We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Beach Hut Beachside Bar and Seafood Kitchen

Is this your business?
Forelands Beach | Forelands Field Road, Bembridge PO35 5TR, England
+44 1983 874270
Website
Save
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good19%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“crab” (43 reviews)
“seafood” (43 reviews)
“salad” (33 reviews)
Closed Now
Hours
CUISINES
Seafood, Mediterranean, British, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Forelands Beach | Forelands Field Road, Bembridge PO35 5TR, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (384)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We went to the Beach hut cafe after I had been horse riding at Sallys Riding School...Perfect sunny day amazing views coffee tea and the best Melon cake ever. The staff are so friendly and chatty. Great music playing in the background. Will definitely be...More

Thank Fiametta60
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Just dropped in while waiting for accommodation to be ready. Had two ice creams , very friendly and the layout iin the front garden is unique .

Thank annnov10
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The seafood here is some of the best I’ve ever had and at such a reasonable price and all freshly caught from just around the corner. This place offer great views of the sea, lovely on a spring or summers day. This venue is only...More

Thank Elizabeth K
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This cafe is situated in a fabulous place with it's view looking out tto sea and the Bembridge Lifeboat station. The food was excellent, good value served quickly with a smile! I had a crab baguette which I would describe as the best crab I...More

Thank Vivienne F
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Found the beach hut while walking along the beach. Coffee and carrot cake would have been rude not to.

Thank dd55dd
Reviewed 8 April 2018

We tried here because our usual place for the best crab sandwiches in Bembridge had just closed early at 3pm and so we thought we would try The Beach Hut. I must point out that I have eaten crab, dressed crab and everything crab for...More

3  Thank David W
beach2001, Owner at The Beach Hut Beachside Bar and Seafood Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hi David, we are replacing our original response as we have invested your allegation. No plate of bread was left. We do provide salt and pepper. Our crab comes from the good place on the pontoon you mention. We do not mix bread. We do...More

Reviewed 3 March 2018 via mobile

A special place where arriving by boat seems to be the norm. Beautiful setting and in full sun you have the feeling of being abroad- fun crew running the restaurant with a positive happy feel to the place. The food was good - to be...More

Thank GuyWarrington
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Excellent food. Beautiful view. Delicious crab and prawns. Great service by a friendly bunch. Excellent lunch.

Thank TrevLincs
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

The mackerel and Parma ham dish was lovely. I'd go back for this! The bread was delicious. We also had the bisque and another small dish to share. These were ok. We had our 8 month baby with us and the lady brought out a...More

Thank Jitty30
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Nice big garden, roomy inside, very dog friendly. Lots of seafood on very interesting menu. Great cup of coffee. Lovely fresh crab sandwiches. Very popular.

Thank Jill B
Nearby
Nearby HotelsSee all 115 hotels in Isle of Wight
Warner Leisure Hotels Bembridge Coast Hotel
1,376 reviews
.32 miles away
Priory Bay Hotel
426 reviews
2.37 miles away
Seaview Hotel
478 reviews
3.12 miles away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
259 reviews
3.65 miles away
Nearby Restaurants
Lockslane Contemporary Bistro
256 reviews
.85 miles away
Fox's Restaurant
176 reviews
.87 miles away
Lifeboat View
261 reviews
.53 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Sally's Riding School
308 reviews
.12 miles away
Bembridge Lifeboat Station
453 reviews
.63 miles away
Yaverland Beach
185 reviews
2.95 miles away
Adgestone Vineyard
353 reviews
3.67 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
alanjeanandme
25 April 2017|
Answer
Response from beach2001 | Property representative |
Hi, yes we are very doggie friendly. All 4 paws are welcome everywhere apart from the kitchen! x
1
Vote
mortengroot
12 April 2017|
Answer
Response from beach2001 | Property representative |
Hi, no we don't take reservations in 2017. Just come on down. So call us if the weather is a bit unsettled just to check. x
1
Vote
brian m
5 February 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from beach2001 | Property representative |
Hi, if the tide is out you can walk along the beach and it will take about 15 mins. If it's in the via the road on foot about 30 mins. In the car 5 mins. Our website has Google map and directions. No we are not open in... More
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$3 - US$86
Meals
Lunch, Drinks
Restaurant features
Takeout, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Seating, Wine and Beer, Full Bar, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Kids, Child-friendly, View, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Open Hours
Sunday
11:00 - 17:00
Monday
11:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
11:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
11:00 - 17:00
Thursday
11:00 - 17:00
Friday
11:00 - 17:00
Saturday
11:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Forelands Beach | Forelands Field Road, Bembridge PO35 5TR, England (Formerly The Beach Hut)
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Isle of Wight  >  Bembridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1983 874270
Description
The Beach Hut Beachside Bar and Seafood kitchen is a fresh seafood, cocktail & wine kind of place. Quirky. Outdoor. Seasonal. On the beach. Reached down a few wooden stairs. A tiny hut serving seafood platters, cocktails & wines from 12o/c. This is the spot for fresh seafood platters on a sunny day. Chilled rose. Relaxed. Open on dry days. Do call to check. We dont do tea and cake, afternoon teas, burgers, chips, chicken nuggets and no fancy coffees. Dont arrive in a hurry. Enjoy the view, seafood, cocktails & wine. Cards accepted. Casual dress. Blankets/sunscreen provided. CAMPING LOO! Baby changing and baby food heating facilities. Kids welcome with a small kids menu and a few toys to play with. Food is cooked to order from a kisok, so expect a wait. Local IW crab and lobster (if the fishermen can get out and we haven't sold out). Most of our menu is Gluten free. We are not posh, our furniture doesn't match. But we are friendly and relaxed. Bring kids, dogs and a jumper! X
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing