Pollards Inn Hotel
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.

Pollards Inn Hotel

Village Square South Wirral, Willaston on the Wirral CH64 2TU England
Traveller (27)
Room & Suite (6)
Pollards Partys !!
Dining (4)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.0
#1 of 2 B&Bs in Willaston on the Wirral
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Value
A charming 16th Century hotel, bar and restaurant. Nestled in the picturesque village of Willaston with beautiful gardens and outdoor dining. A fabulous playground for the children and delicious gastro pub menu to compliment fine wines and local ales. A beautiful venue for the whole family with the Sunday Service Menu being an absolute treat!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Patio
Kids' outdoor play equipment
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Vending machine
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Quaint
Charming
241Reviews3Q+A24Room tips

Reviews
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.

Traveller rating
  • 118
  • 49
  • 32
  • 25
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
steve r wrote a review May 2021
Wirral, United Kingdom52 contributions45 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Finally had my Sunday Roast fix at one of our favourite eateries on the Wirral. Service and Ambience as good as ever! Pollards has undergone some renovations including a new conservatory and outside covered area, in the beautifully manicured gardens. It was raining when we ate, and to be fair it probably lifted all the fleura to another level. 6 of us eating, starters were Fish Tacos and Patè, which was served with fresh tortillas and bread respectively. So tasty, I've missed thise Taco's! 5 had Roasts, with one Fish and Chips. All Roasts beautifully presented with fresh vegetables, and plenty of meat covered with a massive Yorkshire Pud, and oodles of gravy, we were given more gravy in a boat, at the table. We couldn't manage a pudding, but finished with a selection of coffees. Service was special from all the well presented staff, and nothing was too much trouble. Thanks to all, and I'll see you all soon.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sue m wrote a review Feb 2020
Chester, United Kingdom20 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Pleasant setting and nice staff but, after scanning the menu and speaking to our waitress, it became apparent that choices for those with a wheat intolerance were few ... not even a dedicated deep fat fryer for genuine homemade chips (rather than wheat-coated frozen ones). Customers with allergies must be a pain in the neck for catering staff but, come on, simple chips should be an option for all?!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BAMMOSWIFE wrote a review Oct 2023
Manchester72 contributions28 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I feel I need to review the hotel and restaurant separately as they were two very different experiences.
Hotel check in, room, amenities and breakfast was nice.
Restaurant was poorly managed, it took us ages to be noticed asking for the bill. Once it came there was an automatic 10% service charge added which for poor service was a on absolute joke! The food was certainly not worth the price. I had “home made” steak mushroom and ale pie with chips and don’t believe for one minute it was home made. It was just like a shop bought individual pie with two small pieces of meat and no sign of any mushrooms. The chips were undercooked and the jug of gravy filling almost half the plate was watery.
Hotel worth a visit but find somewhere else to eat!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from C Pollards, Owner at Pollards Inn Hotel
Responded 30 Oct 2023
We are really disappointed to read your review and would like to apologise if we have underperformed. You are completely correct regarding the pie and given the wrong information by our staff member. We have just changed our menu and are running down old stock to allow for new and home cooked food due to a new Head Chef starting with us. Please feedback directly to us if you are dissatisfied so we can address all issues immediately. With our best wishes, Pollards Inn.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MRGTRAVEL2001 wrote a review Sept 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom109 contributions47 helpful votes
+1
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked a trip here for two nights, prepaid through Hotels.com.

When we arrived there was a bit of confusion and we were shown to Room 1. Ten minutes later the manager arrived asking us for payment again saying they did not deal with hotels.com. we had our printed confirmation which he took away returning 30 minutes later to say there was some confusion between Expedia and the booking we made. While not impolite, he wasn't particularly friendly and warm about the matter, we felt very uncomfortable.

Sadly, the room wasn't great. Walls are painted in a very drab brown, quite dull. The bathroom was large but very cold and almost inhospitable with poor fixtures.

I don't think anyone was expected, the room didn't have towels, wasn't particularly clean with a lot of cobwebs, marks on the walls, doors, the light pull cords are very dirty and need a good bleaching. The toothbrush holder was extremely dirty inside the receptacle. There was only one bedside lamp. Power points are lacking and not particularly accessible, there was an extension cable with missing plug in the bottom drawer fir some reason. Overall lighting isn't great. Few channels work on Freeview.

Soundproofing is very weak. We were above the bar and in particular the kitchen swing door which constantly squeaked very loudly. When the next room's bathroom was being used we could hear water running and the venting fan droned very loudly.

View from the window was directly obscured by the slate roof above the bar below. All other bedrooms had a more open view: so stay in rooms 2 -4 if you do choose to stay here.

The ceiling was badly marked in quite a few places with water ingress stains.

Outside garden seating mixed, some very good, some badly in need of repair due to wood rot and scruffy paint work.

On a positive note the bed is very comfortable, the electric shower in the bathroom had very good water pressure, breakfast is excellent. Ample car parking. Staff generally very friendly after our initial arrival. Well maintained gardens. Lovely setting in the village.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Avoid room 1 as it has a very poor and obscured view
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Irene S wrote a review Aug 2022
3 contributions2 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I normally don't like leaving a bad review, but after a visit with the family for a meal feel a few comments justify in being made, the service was just acceptable, we asked for a wine list but were told they didn't have one so just ordered a dry white (£23), but on clearing tables around us a people left a wine list was placed on all the tables. Whilst we are all aware of price increases £3.35 for a glass of coke and £2.55 for a small bottle of sparkling water is exsessive. The food is also overpriced for what it is, beef short ribs was nice but short would be a correct way to describe them, slaw covered to disguise the actual size, chicken burger was very nondescriped, considering the charge for food here, neither the food or the service came up to scratch, would not return, shame because the pub inside and out is nicely laid out
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Melanie P wrote a review May 2021
4 contributions
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived on time, shown to our picnic bench outside, under the chipboard pergola. I was able to touch the bench next to ours. They’d packed them in.
Our waiter failed to acknowledge our existence whilst we were ordering, choosing not to greet us, look at us, confirm our drinks order or tell us the cost (as payment requested after ordering). 2 out of the advertised 10 beers were available. Drinks order arrived and one sent back as not what was ordered.
Menu limited and the prices were ridiculous. £19 for 10oz steak (not organic or outdoor or even British as far as we could tell), but the price does not include chips (which were an additional £3.50) or indeed the service charge (which is 10% on all food ordered). Steak and chips would cost you a handsome £25. We didn’t have that.
A filled baguette (mini roll in anyone else’s language) was £9, plus 13 individual fries plus a salad garnish. With the service charge added, it was a tenner.

We ordered the food to the waitress, the card machine failed, twice, resulting in us scrabbling around for other cards and cash, but eventually went through with the 3rd machine after the cardholder was required to go into the pub to receive WiFi for the machine.

We then ordered 3 desserts, one of which was sent back as it was incorrect. The coffee didn’t come with milk and was very small.

Toilets were fine, dated and old and soap dispensers not working, but clean.

Hugely disappointing service, totally not worth the money spent, but at least the food was nice.

Third time visiting, they still haven’t fixed the inherent problems of wanting to be something that they are not. My advice would be to train staff better, and reduce prices or pull up quality.

