We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
About
Fully refurbished and under new management. Family owned traditional harbour side Inn in the beautiful fishing village of The Isle of Whithorn. Offering the very best of local produce including our very own ales from The Five Kingdoms Brewery
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, After-hours
CUISINES
Bar, Seafood, British, Pub, Scottish
FEATURES
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Table Service
Reviews (719)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
There are newer reviews for The Steam Packet Inn
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
715 results
Traveller rating
506
136
37
19
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
506
136
37
19
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish and chips scallops lamb burger pudding bread salad ice cream potatoes cakes harbour side the pub real ale own brewery great beer evening meal both occasions
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 16 September 2023 via mobile

Excellent food and friendly service in a beautiful location. The craft beers are also superb - always end up taking a box or two home with us.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Callum Harvey, Owner at The Steam Packet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2023

Thank you for taking time to review us and we are glad you enjoy the packet ..we look forward to your next visit

Reviewed 13 September 2023 via mobile

Very friendly staff, popular with locals & tourists & dog friendly in both the bar & restaurant. Excellent local ale “Private Idaho 7” brewed in the village at Five Kingdoms Brewery. Went in for a couple of drinks & ended up with the fish &...More

Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Callum Harvey, Owner at The Steam Packet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2023

Thank you for taking time to review us and it's great to hear you enjoyed your time with us. Five kingdoms consistently keep coming up with amazing ales and stouts. It's definately been fish and chip weather and we are delighted you enjoyed. We look...More

Reviewed 11 September 2023

My mum moved recently and lived by. I had heard good things so popped on over for a meal and was blown away! The food was well presented and delicious. When discussing price I would say it's well worth it. I had the good fortune...More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 September 2023

Probably the best fish and chips you can possibly have, none better. Great beers too. Lovely people.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Callum Harvey, Owner at The Steam Packet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2023

Thank you very much for your.review. we are glad you enjoyed your fish and chips, it has been perfect weather for it by the harbour .

Reviewed 6 September 2023 via mobile

Had to let the staff know that the fish they served today, as in Fish and Chips, was simply the best I have ever tasted. Perfect fresh white fish, and a good size, was cooked/steamed to perfection in a unique tasty batter. Honestly don’t think...More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Callum Harvey, Owner at The Steam Packet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2023

Thank you for your kind review and we are delighted you enjoyed your fish and chips so much. We are very lucky to have a fantastic supplier in Galloway smokehouse for all our fish

Reviewed 6 September 2023

Table for 2 to celebrate our wedding Anniversary . We were greeted on arrival by a very warm welcome by Suzie , who shared her knowledge of the food and drinks menu which is filled with a fabulous selection of local produce . A short...More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Callum Harvey, Owner at The Steam Packet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2023

Thank you so much for your lovely review . We are delighted you chose us for your special occasion and it's great to hear you have enjoyed your special evening with us

Reviewed 2 September 2023

Fabulous evening! We have wanted to try the food here for ages and we weren’t disappointed! We ordered the ratatouille tart and the Ribeye both delicious 😋 friendly, polite staff and lovely setting. We will be back soon.

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Callum Harvey, Owner at The Steam Packet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2023

Thank you for reviewing us and it's great to get such positive feeeback

Reviewed 2 September 2023 via mobile

What an amazing lunch we had today at The Steam packet , fish and chips was the best, mussels and focaccia sublime and the wild boar burger absolutely juicylicuous . Service was perfect , efficient , caring and super speedy , watched the staff bring...More

Date of visit: September 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Callum Harvey, Owner at The Steam Packet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2023

Thank you for your kind review and it's always our pleasure to have you here. Glad you enjoyed lunch and got to enjoy some sunshine too

Reviewed 2 September 2023

Went with the family for dinner , and the food was excellent!!!! staff ,really friendly and helpful, fantastic scenery too , ,would defo recomend it!!!!!❤💙❤

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Callum Harvey, Owner at The Steam Packet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2023

Thank you for reviewing us and we are glad you enjoyed , we look forward to your next visit

