We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Black Bull

32 Post Street, Godmanchester PE29 2AQ, England
+44 1480 437638
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
  • Excellent52%
  • Very good26%
  • Average4%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible7%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (4 reviews)
“sandwiches” (2 reviews)
“pudding” (4 reviews)
Closed Now
Bar, British, Pub, Gastropub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
££ - £££
32 Post Street, Godmanchester PE29 2AQ, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

1 - 10 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After a lovely walk we decided to call in for a drink and decide if we would eat there in the evening. The place was almost deserted and several beers not available. We later found out it was at the point of handover to New...More

Thank Pauline2652
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in for lunch whilst in the area. Greeted by a very pleasant young man named John. He made us welcome and explained that it was his first day taking over from the previous owners. In all honesty we thought about leaving but he was...More

Thank Steve G
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I have had two walks to the Black Bull this weekend, on Saturday I ordered a pint of lager and half an aspells, no aspens and the Morretti was served in a fosters glass, asked for a packet of crisps and got a 25 g...More

Thank paulallen6079
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

I stopped at the Black Bull with some friends, ranging from early 20s to late 30s not expecting much from a quaint little pub just outside Huntingdon. However The Black Bull was a fine establishment! Good drinks on offer, lovely food and even better service!...More

1  Thank Charlie G
Reviewed 25 April 2018

Another pub with tired rooms, borderline cleanliness. No evening meals on a Monday even for guests. A characterless table and chair bar with nothing on the tables (cultery etc ) A continual barrage of foul mouthed smoking teenagers (the girls were the worst!) made it...More

2  Thank CWH62
Reviewed 7 February 2018

Very nice food and cozy atmosphere. Always good food and service. Have eaten here for many years and hope to continue to do so. A function room is on site and plenty of onsite parking in the rear. In the centre of the town so...More

2  Thank Randy W
Reviewed 25 January 2018

My Husband and I just found this pub by chance, we wanted a lovely Sunday lunch, and that is just what we had - what a find. A proper 3 course lunch, actually included coffee- very good value and just lovely. A very relaxing lunch...More

2  Thank LindseyD1712
Reviewed 20 January 2018

Had a large, extended family meal at the Bull. Food and service were great.Helped make the occasion memorable.

1  Thank Joseph B
Telly1449, General Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2018

Hi Joseph, Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to serve you & your family. Look forward to seeing you again soon. Best, Jon

Reviewed 9 January 2018

We booked late afternoon for an evening meal for 6 people, we had a good table near the fire, unfortunately, the logs were not burning very well and it was a bot cold. The staff immediately set out to rectify this and to we able...More

2  Thank Peter S
Telly1449, General Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2018

Thank you Peter. It was a pleasure to have you and your family in. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best, Jon

Reviewed 6 January 2018

Booked a table for a family birthday celebration for 6 people. The restaurant wasn't overly busy so very disappointed when the service was not very good. The meals took ages to arrive and then a long time to be asked for the next course. One...More

1  Thank Jenthebell
Telly1449, General Manager at The Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2018

Good afternoon Jen, I am sorry to hear of your poor experience but I think you have put this on the wrong business as we only have one owner and you would not have met them as they don’t work at the Black Bull in...More

Nearby HotelsSee all Godmanchester Hotels
The Old Bridge
554 reviews
.38 miles away
The George Hotel
483 reviews
.73 miles away
Sandford House Bar and Hotel
238 reviews
.74 miles away
Huntingdon Marriott Hotel
717 reviews
1.86 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Cinta Chinese & Malaysian Restaurant
296 reviews
.12 miles away
The White Hart
342 reviews
.36 miles away
Barney's Plaice
120 reviews
.55 miles away
The Grand Piano
83 reviews
.29 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Lazy Days Boat Hire
13 reviews
.15 miles away
The Cromwell Museum
162 reviews
.70 miles away
Hinchingbrooke House
8 reviews
.92 miles away
St Mary's Church with St Benedict
5 reviews
.51 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Clare H
1 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from LadyMorticia67 | Reviewed this property |
There is ample parking at the rear if the pub. Can get busy at popular holiday times but it is possible to park in surrounding streets
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
  • Value
Average prices
US$11 - US$23
Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch
Restaurant features
Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Bar Scene
Open Hours
12:00 - 21:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
12:00 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 32 Post Street, Godmanchester PE29 2AQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Cambridgeshire  >  Godmanchester
  • Phone Number: +44 1480 437638
  • E-mail
The Black Bull at Godmanchester offers a unique dining experience in the relaxed surroundings of an English country pub. Licensees Paul and Karen Beer have transformed the Black Bull. They also run the George and Dragon at Elsworth, The Rose at Stapleford and the Eaton Oak in St. Neots as well as G&D Caterers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing