right in advance our chefs are more than willing to prepare a vegetarian dish or replace the...

Sibrina Czech republic
Reviewed 5 August 2016

We spent 2 nights in Waterberg Anderson campground and it was absolutely unforgetable.There are only 4 campsites,ablution block with toilet and hot shower separated for each campsite.On site there is a very tasty drinking water and a shelter with table and benches. There is also a small pool. We have been there alone just with sounds of a bush.Very nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ludek S
Caroline R, Manager at Waterberg Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

We hope that you enjoyed your farewell to Namibia in our Waterberg Wilderness private nature reserve so much that you will come back again! Greetings from the Waterberg - Your team of Waterberg Andersson Camp

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Spectacular situation in the valley below the plateau. Excellent rooms, spacious and comfortable. Food quality excellent, staff friendly and professional. This is the first time I have stayed here in many visits to Namibia and will definitely stay again. Excellent seeing he white rhinos close up and personal!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Northerner052
Caroline R, Manager at Waterberg Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Wonderful comment to read - thank you! Cordial greetings from the Waterberg - Your team of Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

Well this was a real find. It was the last stop on our tour which thus far had been desert with quick stops in Windhoek and Swakopmund. The desert landscape is gone, and here are huge lush trees, grasslands, amazing scenery of a different kind. It is set beneath a ridge in the valley and smaller wildlife run all through...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara G
Caroline R, Manager at Waterberg Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Namibia is indeed a land of contrast - and so is the Waterberg at the edge of the Kalahari, with its springs on its eastern slopes, one of which happens to gush at the end of the valley of our Waterberg Wilderness private nature reserve. This is why we have a lot of birds and game... Kind regards from the...

Roodepoort, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewed 20 July 2016

The lodge is situated in a beautiful area and the staff is very helpful. The rooms are beautiful, but I would have appreciated a double bed rather than the single beds we had. Unfortunately this seemed to be standard for all the places we stayed at in Namibia. The meals were limited in selection and I stood up from table...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ronald K
Caroline R, Manager at Waterberg Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your remark concerning the guide which we mentioned in our staff meeting in the first week of August. We trained the majority of our staff from scratch and constantly offer further training. In June we had an expert for local plants giving lectures to our guides. We regret that you seemed to have expected an a la...

Reviewed 28 June 2016

Our room had the most amazing views, plenty of birds by the little pool and was lovely and private. However instead of a double bed there were two singles pushed together and there was a gap between them, not very comfortable. We were there for two nights and the first evening the only choice on the menu was beef, I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lizzie88
Caroline R, Manager at Waterberg Wilderness Lodge, responded to this review

We are sorry for your disappointment about the twin beds. It is a standard in Namibia: A lot of guests sharing a room appreciate to have their own bed. After your remark we added a note concerning twin beds on our website and in the fact sheets for users to download. Waterberg Wilderness Lodge can accommodate a maximum of 24...

108 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (104)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (11)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (45)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otjiwarongo
0.0 mi away
Aloegrove Safari Lodge
Aloegrove Safari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Otjiwarongo
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Waterberg Guest Farm
Waterberg Guest Farm
#1 of 2 in Okakarara
242 reviews
0.0 mi away
Frans Indongo Lodge
Frans Indongo Lodge
#2 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Okonjima Plains Camp
Okonjima Plains Camp
#1 of 10 in Otjiwarongo
267 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bush Pillow Guest House
Bush Pillow Guest House
#3 of 10 in Otjiwarongo
147 reviews
0.0 mi away
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
Otjiwa Safari Lodge
#4 of 15 in Otjiwarongo
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The buildings of Waterberg Wilderness Lodge shelter in a long valley in the midst of the Waterberg mountain range. Built from red Waterberg sandstone they nestle under enormous old trees. The atmosphere in the mature, well-kept garden with its two pavilions, many cool and shady places and an immured spring water basin lined by giant bamboo is idyllic. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waterberg Wilderness Lodge

Address: D2512, Waterberg Wilderness, Otjiwarongo, Namibia
Region: Namibia > Otjozondjupa Region > Otjiwarongo
Price Range: £145 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterberg Wilderness Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Waterberg Wilderness Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterberg Wilderness Lodge Namibia/Otjiwarongo
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Waterberg Wilderness Lodge staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay for 2 nights”
 of 5 bubbles 137dorisw, 1 Aug 2015 | Read review
“If you like lush landscapes, trees, flowering bushes, and the feel of old colonial grandeur, book into the Wilderness Lodge. If you like open spaces, fantastic views, book Valley or Plateau lodge”
 of 5 bubbles KarinB792, 5 Apr 2015 | Read review
“Choose chalet no.m4 on plateau as first choice, wifi in restaurant only.”
 of 5 bubbles AnnaLast, 5 Jan 2015 | Read review
“the best room is no 10. a detached cottage.”
 of 5 bubbles schliek, 3 Sep 2013 | Read review
“There are 3 areas to stay in: Waterberg Wilderness Lodge, Waterberg Plateau Lodge, and Waterberg Plateau Campsite & Andersson Camp. We stay in the Plateau Lodge, and never saw the Wilderness Lodge. My adult son camped, and we hiked between our lodge and his campsite and then back. As noted, you are truly in the wilderness, and although we were told later that baboons are fearful of humans and will generally stay away - be extremely careful while hiking and when you are outside, and always have a contingency plan.”
  • Night view from our lodge patio, day view is stunning
 of 5 bubbles JonKamp, 3 Sep 2013 | Read review
5 of 5