We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The George Inn

Certificate of Excellence
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
High Street, Norton St Philip, Bath BA2 7LH, England
+44 1373 834224
18:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 14:30
Open now
See all hours
Sun 12:00 - 21:00
Mon - Thu 18:00 - 21:00
Mon - Sat 12:00 - 14:30
Fri - Sat 18:00 - 21:30
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

342 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
  • More
Showing 327: English reviews
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Truly an amazing old pub, with a real atmosphere & open fires. Great food & friendly service well recommended.

Thank Adam M
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We've frequented this pub more that a dozen times since moving to Norton St Philip a year ago and we're yet to leave disappointed! Last week the George did not let us down one bit when they organised starters and mains for our party of thirty(!) family and friends. From the Manager, waitresses, chefs and the KP that helped with... More 

Thank Jordan G
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

This was a family lunch. There is a great choice of 3 roasts all served with yorkshires. Our party tried them all and everyone was pleased. For those (me) who are not enamoured of roast dinner there is a decent choice. I loved the wild boar sausages with sweet potato mash and snow peas.

Thank Hilary H
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Called in here on our return trip from Bristol to Bournemouth for a spot of lunch, we were made most welcome from the start to finish, with a good choice of food to helpful and friendly staff,the homemade soup /bread was particularly delicious

Thank Stuart L
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The same menu is served in the bar, the lounge and the dining room. It is simply a matter of choice of ambience. Food is ample and flavoursome, from simple sandwiches to more complex composed dishes. The option for breakfast range from the classic 'Full English', through vegetarian, to eggs Benedict or florentine and on to poached haddock - Hhuge... More 

Thank Woollybear
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2016 via mobile

It is historic and atmospheric. Very clean, good food. No shower curtain so had to have a bath. Overall To be honest we found it rather dark and creepy. This is the second time I have stayed here and haven't had a good nights sleep both times. Feeling a presence in the room. I think it is haunted but make... More 

1 Thank Gassbags
Ashland, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2016

We went out of our way to visit the George due to its terrific history. We stopped in on a Wednesday in December for lunch only to be told that all three of the adorable dinning rooms were completely booked although they only appeared half-full. Who knew you needed to make weekday lunch reservations for a pub in a tiny... More 

1 Thank Sean O
Jenny S, General Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review

My apologies for the service that you received. Please could you contact me by email to georgeinn@wadworth.co.uk with a description of your server so that I can retrain and ensure this does not happen again. Please be assured that the dungeon was in fact a dungeon where the prisoners were held during the rebellion in 1685. We are restricted with... More 

st austell
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2016

This delightful 700 year old building promised much but left us very disappointed. The bar had been festively decorated and the young lady serving there was friendly enough. Friends had been there before, had a good experience, hence the enticement to dine in the restaurant this time. The waitress was slovenly dressed; big jumper with underwear visibly hanging out behind,... More 

1 Thank jax_jStAustell
Jenny S, General Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Could you please email me with further details so that I can investigate and get back to you. email. georgeinn@wadworth.co.uk More 

Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016

Gorgeous pub full of charm and 700 years of history. Remains of the Day was filmed here! Enjoyed a lovely lunch next to the fire! Such a cosy and atmospheric pub!

Thank Laura P
Jenny S, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely remarks. Look forward to seeing you again soon More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2016 via mobile

The building is unique and interesting and for that alone it is def worth a visit for a drink, especially in front of the fire. The staff were welcoming and friendly. But don't expect much from the food we were both very disappointed with the fish pie, burger and seasonal vegetables. A shame really.

1 Thank Claire_Toby
Jenny S, Manager at The George Inn, responded to this review

Hello Claire I am sorry that you did not enjoy your food. We prepare and cook everything on site so I am disappointed that you did not like it. Perhaps you could email me at the pub with further details...georgeinn@wadworth.co.uk Thank you More 

Travellers who viewed The George Inn also viewed

Norton St Philip, Bath
Hinton Charterhouse, Bath

Been to The George Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$15 - US$20
Bar, British, Pub, Soups, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi, Private Dining, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
12:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: High Street, Norton St Philip, Bath BA2 7LH, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Somerset  >  Bath  >  Norton St Philip
  • Phone Number: +44 1373 834224

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The George Inn staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?