Reviewed 2 September 2023 via mobile

The Steampacket has been our go to venue for special occasions & visitors for years. This visit was a disappointment. After extolling the virtues of the Steampacket to friends & family our two most recent visits disappointed our first time diners there. Not a single...More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Callum Harvey, Owner at The Steam Packet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2023

Sorry to hear you were disappointed with your visit this is never good to hear. We don't have a vegetarian menu as we get so few so it made more sense to offer a wider range for people who come for the local produce we...More

Reviewed 30 August 2023 via mobile

Started so well. Shown to table. Menu given. Food ordered. Starter and main came with no problems and food was good. Then….we asked for a dessert menu and were given one (even though there were two of us). And we waited and we waited and...More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Callum Harvey, Owner at The Steam Packet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2023

Sorry to hear you have not had a good experience with us and this is certainly not the level we aim for or normally achieve so it's very disappointing on all levels . We would love to hear from you to discuss this more and...More

Reviewed 27 August 2023 via mobile

We visited last year and the fish and chips were brilliant, this year not so, portion smaller and strange batter pricy at £16,£17, also very little vegetarian choice for my wife,made do with chips, strange onion rings, will have to change.More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Callum Harvey, Owner at The Steam Packet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2023

The fish and chips are the exact same as the year before, the batter is a citrus yeast batter and has been for three years and this is clear on the menu, the cod is 12 Oz so is certainly not small and costs £15.95...More

Reviewed 24 August 2023

The Steam Packet is an absolute GEM! Amazing views, locally crafted ales, locally sourced ingredients and AMAZING cookery skills!! Five of us ate for two night's running, mixing the regular menu with the specials menu (including the various vegetarian options) and every dish was absolutely...More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Callum Harvey, Owner at The Steam Packet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2023

Thank you for such a fantastic review it is very much appreciated . We are delighted you enjoyed your experience and let's hope we can make your next visit better still

Reviewed 22 August 2023

The Steam Packet Inn is such a treasure. The location is picturesque and the view of the sea is soothing to the soul. Magical. Staff are all warm and welcoming and my children felt very much at home and safe. I have multiple complicated food...More

Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Callum Harvey, Owner at The Steam Packet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2023

Thank you for your lovely review and it was our pleasure to look after you and your lovely family, we cannot wait to have you stay again

Reviewed 19 August 2023

Came here recently for evening dinner with some friends. 3 if us were vegetarian and had told the restaurant in advance when booking a table. We were shown to our table and handed menus (mine at least need a clean as it had grease on...More

Date of visit: August 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Callum Harvey, Owner at The Steam Packet Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2023

Sorry to hear you have not had a good experience, this is not the norm for us. We dont have vegan options as we are about promoting the excellent sea and farm produce on our doorstep . We do however Taylor all dishes to diet...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Cally Palace Hotel & Golf Course
648 reviews
13.82 miles away
The Ship Inn
379 reviews
14.40 miles away
Bank of Fleet Hotel
127 reviews
14.59 miles away
The Murray Arms
176 reviews
14.69 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Railway Inn At Whithorn
33 reviews
3.31 miles away
Saint Ninian's Tearoom
162 reviews
.20 miles away
Central Cafe
71 reviews
3.22 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
St Ninian's Chapel
46 reviews
.08 miles away
Whithorn Visitor Centre and Museum
65 reviews
3.21 miles away
Galloway Astronomy Centre
22 reviews
4.83 miles away
St Ninian's Cave
119 reviews
3.51 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Bruce G
14 December 2022|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from christines278 | Reviewed this property |
Think 10 or 10.30 can’t quite remember, but call them they are very helpful nothing was too much trouble when we stayed
1
Vote
laura j
16 October 2022|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from toncal | Property representative |
Sorry we are closed Christmas Eve, Christmas day and boxing day
0
Votes
Bella B
15 August 2021|
Answer
Response from toncal | Property representative |
Lunch is 12-2 and dinner is 5.30-9
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

THE STEAM PACKET INN, Isle of Whithorn - Restaurant Reviews, Photos & Phone Number - Tripadvisor