We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Poachers Pocket

Chirk Rd | Weston Rhyn, Chirk LL14 5DG, Wales
+44 1691 773250
Website
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent30%
  • Very good26%
  • Average18%
  • Poor11%
  • Terrible15%
Travellers talk about
“mixed grill” (17 reviews)
“beer garden” (21 reviews)
Open Now
12:00 - 22:00 Hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Chirk Rd | Weston Rhyn, Chirk LL14 5DG, Wales
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (1,018)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 1,012 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Upon arrival we were met by a very friendly and welcoming member of staff. Excellent service, food, staff and ambience. Would definitely recommend a visit.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank mkaren511
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have been here on quite a few occasions and it is what it is. A reasonable selection of ale and the chickens really are roasted as you can see as they spin around in the visible rotisserie. The food was, to be honest, okay....More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank touchwood-the-cat
manager2318, Manager at The Poachers Pocket, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your review. Your feedback has been very welcome, and we are now more mindful of the door being propped open during cold weather, and will be extra vigilant to this. Your comments about the menu design will be passed onto our team...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visited here with my family last Sunday as they have had a refurb and wanted to see what the place was like. You can now book a table. The interior is very much improved and the staff excellent, but not the food.Cold plates, cold food,...More

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank suz039
manager2318, Manager at The Poachers Pocket, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're sorry that you didn't enjoy your last visit with us, and that we were not able to rectify the issues you have mentioned when you were here with us. Your comments have been passed on to our kitchen team, and they are working tirelessly,...More

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Visiting Wrexham, we tried this because of its interesting location. Profoundly disappointed, but to be fair we do like our grub and this is serious microwave stuff. Honestly, it may be for you but certainly not for us.

Date of visit: November 2018
2  Thank Brommiekid
manager2318, Manager at The Poachers Pocket, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

We're sorry that you were disappointed when you last visited. We'd love to learn more about your experience, and would welcome you to call us on 01691 773250 to discuss your visit in more detail. We look forward to hearing from you.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

After visiting on two previous occasions I was pleasantly surprised. The pub has just been refurbished and has a lovely clean atmosphere. I had the rotisserie chicken which was sublime and my friends had ribeye steak which they said was cooked to perfection, service was...More

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank miley67
manager2318, Manager at The Poachers Pocket, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your 5 Star review. We look forward to you visiting us again soon.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Basic quality pub food, as expected. Nothing special but you know what you get at these cheapu chain pubs. Service was awful considering it’s just reopened from refurb and training... might be an idea to retrain some people again! 1. Absolute pet hate to ask...More

Date of visit: November 2018
4  Thank Jennie M
manager2318, Manager at The Poachers Pocket, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

We're sorry to here that your last visit was a disappointment. Thank you for leaving us your feedback, which we will be addressing with our team, and ensuring that the issues you raised are not repeated. We'd love for you to return, and give us...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

On arriving the pub looks lovely. There is a lovely outdoor beer garden with plenty of seating and children’s play area. Inside the decor is warm and inviting and spotless. The bar service was good. Only when we ordered food - did everything seem to...More

Date of visit: November 2018
3  Thank WallaseyLjd
manager2318, Manager at The Poachers Pocket, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your review. The comments you raised have been addressed with our team, and we are truly sorry that you experienced these issues during your visit. Please accept my sincere apologies, that your last visit to us wasn't an enjoyable visit. I'm quite...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The Poachers has just been upgraded looks much better lovely and fresh and light. Menu has been upgraded and we had a very enjoyable meal, the staff were friendly and very helpful and the food very good and tasty.

Date of visit: November 2018
1  Thank Beverley E
manager2318, Manager at The Poachers Pocket, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

The meal was overcooked and overseasoned (I wouldn't have been surprised to find the salt cellar in the soup) the rissoto rice a mush. The carafe of house wine was poor value.More

Date of visit: October 2018
2  Thank ColinJohnG
manager2318, Manager at The Poachers Pocket, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your comments, could I just ask when you were here at the Poachers? We have been close for 3 weeks for a full refurbishment and only opened on the 10th of November. If it was before the closure I can...More

Reviewed 22 October 2018

Arrived at lunchtime and it was very busy, so we had to eat at in the bar area, but it wasn't a problem to us. The food was hot and tasty and the service was friendly. The pub was closing that day, for refurbishment, but...More

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank sa1gon
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all hotels
Moreton Park Hotel
345 reviews
.24 miles away
Lion Quays
1,473 reviews
.73 miles away
Bryn Howel Hotel
616 reviews
4.30 miles away
Sebastians Hotel
148 reviews
4.44 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
The Bridge Inn
140 reviews
.54 miles away
Castle Bistro & Tearoom &wine bar
278 reviews
.73 miles away
The Butchers Arms
25 reviews
.85 miles away
The lodge Bangladeshi and Indian restaurant
45 reviews
.94 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Segtrek
163 reviews
1.52 miles away
Pontcysyllte Aqueduct
1,417 reviews
3.65 miles away
Whittington Castle
113 reviews
3.97 miles away
Splash Magic Leisure Centre
29 reviews
4.17 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Gillmassey
21 August 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Jay A | Reviewed this property |
The pub allows dogs. No problem.
0
Votes
tonychilders1980
9 February 2018|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from 1cuddles | Reviewed this property |
You right of course, will try Lord Moreton next time on your strong recommendation.
0
Votes
anthonymH2667AV
13 December 2017|
AnswerShow all 10 answers
Response from MrD657 | Reviewed this property |
outside in gardens
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$25
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Validated Parking, Wine and Beer, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Groups, View, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 22:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 22:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 22:00
Thursday
12:00 - 22:00
Friday
12:00 - 22:00
Saturday
12:00 - 22:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Chirk Rd | Weston Rhyn, Chirk LL14 5DG, Wales
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  North Wales  >  Wrexham County  >  Chirk
  • Phone Number: +44 1691 773250
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing