The Museo delle Antichità Egizie is the only museum other than the...read more
The Museo delle Antichità Egizie is the only museum other than the Cairo Museum that is dedicated solely to Egyptian art and culture. Many international scholars, since the decipherer of Egyptian hieroglyphs Jean-François Champollion, who came to Turin in 1824, spend much time pouring over the collections. It was Champollion who famously wrote, “The road to Memphis and Thebes passes through Turin”.The collections that make up today’s Museum, were enlarged by the excavations conducted in Egypt by the Museum’s archaeological mission between 1900 and 1935 (a period when finds were divided between the excavators and Egypt).The Egyptian Museum in Turin has begun 2009 an important project which wants to widen spaces in order to enhance the collections through modern museographical and museological criteria. The Museum will be open all over the period of restoration and the New Egyptian Museum inauguration is scheduled for the year 2015.