Will not go again.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Neil C wrote a review May 2021
9 contributions17 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My family and I visited on a Sunday afternoon for some food and drinks. knowing we are enduring unusual times with food only served outdoors, I totally expected a reduced menu. However, I didn't expect my food to be served to the wrong table! This meant that 3 of us received our food whilst I was left with watching the guy on the table adjacent to us enjoy my pie and chips. To make matters worse my dinner arrived 20 minutes after everyone else had finished and when it did arrive I received extra onion rings that belonged to someone else.... at this point if I didn't laugh I would have cried.
in hindsight I can see how mistake happened; the tables were not numbered and the server who served our food was not the same person who took our order. Yes it was a genuine mistake but it is down to bad management and a lack of training. For instances, the table that received our food had sat down after us and hadn't yet received their drinks when the food arrived. An experienced or trained server would have realised this and a decent manager would have had the foresight to number tables or at least designate the same server to both take the order and deliver the food to the table.
The Manager did apologise to me and credited my meal off the bill, however it wasn't about the money I just wanted to eat a meal with my family.
I live locally, so I would return but only for drinks.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pat Scott wrote a review Nov 2022
1 contribution
1.0 of 5 bubbles
On the 13th October higher Bebington ladies bowling club had their annual end of season dinner at Pollards Inn. Our catering manager organised this event booking a private room costing the club £100. On arrival we found that the room had not been set up for us to a standard that we had been advised to expect. There was one member of staff to serve pre dinner drinks and to serve at table, no complaint there as the waitress tried her best. Our complaint is, that considering the amount of members more staff should have been allocated to serve. There was little cutlery, the food was cool, I informed the manager of this but he completely ignored me. We paid £30 per head plus drinks etc, so it was not to be sneezed at.

Our catering manager has email the Pollards Inn of our disappointment, but the reply was

‘comments have been duly noted’.

Avoid at all times!!!

