We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Clive

Save
Share
Bromfield, Ludlow SY8 2JR England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 10 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Traveller (73)
Dining (18)
Room & Suite (15)
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
  • Contactless check-in
Read more
Updated 25/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 25/06/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
17 En-suite bedrooms situated in period outbuildings tastefully converted to provide contemporary accommodation. Bedrooms are very well equipped and some suitable for families. With an emphasis on fresh local produce the Clive Restaurant is renowned for locally sourced food, two AA Rosettes and entries in the Good Food and Michelin Guide. The Bar offers less formal dining and lighter menu. Located in Bromfield just 2 miles north of Ludlow with ample parking.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Free breakfast
Bar / lounge
Conference facilities
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary instant cofffee
Show more
Room features
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Seating area
Coffee / tea maker
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Telephone
Bottled water
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Complimentary toiletries
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Charming
Languages Spoken
English, Hungarian, Polish
677Reviews2Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 348
  • 200
  • 83
  • 32
  • 14
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Caroline wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom177 contributions16 helpful votes
Loving the new make over and the food is still just as delicious. We had 3 courses and drinks for under £40 per person. Nicely spaced out tables and good Covid processes in place. We don’t get to get together often being from all over the UK now but we always love our girly catch ups at the Clive. See you again soon.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Dana Tase, General Manager at The Clive
Responded 26 Oct 2020
Dear Caroline H, Thank you for your lovely review! We're glad to hear that had a delicious meal with us, and you chose us for your catch up. We hope to welcome you back to The Clive Arms soon. Best wishes Emily Trainee Manager
Read more
El1232 wrote a review Oct 2020
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom4 contributions1 helpful vote
We booked this after seeing the great reviews but were very disappointed. Maybe it was just the room we had which was right on the car park whereas the others seemed to be round a courtyard. The room itself was fine but the setting spoiled it for us - you would have to keep the shutters down on the glass doors or look out at the car park. It felt like a motel especially as it’s situated slightly back from a busy main road. As such I feel it’s overpriced; unfortunately we were unable to obtain a refund. I can’t comment on anything else such as food or service as we didn’t actually stay but don’t want anyone else to have the same experience.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Dana Tase, General Manager at The Clive
Responded 16 Oct 2020
Good afternoon El1232, Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I am sorry to hear that you did not stay with us. Had we been given the opportunity to speak to you in person on the day, we would have done our upmost to ensure that you had an enjoyable stay. We do trust that our guests check the location before they make a reservation, however I apologise that this was not clear when you made the reservation. We do hope that you will give us the chance to welcome you at The Clive Arms! Kindest regards Dana Tase Manager
Read more
Curiosity623101 wrote a review Oct 2020
Warwickshire, United Kingdom9 contributions13 helpful votes
Room was a great size and really clean and nice. The food was good and sensibly priced. Nice bar area for a chill out. The best of all were the staff who were really friendly and attentive. We would happily go back
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Dana Tase, General Manager at The Clive
Responded 13 Oct 2020
Dear Curiosity623101, Thank you for an excellent review! We are happy to hear that you had a lovely stay with us. Looking forward to welcoming you to The Clive Arms in the future. Best wishes Emily Trainee Manager
Read more
lee p wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions
My wife and I stayed in the Plymouth suite at the Clive. The room was beautiful.. the food was fantastic and the staff more friendly and helpful than any I've previously some across anywhere. Thank you for a great stay!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Dana Tase, General Manager at The Clive
Responded 13 Oct 2020
Dear P6195GTleep, Thank you for a lovely review! We think the Plymouth suite is beautiful too, definitely a great addition from our refurb last year! Hopefully we get to welcome you to The Clive Arms again soon. Best wishes Emily Trainee Manager
Read more
Strachanna wrote a review Sep 2020
Banchory, United Kingdom68 contributions29 helpful votes
Way back, pre Covid, we booked a couple of nights for the Ludlow Food Festival, which was cancelled, but as we'd planned a travelling week coming down from Scotland, we decided to visit anyway. We were allocated the Teme bedroom, which is the one in the photo, and it was delightful, with lovely furnishings and a great shower room, so we were very comfortable. I would agree with a previous comment about the lack of tea bags! We ate dinner on both evenings and although my husband's lamb rump was fine but nothing special, mine was very fatty and chewy. Also, the three small medallions did not seem adequate for a main course. Desserts more than made up for the fairly small portions of food each evening and overall the food was tasty and well presented. Breakfasts over in the cafe were excellent and I really enjoyed the eggs Benedict each morning, [extra Hollandaise no problem] plus the complimentary coffee. Being well fed and enjoying the sunshine, we strolled round the food hall on the site and stocked up on interesting deli food. It was a Sunday and lots of folk seemed to come to the cafe for breakfast followed by shopping at the food hall. We also looked in at the Art Gallery and Garden Centre. The staff in the whole complex are really friendly and attentive, which made up for the strangeness of masked service and sanitisers everywhere! It was a very enjoyable visit, with Ludlow itself only a few miles away with good parking if you arrive early.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Dana Tase, General Manager at The Clive
Responded 3 Oct 2020
Dear Strachanna2013 Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. Hope to welcome you back soon. Best wishes Emily
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$120 - US$186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the clive restaurant with rooms hotel bromfield
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandShropshireLudlowBromfield
NUMBER OF ROOMS
17
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Clive
Which popular attractions are close to The Clive?
Nearby attractions include St Laurence's Church (2.3 miles), Stokesay Castle (4.6 miles), and Land of Lost Content Museum (4.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Clive?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at The Clive?
Top room amenities include a minibar, a flat screen TV, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at The Clive?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at The Clive?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Clive?
Conveniently located restaurants include Vaughans Sandwich Bar, The Fish House, and Bistro 7 of Ludlow.
Is The Clive located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 miles away from the centre of Bromfield.
Does The Clive offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and conference facilities during their stay.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Clive?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Polish, and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Clive?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Laurence's Church (2.3 miles), Stokesay Castle (4.6 miles), and Stokesay Court (2.6 miles).
Is The Clive accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.