We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The George Inn

££ - £££
Steakhouse, Bar, British, Pub
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
52 High Street | Old Oxted, Oxted RH8 9LP, England
+44 1883 713453
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 165: English reviews
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Out with family on a Saturday night and Blue at the George was it . We ordered drinks at the bar which were ok and then went through to the restaurant. Not packed but a few tables in . There seemed to be a smokey cloud as we walked to our table . We were given menus and ordered drinks... More 

Thank jillybums1
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

We met as two couples here again after a Sunday lunch last year which was very good. This meal was excellent with a free taster starter. A very nice sharing platter with a couple of Tapas dishes was a good choice. The man courses were really good, especially my steak, beautifully cooked as was my mates pork. With a good... More 

2 Thank fulhamtomUk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile

We went here for a family lunch and one of our party was vegan. We let them know in advance and they produced some really delicious vegan alternatives. The standard of food generally was high and everyone had a great time.

Thank Graham W
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2017

The staff were very friendly, but as the only two people in the whole restaurant at 8pm, we should have, perhaps, realised that the food wouldn't be up to much. Decor is cold and unwelcoming: it's an old beamed building that now has harsh neon blue lights casting an odd disco/ sci-fi ambience - really suggest changing the lighting to... More 

1 Thank Colette R
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017 via mobile

I had booked a table of five which included four business associates from Spain. The service was lacking and the knowledge from the staff regarding the Kobe beef menu was woeful. Upon receiving the bill we noticed we had been overcharged for two bottles of wine. We found the owner Craig [--] flippant and aggressive. A letter of complaint has... More 

1 Thank baliboy67
TheGeorgeInnOxted, Owner at The George Inn, responded to this review

Not a genuine review. We do not even sell Kobe Beef and our till system is computerised so we can’t charge incorrectly. This is your second attempt to slander the name of The George Inn. Your first “review” was removed after we accurately responded to it. I find it very difficult to believe that a window cleaner who lives along... More 

East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2017

The steaks here are just fantastic, have had rib-eye and USADA sirloins in last couple of months and they just melted in the mouth!

Thank rs0808
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2017

Had a great new years and the atmosphere in the pub was fantastic. Food was lovely and the service was great, The bar staff were all friendly and helpful. All in all had a brilliant evening. Would recommend.

Thank Jenny F
W Sussex
Level Contributor
144 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2017

The food was ok but it did not make you want to rush back for the prices. The pub/bar side looked more friendly than the restaurant.

1 Thank HellWSussex
Oxted, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2016 via mobile

We were a group of 8 that attended the early Xmas lunch sitting. The food and service was excellent particularly given that it was Xmas day (I wouldn't want to be working!). It seemed that some other guests were intent on spending longer than the allotted 2.5 hours which caused the poor staff a bit of a nightmare when people... More 

Thank JK27feb
Oxted, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2016

We had xmas dinner family of 6 we sat in the newly erected awning it was warm and cosy. The food was exceptional and of good quality .it was very busy asit was xmas and the staff excelled themselves with their smiles and manners. They worked really hard yo give a goodbservice. THE proprietor was in full control of the... More 

Thank margaretfenn7765

Travellers who viewed The George Inn also viewed


Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$6 - US$43
Steakhouse, Bar, British, Pub
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Television, Free Wifi
Good for
Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 52 High Street | Old Oxted, Oxted RH8 9LP, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Surrey  >  Oxted
  • Phone Number: +44 1883 713453

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The George Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?