Pat Scott
Thursday Captain
Higher Bebington Ladies Bowling Club
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Cara Kimpton, Owner at Pollards Inn Hotel
Responded 8 Nov 2022
Dear Pat We always deal swiftly and professionally when receiving a complaint and feel disappointed you have chosen this route which independent businesses such as ours, find very damaging, particularly in these times of recession. Here is the real response to your complaint sent prior to your review above, which we find to be inflammatory and inaccurate. Furthermore, your 'Catering Manager' stated, and I quote "If I can deliver a positive note, there were certainly no complaints about the actual food on the night". > On 22 Oct 2022, at 00:08, <cara@pollardsinn.co.uk> wrote: > Dear Jackie, > > Firstly, I want to start by thanking you for your frank account and to apologise for your disappointing experience. > > I have taken the time to request reports from all members of staff on duty during your event, to determine where the service fell short of our normal standard. There are varying accounts from the team, however I have identified that there was a little confusion over the timing of the drinks service, and the server wrongly anticipated you not wanting them until your food arrived. Not placing wine gently, missing serving spoons and generally disorganised is a very disappointing read as these standards are practiced consistently through training and using only experienced waiting staff. I believe the main restaurant was extremely busy which took Richards' time however this should not have impacted your service. > > We have an excellent reputation for events at Pollards, and have genuinely not had a complaint of this nature for possibly two years or more, which is a huge blow to the whole team. We are continually tested through 'mystery shoppers', who will come and assess everything from our booking system, advertising, food, service, and cleanliness without our knowledge; I am proud to say a report received only last week was scored at a 93% success rate. > > Notwithstanding all the above, we fully accept your complaint and will revisit our processes and standards to ensure that this does not happen again. Whilst we are unable to turn the clock back and revisit your event, we would like the opportunity to put this right in some way should you wish to visit us again. > > My sincerest apologies, > Cara Kimpton
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Lesleykaren89 wrote a review May 2021
Wirral, United Kingdom17 contributions15 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We were a group of 6 who also visited on Sunday afternoon 9th May. We ordered drinks and which came reasonably quickly. We were sat in the barn and even though they had heaters, they kept switching off and we were constantly having to get up and turn them on again. We placed our food order and there were 2 other tables who ordered approximately the same time. After over an hour there was no sign of food and we asked them for an update and we were told it was on its way. Food arrived for 5 of our party after 2 hours -we only ordered main courses, bearing in mind we only had a 2 hour slot at our table. I had ordered a curry and waited for another 10 mins and then asked again if my meal coming out and was asked did I order the Veggie or Chicken curry, so it was obviously forgotten. It arrived and it was a veggie soup made up of peppers and onion and luke warm. I sent it back and was told that they would prepare another one which came, but again it was the same and cold. I did return this again but the server responded " well we have done a new one for you" to which I said okay but its still cold. It eventually arrived hot and with tofu included now. The other two tables at the side of us also had the same terrible service and complained too. The Manageress was very apologetic and we did get desserts on the house which we had to ask for them to be free because of the poor service. Pollards have a very limited menu at the moment, so you would think it would not be difficult to have food prepared and delivered to customers in a timely manner. I would only hope it was just a particularly bad day and not a sign of their future service as if it is they really need to have a good review of their food service. I love the whole setting so may only go for drinks and crisps in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
angela612015 wrote a review Aug 2020
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom10 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed for 1 night this week and never again. Not much covid isolating , staff with no face coverings, People allowed to wander everywhere, the beer garden I suppose was the safest pleace. Our evening meal was poorly cooked, we waited at least 30 minutes and that was at 6.30pm. Breakfast - well - we were told when we sat down
they only offered cooked breakfast which one of us did not want after the dreadful cooked meal night before. After complaining to waitress she did eventually offer a packet of crunchy nut cornflakes, which, as a diabetic was not really good. Poor.
Went to get luggage, they locked us out and we couldnt get back in, just as well we
had all what we needed. Room dark and old fashioned, broken toilet seat, only towels for one person. To top it all it was extremely expensive. Be warned.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jeannette M asked a question Jun 2021
Swanwick, United Kingdom8 contributions15 helpful votes
Can dogs join their family in the breakfast room?
Jeannette M asked a question Jun 2021
Swanwick, United Kingdom8 contributions15 helpful votes
Can my daughter join us for breakfast as she lives close by?
Priya L asked a question Jan 2019
West Kirby, United Kingdom22 contributions21 helpful votes
Is this place dog friendly?
Answer from Debzb60
Greasby, United Kingdom297 contributions163 helpful votes
Hi yes I’m sure it is, as my friend commented on that and said she’d come with her dog . Enjoy.
Barry C wrote a tip Aug 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Equip yourself with some anti wasp spray, otherwise sit back and enjoy good service and lovely staff."
Read full review
RichieTravel wrote a tip Mar 2023
Wirral, United Kingdom29 contributions8 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Plenty of parking and a safe play area for children"
Read full review
Gareth J wrote a tip Feb 2023
8 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Well signposted, in the centre of a small village with ample local amenities, a short distance from the M53 and North wales link road."
Read full review
David T wrote a tip Jun 2022
Bebington, United Kingdom2 contributions4 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Look elsewhere for more reasonably priced food and drinks"
Read full review
djes7 wrote a tip Sept 2021
Wirral, United Kingdom109 contributions63 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Lots of parking, great for adults and kids have a brilliant play area"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Willaston on the Wirral area.
PRICE RANGE
£80 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCheshireWillaston on the Wirral
NUMBER OF ROOMS
4
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

POLLARDS INN HOTEL - Updated 2024 Reviews, Photos & Prices

Frequently Asked Questions about Pollards Inn Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Pollards Inn Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Lady Lever Art Gallery (4.4 miles), Port Sunlight Museum (4.4 miles), and Deeside Flight Simulators (3.7 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Pollards Inn Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Pollards Inn Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Pollards Inn Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Pollards Inn Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Harvester, MAVI Mediterranean BBQ, and Heswall Tandoori.
Is Pollards Inn Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.09 miles away from the centre of Willaston on the Wirral.
Are pets allowed at Pollards Inn Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Pollards Inn Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Bishops Wood and the Covenanters Graveyard (3.2 miles).
All Willaston on the Wirral HotelsWillaston on the Wirral Hotel DealsHotels near Pollards Inn Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire