We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Begelly Arms

££ - £££
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
New Road | Pembrokeshire, Begelly SA68 0YF, Wales (Formerly The Sporting Chance Pub & Restaurant)
+44 1834 812601
12:00 - 20:30
Closed now
See all hours
Sun 12:00 - 20:00
Mon - Fri 12:00 - 20:30
Sat 12:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

214 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 214: English reviews
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having visited the Begelly Arms on numerous occasions my wife and i have not tasted a better Sunday lunch between the Swansea area and Pembrokeshire.The quality is above reproach, and staff extreemly helpful. If Jackie,Peter or their son Dan can help they most certainly go the extra mile to accomodate you. Looking forward to many more visits.Thank you all .... More 

Thank swanseaguy2017
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We decided to try The Begelly Arms after enjoying many a delicious meal at The Sporting Chance ( previously run by Peter and Jackie) whilst visiting friends. We all raved over the splendid meals, lovely fresh veg,meals and steaks cooked to perfection. The staff were helpful and friendly( mid week lunchtime) and I was raring to return. Unfortunately , perhaps... More 

Thank Hafodholidays
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

HI I am a bit confused you are comparing us to the pub we left in 2014 3 years ago. I am of course glad you enjoyed the sporting chance pub where we were for 8 happy years but we moved here 3 years ago. I am of course sorry you were dissapointed but would mention we ask our customers... More 

Pembroke Dock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017

Had a lovely sunday roast, have not been to Begelly since it has changed ownership. We thoroughly enjoyed the meal, with three meats to choose from and dishes with four vegetables on the table. The meal did not disappoint, plates were hot which my mum loves to hear, we even managed to have a dessert, they also were good portions... More 

Thank Wendy B
Pembrokeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2017

We went as a very large family so had to be split over two tables. Not ideal but we were next to each other. Food came very quick and was very nice and tasty, but my only complaint was the portion size. One of the meals came only with approx 8 chips! Other than that, lovely place to eat.

1 Thank Willowstar
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2017

Thank you Peter, Jackie and staff of the Begelly Arms for the superb food and entertainment provided on New Year's Eve. This was the third year running that we have stayed at the Begelly and attended their New Year celebrations and had a brilliant night. The hotel room was spotlessly clean, well decorated, lovely and warm and the bed comfortable.... More 

Thank MgtHughes
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Thank you Margaret firstly for taking the time to write a review. we are also thankfull to have you as regular customers. I am glad you enjoyed our new year celebration as did all the other who attended, and already I have people who want to book next year already. Look forward to welcoming you back in March when your... More 

2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2016

Booked table for 7 people ,main course good but when came to ordering deserts one of our party doesn't like custard and cannot tolerate full cream. The choice was custard or cream with desert,when asked o substitute for ice cream ,was informed 80p extra as no substitutions. Very poor attitude from both staff and manager. I am sure as scoop... More 

Thank Shell G
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Hello and thank you for taking the time to review us we appreciate it. I thank you for the comment on the meals which you acknowledge were good, which I have passed on to our chef. In relation to the desserts. on our dessert menu all desserts are priced as a dessert served with either cream or custard, with Ice... More 

Level Contributor
72 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2016

Had lunch here with friends recently, having heard good reviews, and it being very local. Three of us chose a sandwich option plus fries, the other being an all day large breakfast. Very acceptable food, at reasonable prices. Pleasant and accommodating staff who tweaked our orders to our requirements. Would certainly return.

Thank lovetotravelWales
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your positive review there is just one thing we do not do fries. we make home made chips. appreciate the comments on the staff and I have passed on the comments to them More 

Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2016 via mobile

Tomato and basil soup was so overpowered by chilli's which they dont tell you about ( what if you don't like spicy food) as for the tomato and basil, no taste whatsoever. No smile and no personality from any of the staff.Asked for menu he said here it is with the word menu on it, but as it was hidden... More 

Thank Jeremy R
Begellyarmslandlord, Owner at The Begelly Arms, responded to this review

Hi and thanks for taking the time to review. we have already had a discussion about the review when you called me, after I messaged you. As I told you we do not use chili's in our soup. but I do acknowledge that there was too much pepper in this one. and as I also explained we expect our customers... More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2016 via mobile

Very nice meal. Plenty of meat & veg and piping hot. Staff were lovely. Very helpful. Will definitely return

Thank Clare R
Solihull, England
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2016

Didn't stay in the hotel but just popped in for a quick pint. It was after 1400hrs so was not expecting food to be served but nice surprise when we were offered a menu. Nice rooms to eat in with a choice of the restaurant or the pub. Food was good quality fare with the lasagne served with garlic bread... More 

Thank Farthings

Travellers who viewed The Begelly Arms also viewed

Templeton, Narberth
Kilgetty, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire
Saundersfoot, Pembrokeshire

Been to The Begelly Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$4 - US$23
British, Bar, Pub, Gluten Free Options
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Television, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Accepts Discover
Good for
Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Open Hours
12:00 - 20:00
12:00 - 20:30
12:00 - 20:30
12:00 - 20:30
12:00 - 20:30
12:00 - 20:30
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: New Road | Pembrokeshire, Begelly SA68 0YF, Wales (Formerly The Sporting Chance Pub & Restaurant)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Wales  >  Pembrokeshire  >  Begelly
  • Phone Number: +44 1834 812601
We are a family run Hotel,Inn and restaurant, located in the heart of rural wales, close to the Carmarthenshire/Pembrokeshire Border we offer home cooked locally sourced food, which includes a range of budget meals during lunchtimes starting from £5.95 And a full al la carte menu every evening up to 9:00pm except sundays which is 8:00pm children are welcome with a selection of childrens meals from £3.95

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Begelly Arms and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Whitland, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Begelly Arms staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?