The Leawood Pump House was built in 1849 to supply water to the...read more
The Leawood Pump House was built in 1849 to supply water to the Cromford Canal, built some 50 years previously. It is a Grade II* listed building located a little along the canal towpath from High Peak Junction, it stands to a height of 45 feet (14 m) on the right bank of the River Derwent, at the end of the Derwent Aqueduct, and has a 95-foot (29 m) chimney stack with a cast-iron cap. The pumphouse worked continuously from 1849 until 1944 when the canal closed. It was restored in 1979 by the Cromford Canal Society and is run periodically.