We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beach - Picture of Magellan Boutique Hotel, Cahuita

Photo: Beach

From Review : It was just OK... of Magellan Boutique Hotel
It was just OK...
Rip-Off: disrepair, unclean, poor service, noisy, not worth $90/night.
Disrepair, window in closet area
It was just OK...
Disrepair, window in bathroom
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Paulina L wrote a review Jan 2016
128 contributions26 helpful votes
It was ok but I didnt think it was worth what we paid ($125 for night). Room was poorly equipped. There was a lot of empty spaces where should be fridge, maybe some utensils since we had coffee...There was coffee machine and nice coffee to it. Bed was very comfortable and
Read more
Date of stay: January 2016
Response from hotelmagellaninn, Owner at Magellan Boutique Hotel
Responded 18 Jan 2016
The price was only $125 per night during Peak Season, Christmas and New Years, as in other hotels and this was for the room with a/c, fridge and satellite tv. If you had only a room with a/c and were only 2 people, you could not have paid $125. You might havd had a triple room, or a double room with a/c including the taxes? The bathroom have a hot water shower, one sink, a toilet and cupboards in hard tropical woods, we do not offer on the web site bath tubs etc, I am sorry. The are not gigantic, but nor that small either and have everything needed, I believe. Continental breakfast is included which is white and whole wheat freshly baked bread rools by an Italian baker, fresh tropical fruit plate of, yes, RAW, pineapple, watermelon, mango, Papaya & banana. 2 jams of ppineapple, guava or blackberry & butter. Organic Costa Rican ccoffee is offered or a choice of teas or hot organic Costa Rican chocolate. If the milk was off, I am terribly sorry for this, its hard to believe, but I wasn't there to say for sure, but I certainly hope that you said something at the time and the girls would have taken care of it right away, and not just save it for a review where we can do nothing about it. It would have been much more helpful as a positive critic that we can take care of. Extras are offered as well which are eggs from our own free range chickens, boiled, scrambleed, different types of omelets, priced from $2-$3 for a plate depending on the choice. We only advertise on our web site breakfast we do not offer a restaurant, only for special 1 week Retreats reserved in advance.. Peak Season, Christmas New Years is very busy and sometimes guests leave a little later, making it sometimes a little late for guest checking in, but never longer than 1pm. When this happens we offer them the reception area and pool as well as the use of a bathroom and the bar is open for cool drinks or coffee, until their rooms are ready. Cahuita offers 3 beaches. One Playa Negra (Black Beach) Playa Grande (Big beach with brown sand) and White Beach (white sand in the National Park of Cahuita. We are lucky to have all 3 colours of sand. Facility is poor in what way? The hotel is maintained painted, varnished and cleaned all the time. Gardens are maintained everyday. Room cleaning service is daily with fresh towels etc. This is not a decrepit hotel falling apart, nor is it dirty in ANYWAY. It truly is the opposite. Thankfully most of our guests see this and I am greatful for their positive outlook in life and how much they enjoy staying here with us, as one can see from so many of the other reviews. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I enjoy positive critism, when I can change and improve something, but here, I cannot see anything I can do.
Read more
Been to Magellan Boutique Hotel? Share your experience!