We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
05/11/2017 06/11/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Sani Lodge Backpackers

    Sani Pass Road, Sani Pass 3257, South Africa
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    05/11/201706/11/2017
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sani PassSee available hotels in Sani Pass
    Traveller (89)
    Room & Suite (24)
    Dining (8)
    Champagne Castle Hotel
    910 reviews
    #1 of 5 hotels in Winterton
     
    Drakensberg Sun Resort
    935 reviews
    #2 of 5 hotels in Winterton
     
    The Nest Hotel
    583 reviews
    #3 of 5 hotels in Winterton
     
    Castleburn Leisure Resort
    153 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Underberg
     
    Overview
    • Excellent49%
    • Very good35%
    • Average13%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “value for money” (11 reviews)
    “day tour” (8 reviews)
    “the kitchen” (11 reviews)
    Free Internet
    Free Parking
    Pool
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Restaurant
    Suites
    Bar/Lounge
    Kitchenette
    Laundry Service
    4.0 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    {"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null}
    Champagne Castle Hotel
    910 reviews
    #1 of 5 hotels in Winterton
     
    Drakensberg Sun Resort
    935 reviews
    #2 of 5 hotels in Winterton
     
    The Nest Hotel
    583 reviews
    #3 of 5 hotels in Winterton
     
    Castleburn Leisure Resort
    153 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Underberg
     
    Write a Review
    Reviews (191)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 152 reviews

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    I've meant to stay at Sani Lodge for ages when passing through the area and did for the first time recently. What an awesome spot. If you love nature, this is one of those special places to stay at - it feels like some of...More

    Thank RichardWriter
    Response from TOFF1111, Owner at Sani Lodge BackpackersResponded 4 weeks ago

    Hi and thanks so much for taking time to offer feedback on your stay with us. The Drakensberg mountains are indeed majestic and even after living here running our Lodge for 25 years, we still feel privileged to enjoy daily immersion in natural surrounds, sightings...More

    Reviewed 31 August 2017

    This place is dedicated to being eco-friendly and a benefit to its community. Sani Lodge share all profits with all members of their saff and go to great lengths to be green. Not only that but they provide an amazing facility for self catering (also...More

    Thank emiVietnam_australia
    Response from TOFF1111, Owner at Sani Lodge BackpackersResponded 10 September 2017

    Thank you for your feedback . We are always delighted when the manner in which we conduct our business is recognized and appreciated. It also reinforces the truism that " being passionate about doing one's bit in one's direct environment and community has a ripple...More

    Reviewed 7 August 2017

    It's clean, affordable and the cottage offered a stunning view of the mountains! Drop your bags here and drive up Sani Pass to have lunch at the Highest Pub in Africa. Unfortunately, there was no snow, but still freezing! Pack warmly because the temperature drops...More

    Thank Saamiya A
    Response from TOFF1111, Owner at Sani Lodge BackpackersResponded 8 August 2017

    Thank you for your feedback from your stay in our Honeyguide cottage. We hope you will return when there is snow on the mountain tops!

    Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

    We booked a 3 days hiking trip in Lesotho through Sani lodge. It was a way to se the culture in Lesotho and it was also a good hike. We did it in the winter so one of the nights it was minus 12 degrees....More

    Thank hjalte v
    Response from TOFF1111, Owner at Sani Lodge BackpackersResponded 7 August 2017

    Mid winter is the coldest time to hike at over 3000 metres altitude. Glad you enjoyed the cultural aspect and reaching the highest point in Africa south of Kilimanjaro with our guide. We are however wondering why you only rated us three ?

    Reviewed 14 July 2017

    This place has very nice rooms at a very good value. I stayed in a single room and a dorm. The surrounding area is beautiful and I did a hike into the foothills of Ndlovini...I was the only person out there (make sure you bring...More

    Thank Christopher S
    Response from TOFF1111, Owner at Sani Lodge BackpackersResponded 1 August 2017

    Thank you for taking the time to review Sani Lodge Backpackers. Yes we really are as we advertise ,based in a pristine rural location bordering onto a World Heritage Site called uKhahlamba Drakensberg Park . In fact the only Backpackers to border onto a World...More

    Champagne Castle Hotel
    910 reviews
    #1 of 5 hotels in Winterton
     
    Drakensberg Sun Resort
    935 reviews
    #2 of 5 hotels in Winterton
     
    The Nest Hotel
    583 reviews
    #3 of 5 hotels in Winterton
     
    Castleburn Leisure Resort
    153 reviews
    #1 of 3 hotels in Underberg
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Pool
    • Free Parking
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Free Internet
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
    • Laundry Service
    • Things to do
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$13 - US$28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms ,
    • Suites ,
    • Kitchenette
    • Number of rooms
    • 18
    • Location
    • South Africa >
    • KwaZulu-Natal >
    • Sani Pass
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (89)
    Room & Suite (24)
    Dining (8)
    Pool & Beach (2)
    Hotel & Grounds (131)
    Bathroom (2)
    Family and Play Areas (1)
    Nearby
    Castleburn Leisure Resort
    153 reviews
    10.96 miles away
     
    The Nest Hotel
    583 reviews
    47.74 miles away
     
    Champagne Castle Hotel
    910 reviews
    42.56 miles away
     
    Drakensberg Sun Resort
    935 reviews
    45.40 miles away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Moorcroft Manor Restaurant
    95 reviews
    5.77 miles away
    Lemon Tree Bistro
    439 reviews
    9.29 miles away
    Nip Inn
    6 reviews
    20.97 miles away
    Picklepot Cafe
    38 reviews
    34.49 miles away
    Nearby Attractions
    The Himeville Museum
    60 reviews
    6.83 miles away
    Sani Pass
    477 reviews
    11.13 miles away
    Wild Sky Paragliding
    5 reviews
    21.53 miles away
    Stormy Hill Trails & Tails
    29 reviews
    29.80 miles away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    Anna-Marie P
    10 June 2017|
    Answer
    Response from TOFF1111 | Property representative |
    Sorry no pets allowed here due to duiker and other wildlife on the property.
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Book early, only a limited amount of double beds available."
    Read review
    "Rondavels are quiet, cool, clean and peaceful"
    Read review
    "Honeyguide Cottage has the best view and sleeps 6 people."
    Read review
    "There are various options. We chose the rooms sharing a bathroom. You can choose chalets or rooms with your..."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing