We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Begelly Arms

££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
New Road | Pembrokeshire, Begelly SA68 0YF, Wales (Formerly The Sporting Chance Pub & Restaurant)
+44 1834 812601
Website
Today
12:00 - 20:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun 12:00 - 20:00
Mon - Fri 12:00 - 20:30
Sat 12:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

217 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 217: English reviews
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed yesterday NEW

We ate here last Saturday as a family of 8 and had an enjoyable meal. Our order was taken fairly quickly, but immediately after ordering one of our party wished to change their order, but the landlady told us it was too late to change it! However,that aside, the food arrived fairly quickly and was all very good. Food is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa D
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I have been diagnosed with a gluten and dairy intolerence but I am also French therefore food is very important to me. Since, I am terrified of eating out, have been sick countless times after trusting people who gave me an allergy menu but were not bothered at all by the consequences. The Begelly Arms staff treated me with respect,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire V
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. we take our menus very seriously and have for quite a while researched gluten free options and dairy free option for various meals. and we can now adapt a good chunk of our menu, including BBQ sauce white sauces etc to gluten and dairy free options, but we do need to know. some customers still... More 

Neath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had booked a table for 10 in advance for a Sunday Lunch. On arrival we were all asked to stand at the bar whilst our table was put ready? All drinks whether they be cokes or beers tasted like dish water - glasses could not have been rinsed properly! We were then kept waiting whilst staff took phone calls... More 

Helpful?
Thank AdeMawr
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Hi thanks for taking the time to review Firstly I am not sure which party you were with but on checking our diary there was only one and that was 2nd April for 12:30. I have contacted that person who is unaware of any problems on that day, and was happy with what we served. From your initial comment you... More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2017

Having visited the Begelly Arms on numerous occasions my wife and i have not tasted a better Sunday lunch between the Swansea area and Pembrokeshire.The quality is above reproach, and staff extreemly helpful. If Jackie,Peter or their son Dan can help they most certainly go the extra mile to accomodate you. Looking forward to many more visits.Thank you all .... More 

Helpful?
Thank swanseaguy2017
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review I know you visit us on a regular basis and it proves we must be doing something right as we see you consistently. Diolch Peter More 

Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2017

We decided to try The Begelly Arms after enjoying many a delicious meal at The Sporting Chance ( previously run by Peter and Jackie) whilst visiting friends. We all raved over the splendid meals, lovely fresh veg,meals and steaks cooked to perfection. The staff were helpful and friendly( mid week lunchtime) and I was raring to return. Unfortunately , perhaps... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hafodholidays
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

HI I am a bit confused you are comparing us to the pub we left in 2014 3 years ago. I am of course glad you enjoyed the sporting chance pub where we were for 8 happy years but we moved here 3 years ago. I am of course sorry you were dissapointed but would mention we ask our customers... More 

Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2017

Had a lovely sunday roast, have not been to Begelly since it has changed ownership. We thoroughly enjoyed the meal, with three meats to choose from and dishes with four vegetables on the table. The meal did not disappoint, plates were hot which my mum loves to hear, we even managed to have a dessert, they also were good portions... More 

Helpful?
Thank Wendy B
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2017

We went as a very large family so had to be split over two tables. Not ideal but we were next to each other. Food came very quick and was very nice and tasty, but my only complaint was the portion size. One of the meals came only with approx 8 chips! Other than that, lovely place to eat.

Helpful?
2 Thank Willowstar
Merthyr
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Thank you Peter, Jackie and staff of the Begelly Arms for the superb food and entertainment provided on New Year's Eve. This was the third year running that we have stayed at the Begelly and attended their New Year celebrations and had a brilliant night. The hotel room was spotlessly clean, well decorated, lovely and warm and the bed comfortable.... More 

Helpful?
Thank MgtHughes
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Thank you Margaret firstly for taking the time to write a review. we are also thankfull to have you as regular customers. I am glad you enjoyed our new year celebration as did all the other who attended, and already I have people who want to book next year already. Look forward to welcoming you back in March when your... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2016

Booked table for 7 people ,main course good but when came to ordering deserts one of our party doesn't like custard and cannot tolerate full cream. The choice was custard or cream with desert,when asked o substitute for ice cream ,was informed 80p extra as no substitutions. Very poor attitude from both staff and manager. I am sure as scoop... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shell G
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review us we appreciate it. I thank you for the comment on the meals which you acknowledge were good, which I have passed on to our chef. In relation to the desserts. on our dessert menu all desserts are priced as a dessert served with either cream or custard, with Ice... More 

wales
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2016

Had lunch here with friends recently, having heard good reviews, and it being very local. Three of us chose a sandwich option plus fries, the other being an all day large breakfast. Very acceptable food, at reasonable prices. Pleasant and accommodating staff who tweaked our orders to our requirements. Would certainly return.

Helpful?
Thank lovetotravelWales
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your positive review there is just one thing we do not do fries. we make home made chips. appreciate the comments on the staff and I have passed on the comments to them More 

Travellers who viewed The Begelly Arms also viewed

Templeton, Narberth
Kilgetty, Pembrokeshire
 
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
 

Been to The Begelly Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$23
Cuisine
British, Bar, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Kids, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 20:00
Monday
12:00 - 20:30
Tuesday
12:00 - 20:30
Wednesday
12:00 - 20:30
Thursday
12:00 - 20:30
Friday
12:00 - 20:30
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: New Road | Pembrokeshire, Begelly SA68 0YF, Wales (Formerly The Sporting Chance Pub & Restaurant)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Pembrokeshire  >  Begelly
  • Phone Number: +44 1834 812601
Description
We are a family run Hotel,Inn and restaurant, located in the heart of rural wales, close to the Carmarthenshire/Pembrokeshire Border we offer home cooked locally sourced food, which includes a range of budget meals during lunchtimes starting from £5.95 And a full al la carte menu every evening up to 9:00pm except sundays which is 8:00pm children are welcome with a selection of childrens meals from £3.95

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Begelly Arms and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Whitland, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Begelly Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?