We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Malvern Vale Hotel

££ - £££, ,
1321 Malvern Rd, Malvern, Stonnington, Victoria 3144, Australia
+61 3 9822 1497
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good39%
  • Average13%
  • Poor5%
  • Terrible13%
Travellers talk about
“garlic prawns” (2 reviews)
“pasta” (6 reviews)
“pub food” (3 reviews)
Open Now
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, Pub, Australian
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
1321 Malvern Rd, Malvern, Stonnington, Victoria 3144, Australia
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017

We held a memorial service in the upstairs private room and from start to finish, the Malvern Vale were totally accommodating. From us bringing in flowers and candles and re-arranging the furniture to suit our gathering, to running an extended tab (we stayed on for...More

Thank HungryJaks
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Go here once a week for a meal and found the calamari consistently cooked well .The pork spare ribs are also generally great.So on a cold night thinking the pea and ham soup would hit the spot I was extremely dissapointed that the water the...More

Thank Deb W
maseloke, Manager at Malvern Vale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2017

Hi Deb, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're sorry that our soup wasn't up to standard, these issues are very important to us and we have discussed your review with the kitchen to ensure that this sort of thing doesn't...More

Reviewed 28 April 2017 via mobile

Arrogant bar staff who think they own the place. Condescending, rude & pretingeous young idiots who need to pull there heads in & show respect to the general public!

Thank Shaun C
maseloke, General Manager at Malvern Vale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2017

Hey Shaun, We're sorry to hear you didn't have the best experience. This is extremely important to us and we have now discussed the issue with all of our staff.

Reviewed 31 March 2017

Great place for a pub meal, had to find some where on a friday night for a meal, big choice, fast friendly serivice, price not to bad, only negative the size of the meal was huge far to much for one to eat.

Thank roophoto
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We've just moved in to the area and have been down to this hotel on a few occasions now. It is a suburban pokies pub but we've always found the service and food to be at the top of the pack. It has an extensive...More

Thank Nicholas R
maseloke, Manager at Malvern Vale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Hey Nick, thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback and welcome to the area! It's great to hear that you've enjoyed everything so far! Hope to see you again soon :)

Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

Been here multiple times in the last dozen or so months since moving to the area. So far it's been ok. This particular time ordered the "fish of the day" off the specials board. Turns out it tasted and had the texture like it was...More

Thank Peter C
maseloke, Manager at Malvern Vale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Peter. We are sorry to hear about your recent experience. These issues are taken seriously and will be resolved internally to ensure our customers have the best experiences going forward.

Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile

Sunday night and a pot and Parma for $13. Very good but also huge! We had to get a doggie bag with the large serving. Good pub food

Thank Fiona H
Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

Didn't get served - so can't comment on the quality of the food. Terrible and rude service from the staff. I'd stay away, there's plenty of other restaurant options in the area. Serve your customers - it's not hard!!More

Thank SalvadorDave123
maseloke, Manager at Malvern Vale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2016

Hi there, We’re sorry you didn’t receive the best service during your visit. As we offer a bistro style service we ask that you order your meal up at the bar. We apologise for the lack of communication when you were seated. We will be...More

Reviewed 3 December 2016

It's unfortunate that I wasn't able to taste their food. Their menu seems interesting and I'm quite sure there was something I would've loved to eat. We went in at 8:25 PM, were given menus, but our orders were never taken. This happened yesterday, 3...More

2  Thank Pestoshrek
maseloke, Manager at Malvern Vale Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2016

Hi there, We’re sorry to hear about your last visit with us. We are a bistro so we do not offer table service, instead we ask that you order your meals at the bar. We do apologise if this wasn’t communicated with you properly when...More

Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Tuesday night is our normal night as we get a free bottle of our favourite red with 2 main meals. The food is always good, the staff very helpful and courteous. Highly recommend it for coeliac sufferers too.

Thank Gini107
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Mr Foxx
52 reviews
.33 miles away
That Greek Tavern
46 reviews
.35 miles away
THe Malvern Hotel
61 reviews
.45 miles away
Bellezza Restaurant
78 reviews
.18 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Bounce Inc Trampoline Park Glen Iris
87 reviews
.39 miles away
Kings Arcade
5 reviews
.99 miles away
Gardiners Creek Trail
7 reviews
1.03 miles away
Glen Iris Park Wetlands
9 reviews
1.24 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
134Janet
18 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from maseloke | Property representative |
Hello, our menu and all function info can be found on our website. Cheers!
0
Votes
Jinx3188
2 October 2016|
Answer
Response from Nicholas P | Reviewed this property |
More than likely, you'll probably just have to stay in the front restaurant, and out of the bar areas.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Cuisine
Bar, Pub, Australian
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Seating, Television, Serves Alcohol, Reservations, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
08:00 - 04:00
Monday
08:00 - 04:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 04:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 04:00
Thursday
08:00 - 04:00
Friday
08:00 - 04:00
Saturday
08:00 - 04:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 1321 Malvern Rd, Malvern, Stonnington, Victoria 3144, Australia
  • Location: South Pacific  >  Australia  >  Victoria  >  Greater Melbourne  >  Stonnington  >  Malvern
  • Phone Number: +61 3 9822 1497
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing