Tour Times from 1st April to 28 October - 11.00 12.15, 1.30 and 2.45...read more
Tour Times from 1st April to 28 October - 11.00 12.15, 1.30 and 2.45** [** The 2.45 tour must be reserved by telephone] - Please arrive at least 15 minutes before advertised times - Check our website or Facebook page for better time & other information. Poldark Mine is the only complete underground tin mine open to the public in Europe and offers memorable atmospheric underground expertly guided tours through several levels of the 18th century parts of the mine labyrinth. One of the oldest educational visitor places in Cornwall, it was founded in 1966 & opened over 40 years ago by the late Peter & Jose Young with the help of many volunteers. Peter coined the phrase ‘a little piece of heaven on the B3297’ Fame came due to the use of the mine by the BBC for all of the underground sequences for the current 2015-2016 BBC Poldark series, and for the original 1977 production. Winston Graham, the author, launched some of his books including his twelfth & final book in the mine's gardens in 2002 when he was 94, the books are available in the mine's bookshop. He renamed the mine as Poldark Mine in 1977 which was a wonderful accolade. The unusual setting in a wooded riverside South facing demesne filled with birds & wildlife is in the heart of rural Cornwall & forms a gateway to the Lizard Peninsula which is a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty (AONB). Nearby is the lovely Helford River famous for Daphne Du Maurier's 'Frenchman's Creek'. The mine, museum & informal country gardens are filled with oodles of history, the garden is dominated by an 1846 Cornish Beam engine, the very last to work commercially in Cornwall 'til 1959. There are static engines, picnic lawns & a bandstand used for performances & Sunday afternoon brass band concerts. The Trenear Mortar, a unique 4000 year old Bronze-Age Scheduled Ancient Monument to tinning is in the grounds. The millrace, aqueduct & ponds date from before Tudor times when the world's first water powered tin stamp mill was established here over 500 years ago before being recorded in the Royal Duchy Rolls in 1493 & are believed to have been created by innovative Cistercian monks experts in early hydraulics and metal working from early times. The monks at Rewley Abbey Oxford were given the Wendron Church lands in 1296 and the Black Prince added further lands in 1354. The museum has a collection of historic mining artefacts & ancient machinery, its core is from the acclaimed Holman Museum which was gifted in 1979, with unique historic mine & beam engine models & more. Since rescue & re-opening of the Mine and Museum under new management & ownership in summer 2014 some buildings & the gardens are being restored. New sections such as the history of Methodism in Cornwall are now included due to the profound effect it had on the lives of the mining community, the collection of artefacts includes two complete chapel organs. Restoration of the mine & the historic underground guided tour has taken priority. The small staff team is aided by friends & volunteers under the guidance of a philanthropic custodian. Volunteers are always made welcome.