We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Moat Shed

Northwood Hall,Newtown, SY4 5NU, England
+44 1939 236252
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent75%
  • Very good21%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“pudding” (8 reviews)
“marmalade” (3 reviews)
Closed Now
All hours
CUISINES
British, Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Northwood Hall,Newtown, SY4 5NU, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 187 reviews

Reviewed 6 days ago

We visited after a friend recommended it. It's a quirky place, which,I think would be great in the summer. The food was lovely- I had pork in cider cream. There was quite a varied meal, even for vegetarians, but I think the desserts, even though...More

Thank poblycwm
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have eaten here several times over the years and have always come away feeling pleased! The food is tasty, well presented and the staff charming and friendly. During Sumner and holidays I would advise booking as it is popular for those in the know,...More

Thank Neil H
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely views, lovely log burner, but please get a proper coffee machine! I had a truly awful cup of coffee☹️More

Thank Ariadae
TheMoat S, Owner at The Moat Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Ariadae, Thanks for the review. We are glad you enjoyed some aspects of your experience. Just to inform you we do have a 'proper' coffee machine! Did you mention your 'truly awful cup of coffee' to any of the staff at the time? After...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Visited for first time. Really pleasant location in middle of countryside. Had the roasts as it was a Sunday and everything was cooked very nicely and good quality. The deserts were also very tasty and good choice. I’d go back. The only slight problem is...More

Thank F1ossy
TheMoat S, Manager at The Moat Shed, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi F1ossy, Thanks for taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your experience at The Moat Shed. We only offer 2 or 3 courses on a Sunday due to the high level of demand. The Moat Shed is a very...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have been here three times and have enjoyed it every time. The building and location are beautiful and a bit difficult to other places and the food is good. I would recommend checking the opening times and route before you go as I sent...More

Thank FDavies123
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We have been here a few times since finding it by chance last year. Beautiful venue, very good attentive staff. Enjoyed a great beer. Food was absolutely delicious. Looking forward again to a return visit. Do take the trouble to find it as it is...More

Thank Cecil H
Reviewed 7 November 2017

First day of retirement and decided to celebrate with breakfast. Not disappointed it was lovely. One very tiny complaint, we were met by a very nice but young waitress who did not smile once during our visit. I know it was a Monday morning but...More

Thank John B
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

Breakfast at the moat shed excellent service breakfast was amazing what a lovely place . Highly recommend the double breakfast we have not been for Sunday lunch but will be booking in the near future . Oh try and book as this is a very...More

Thank roberts096
Reviewed 23 October 2017

Although not the first time we've eaten there, I'm glad I booked for Sunday lunch at the Moat Shed. We were going to an event a few minutes drive away and were able to enjoy a great meal before moving on. My wife chose the...More

Thank Baldalot
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

We went for the first time today and were so impressed. Lovely location, great building, excellent service and the food was fab. I had the roast pork and the crackling was lovely. My other half had roast beef. He had apple crumble to follow and...More

Thank Elizabeth G
Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Dickin Arms
144 reviews
1.71 miles away
Darcie's
6 reviews
1.80 miles away
The Drayton Gate
108 reviews
1.99 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Shropshire Falconry Ltd
50 reviews
.76 miles away
Hawkstone Park Hotel Golf Course
104 reviews
4.68 miles away
Skydive Tilstock Freefall Club
246 reviews
5.76 miles away
Ellesmere Canal
51 reviews
6.20 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
685sue
9 September 2017|
Answer
Response from Audrey G | Reviewed this property |
Yes I believe they do!
0
Votes
Helen O
4 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from TheMoat S | Property representative |
Hi, You can't bring dogs in the building but we do have a covered decked area which well behaved dogs are welcome.
3
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Free Wifi, Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Validated Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
View, Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 16:00
Monday
09:00 - 16:00
Thursday
09:00 - 16:00
Friday
09:00 - 16:00
Saturday
09:00 - 16:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Northwood Hall,Newtown, SY4 5NU, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Shropshire  >  Wem
  • Phone Number: +44 1939 236252
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing