We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reserve a table

Ratings and reviews

Travellers' Choice2023
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
£13 - £24
CUISINES
European, New Zealand, International
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
View all details
meals, features, about
Sponsored by: Plume Restaurant

Top 3 Reasons to Eat Here

1. Great Food in a lovely setting
1. Great Food in a lovely setting
"The country setting, food, wine, service and fantastic staff"
rewi1023
See reviews that mention setting
2. Delicious Matakana Wines!
2. Delicious Matakana Wines!
"The wine was from their vineyard and complimented the food."
F6470JEjohnr
See reviews that mention vineyard
3. Friendly Service
3. Friendly Service
"waiting staff very attentive and - the meal outstandingly delicious"
hansrobertt
See reviews that mention waiting staff
Reviews (1,124)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
1,119 results
Traveller rating
722
235
96
40
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
Traveller rating
722
235
96
40
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviews degustation menu duck curry prawns steak new chef food and wine great wine fabulous food special occasion lovely lunch great setting runners voucher grab farid countryside
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very very pleased with the lunch. The staff went above and beyond and that was very much appreciated.

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: May 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farida Cooper, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

It was entrely our pleasure and our honour to have you celebrate your 51st Anniversary at Plume! Thank you and do look forward to seeing you again, soon!

Restaurant's Favourite
Reviewed 1 April 2023

To celebrate our friend's birthday, we indulged in a Degustation Dinner and were delighted by the warm welcome from the staff, who quickly seated us at a cozy table on the well covered terrace despite the sudden rain. The 6-course menu was a true feast...for the senses, with every dish bursting with flavor and perfectly balanced with fermented components. BG's culinary skills truly shone through. The service was flawlessly timed and the staff's warmth and professionalism added to an unforgettable evening. Our friends were left thoroughly impressed by the exquisite meal they had just experienced. We extend our sincerest gratitude to the entire team for creating such a memorable occasion. P.S.: Although we expected fireworks to finish off the evening, the waterfall feature was as exciting! :-)More

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farida Cooper, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2023

Thank you so much MUC - we are so glad to read this - the waterfall was a complimentary from us and from nature, just for you! So glad you found the menu to be a "feast for the senses"! We love having you at...More

Reviewed 7 April 2024

Very relaxing atmosphere, all of wines were so Beautiful, interesting fusion foods, curry was just perfect and great service! We were so satisfied! Thank you!!More

Date of visit: March 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farida Cooper, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

My apologies Yukoo - I seem to have missed out responding to your lovely review - thank you! so glad you enjoyed your time at Plume and do look forward to seeing you again, soon - we now have a new menu too though the...More

Reviewed 24 March 2024

The on-site dining for Plume Villas was their Plume Restaurant. Our stay was from a Saturday night to Wednesday. Having traveled close to 70% of the World to date, we are always aware of the specifics of where we are staying, as well as the...immediate area. Since the hotel's website was very specific regarding their restaurant only serving dinners on Friday and Saturday, we were aware that the only night we could have dinner on site would be following our long drive and late arrival from Napier. However, we still made reservations in advance for dinner to ensure we could try their relatively highly-rated on-site restaurant. We confirmed the restaurant would be closed for dinner during the rest of our stay, as well as the Vineyard's Tasting Room being closed. Staying on a wine estate for five days when its Tasting Room/Cellar Door is closed is a bummer...and a bit unusual. The gentleman who appeared to be in charge of the restaurant upon our arrival made sure we knew that they would be "closing early tomorrow" since it was Sunday. We heard him...and went elsewhere for breakfast, lunch, dinner and wine tasting...for the rest of our stay. Although our reserved table for dinner was reasonably positioned, it was unfortunately directly next to a loud group of five persons who delayed our being able to place our orders for almost 20 minutes as they argued about what they should order. Eventually, our wines, green salads, Lettuce Wraps and Pork Bellys arrived to be enjoyed. The service, with the exception of the uninspired attitude of the apprent manager, was quite good. The food was actually very tasty. If we ever return, we would definitely choose to be seated on the perifery of their outside seating areas. Supposedly, after years of remaining open throughout the week, the owners understandably decided during COVID-19 to limit the days they would offer dinner. Thus, we made our Saturday dinner reservation, but it would not change our disappointment that their on-site dining location would be closed the entire balance of our stay. Whether or not we knew in advance of our stay to celebrate an important birthday is not the issue.More

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farida Cooper, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2024

Thank you Mr Lee for putting down this review - we are glad to note that you found our food to your liking and would come back again for the same . Our population in New Zealand is very miniscule as compared to the rest...More

Reviewed 9 March 2024

Thankyou to all at Plume for for going above and beyond and making our 20th Wedding Anniversary dinner a beautiful evening to remember.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farida Cooper, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2024

Such a pleasure reading this review - thank you! We are so glad you had a wonderful 20th Wedding Anniversary celebration at Plume. Look forward to seeing you again, soon!

Reviewed 25 February 2024

We dined at Plume yesterday, and what made it a great experience for us, other than the fabulous atmosphere, and excellent service, was that the chef himself came and spoke with us, and then went over and above to tailor our meals, adding unexpected extras....The only reason I'm not giving it a 5 is that we felt the serving sizes were quite small for the price. But for an occasional treat we will definitely return.More

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farida Cooper, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Thank you so much for this lovely review and we are so glad you enjoyed the Plume experience. It is a pity that the cost of food as well as wages has gone through the roof over the past few years as has the cost...More

Reviewed 17 February 2024

We had dinner last night and the food was excellent. The servers were all very friendly and helpful.More

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farida Cooper, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2024

Wonderful to read this review, Karren - thank you! We were short staffed both in the front and back of house over the weekend plus had two new young kids on training - so glad to know that everything went off well! Look forward to...More

Reviewed 10 February 2024 via mobile

One of the four mains was excellent, two average and one less than average. Service with a smile but quite slow given they were not busy. Wouldn't go back. Nice setting though.

Date of visit: February 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farida Cooper, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2024

Thank you for the above feedback WalkerNZ. We are now communicating directly offline as regards the same.

Reviewed 5 January 2024

Having dinned at Plume on several occasions, we were not disappointed, again! The staff are always genuine in their friendliness and nothing is ever too much trouble when we plied them with questions. The food was beautifully presented and tasted even better than it looked....As Manuel would say - the sauce! Yum. I was also impressed to hear the chef come personally to the table next to us to apologise for the slightly late delivery of someone's main, but he was not happy with the first cook and did it gain for them, before it went out. Pride in his work, awesome! Thanks again Plume, in the words of Arnold - we'll be back!More

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farida Cooper, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2024

Oh what a lovely review! Thank you! So glad you enjoyed the PLUME EXPERIENCE and appreciated our staff and the service as well as the food and the Head Chef coming out to apologise, too! We look forward to seeing you at Plume, again, soon!

Reviewed 30 December 2023

We had the pleasure of doing a wine tasting at Plume with the owner/manager Farida Cooper before lunch. She was wonderfully knowledgeable, and just added a special something to the tasting experience. The food in the restaurant was excellent as well. The only negative is...in relation to who I believe was the maitre d, instead of welcoming us when we entered he went straight into accusing us of not confirming our booking and then telling us he was about to cancel it (despite us actually turning up early!). We then asked if we could delay the booking to which he said no with a long list of reasons. Thankfully though we met the lovely Farida moments later who was extremely accommodating to our requirements.More

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farida Cooper, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2024

Thank you, Nins for this lovely review and for enjoying the wine tasting- my pleasure to have met you you. Sebastian has been with me from day 1 - nearly 14 long years and he is a highly valuable member of the Team as our...More

Reviewed 10 December 2023

Fabulous location. Food was great - could have done with a bit more on the plate (we had the steak). Hubby had the fish curry which was fabulous and plenty of it. Service fabulous too.More

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farida Cooper, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2023

Thank you, Karen, for this lovely review - we are so glad you enjoyed your Lunch at Plume - yes, the "curry" is highly popular at Plume. So glad you mentioned the service being "fabulous too" and i shall certainly pass this on to our...More

Reviewed 10 December 2023

Such a wonderful day, food was delish, staff were friendly and on to it, nothing was an issue. Times meals were brought out was great no waiting and food was hot and fresh. Views of the garden were stunning and loved the fact the herbs...and salad ingredients was picked fresh from the garden.More

Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farida Cooper, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2023

Thank you, Adminlady - we are so happy to read you enjoyed yourself at Plume and appreciated the Plume experience! Look forward to seeing you at Plume, again, soon!

Reviewed 25 November 2023

Our annual dinner for my mother in laws birthday. Always good and a great start to our weekend. On the same property as Plume Villas so a nice stroll through the gardens.

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farida Cooper, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2023

Thank you for the above review - we appreciate the same! We are glad you enjoyed the Plume experience with both the Villas and the Restaurant. Do look forward to seeing you again, soon!

Reviewed 29 October 2023 via mobile

Interesting variety on the menu, lovely crew and an all round good night. I tried the salmon tartare for a starter, while small it was certainly delicious. The lamb loin was my main which I really enjoyed. We shared a curried cauliflower which everyone enjoyed....One of my fellow diners was a little disappointed there was no spirits or cocktails on the menu, glasses of wine for everyone then.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farida Cooper, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2023

Our apologies for the late response to this review - life has been highly hectic. Heart broken to note your comment "no spirits or cocktails on the menu" - we do have whisky, rum, vodka, gin on our menu - do wish you had enquired...More

Reviewed 22 October 2023

A beautiful spot for dinner but a very disappointing experience. First we, a party of 5 adults, were seated in an inappropriate spot, the bright setting sun was giving me a headach so we asked to move which to be fair staff were happy to...do. However, we were then moved to a table which consisted of a dirty and a bit stinky couch, which felt too low to sit at when eating at the table. Our waitress wore a dirty top and when I commented on it she said she'd also worked at lunchtime. The top wasn't changed. My adult daughter wanted to order the fish and chips from the kids menu but was told she couldn't as she was over 11 years old. When we asked our waitress to enquire whether an exception could be made, she spoke to the manager who said only if the customer is under 14 year old! Needless to say my daughter still wasn't young enough to be allowed the fish and chips! It seems rediculous to me that if you have a small appetite you can't order a child sized portion! Or in fact be offered a larger portion and charged accordingly. The meals were expensive, top Auckland prices, but I couldn't tell you about them because being so disheartened by the service so far we didn't stay for dinner! I wasn't charged for the glass of wine I enjoyed pre meal, thank you but overall a very disappointing experience.More

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farida Cooper, Owner at Plume Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2023

Hi Fiona - first of all my apologies for the delay in response. This was due to the waitress who is just a kid herself at 15 years going school and who steps in during the weekends to work. She is still under training -...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Matakana Motel
204 reviews
1.76 miles away
Warkworth Lodge
221 reviews
2.83 miles away
Walton Park Motor Lodge
115 reviews
3.09 miles away
Snells Beach Motel
197 reviews
3.23 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Charlie's Gelato Garden
215 reviews
.15 miles away
Sandspit Yacht Club Kitchen & Bar
22 reviews
1.61 miles away
Brick Bay Glass House Kitchen
593 reviews
2.35 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Brick Bay Sculpture Trail
457 reviews
2.36 miles away
Matakana Village
428 reviews
1.84 miles away
Matakana Estate
20 reviews
1.03 miles away
Matakana Village Farmers' Market
43 reviews
1.87 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Culture15998726440
31 December 2021|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from DianeTshh | Reviewed this property |
Yes you do have to show a vaccination pass. Suggest you email them re gift vouchers.
0
Votes
stephen2dd
6 July 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Farida C | Property representative |
Regret - no, we dont
0
Votes
thenastybits
6 November 2015|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from swampykevin | Reviewed this property |
Yes they do, just mention it to the staff and they arrange it with the kitchen. They are extremely helpful.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

PLUME RESTAURANT, Matakana - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu, Prices, & Reservations - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Plume Restaurant

Yes, Plume Restaurant is taking precautions against COVID-19. A full list is available within the "safety precautions" section of this page.

Plume Restaurant is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4
  • Atmosphere: 4.5