We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Balcony - Picture of Palm Bay Resort, Long Island

Photo: Balcony

From Review : Trouble in paradise of Palm Bay Resort
Trouble in paradise
We bought the picture
We bought the picture
Trouble in paradise
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Trouble in paradise
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests 
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
raaajveeer13 wrote a review May 2017
Brisbane, Australia8 contributions1 helpful vote
+1
Okay, to begin with not impressed with transfers from Hamilton island to Long island. Words to describe it >>> rip off, unaffordable, expensive. $300 for one way transfers to top it off no restaurant at the resort, bring your own food from basic cooking resources, there are no
Read more
Date of stay: May 2017
Response from Palm B, Owner at Palm Bay Resort
Responded 5 May 2017
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you coming so soon after the cyclone as support and understanding from guests if critical to our recovery. We hope that our guests will be forgiving of the fact that we are still dealing with the aftermath of the cyclone. We understand that this was your holiday and you are the most important person and we would love everything to be perfect for you and we apologise that it was not even though this was a natural disaster and out of our control. We have tried our hardest to restore the resort to ensure our guests are comfortable. The cyclone was one of the most devastating experienced by the region and we worked day and night to clean up. Unless you were there, you could not imagine the magnitude of the task. While the mainland and Hamilton Island received the services of the Army and SES to assist the clean up, we were left to our own resources, as we are small and off the beaten track. My small team of staff worked incredibly hard to clean up an overwhelming mess. The transfers from Hamilton Island are operated by an separate company who are the only water taxi service on Hamilton Island. They have assured me that they have kept their transfer cost to the minimum required to enable it to be viable for them to operate this run.The $300 is per boat and if other guests travel at the same time the cost of the transfer is shared. If you are unfortunate enough to be the only guests you get to pay the $300. Mostly there are other guests travelling at the same time, however unfortunately this cannot be guaranteed. We are unable to provide our own transfers to and from Hamilton Island as they charge a hefty fee for external operators to use their jetty and this would make the trip even more expensive. The bush walks on Long Island are controlled by Parks and Wildlife. They have been over several times to clear the tracks and have not as yet reached the end. We hope this will not be far away from completion. Apart from the walking tracks and the tennis court all our facilities are up and running. The dead trees are not dead but just missing their leaves which were blasted off in the 260km hour winds. We had an arborist come to the island prior to our re-opening and remove any dangerous trees that had the potential to die due to roots being lifted etc. All the other trees have been recovering nicely and our largest and most beautiful canopy tree began to produce bright green leaves only days after the cyclone. Some trees will take four to five weeks to begin to regrow foliage and we are at that point now. Making a comment about not being able to snorkel is unfair. We have no control over nature and you could snorkel but the visibility has been poor due to the turbidity of the water after the cyclone. The water will take some time to settle and to blame us for this is completely unreasonable. With regards to to the fly screens and the insects. Some of the screens were damaged and new ones ordered. It has been difficult to get trades and services as the whole region is overwhelmed with demand for replacement of damaged items and we apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused. We also had the whole resort treated for insects just prior to the cyclone however it must be an after effect of the cyclone to see insects appear in greater numbers than usual. I have booked the pest control people to re-treat the resort and again have to wait for their services as they are exceptionally busy. I am not sure why you commented about us being self catering as if you weren't aware of this. It is made clear on our website and on all the correspondence you receive after you book. If you booked with Booking.com or Expedia some of these guests do not read the correspondence they receive from us as they think they have their confirmation already from the third party. It is important to go to the hotel/resort website when you book with a third party as they do not always clearly display the full information about the property on their sites. Our little grocery store is just that. Little. We are not a big supermarket giant, therefore cannot possibly compete with their prices. We have to factor in the cost of getting the food to the island and the limited buying power we have. If our guests come from the mainland they have the option of shopping at Coles and Woolworths on their way and we have a link to a provisioning company on our website. If you expect us to source and provide you with food at no profit to ourselves you clearly have never run a small business or understand the logistics of getting people and products to an island. Again I am sorry you were one of the first guests after the cyclone, that was bad luck, just as it was bad luck for us to be hit with the cyclone when we almost had the resort perfect.
Read more
Been to Palm Bay Resort? Share your experience!