We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Bell Inn

££ - £££, British,
Rectory Lane, Parkham, Bideford EX39 5PL, England
+44 1237 451201
Call
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent72%
  • Very good17%
  • Average7%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (11 reviews)
“fruit compote” (2 reviews)
“sunday roast” (8 reviews)
Opens in 14 min
All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Rectory Lane, Parkham, Bideford EX39 5PL, England
All Details
Write a ReviewReviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2017

This is a nice pub and it does excellent food. I am specially fond of the pies as they do proper short crust pastry pies. I had an excellent Steak and Pigmy with copious vegetables. They also do vegetarian, as one of our party was...More

Thank Awislon
Reviewed 1 February 2017

We called in here for lunch whilst house-hunting in the village and definitely want it as our local if we can! We were made very welcome by the landlady, the landlord cooked us an excellent lunch and the surroundings were warm and comfortable - what...More

Thank Jean W
Reviewed 24 November 2016

Due to the fact that we live in Essex I haven't been to The Bell for a while. I was not disappointed and very pleased to see that this pub still has all the qualities I look for in a country pub: a warm welcome,...More

Thank Gurner
477rachel50, Owner at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2016

Thank you for your review, we look forward to seeing you in 2017.

Reviewed 1 November 2016

Had a wonderful meal as always, went with friends, and the food and service was fabulous, would always recommend eating there, can wait to go back

Thank sarahmelvint10
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Whilst stopping in Parkham we visited this establishment twice once for a drink and then a second night for food, We had to phone and book as we saw it seemed to be very popular so we did on a Friday night and we were...More

1  Thank gromitsmate
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

Visited whilst on holiday on a Saturday night after searching local restaurants. It was their winter menu but managed to accommodate my sons request of burger even though no longer on the menu. It was a veried menu and the food was lovely and very...More

Thank M c
Reviewed 4 October 2016 via mobile

we were visiting on holiday and decided to fine somewhere for Sunday lunch near by. after reading a few good reviews we booked a table and glad i did it gets busy. we were first which us time to get comfortable. the pub to some...More

1  Thank Neil C
Reviewed 21 September 2016

A Monday night and a superb meal. Arrived at 5.30, but no food cooked until at least 6pm. All fresh, home cooked and delicious. Pub very friendly with a smattering of locals chatting amiably. Steak, home made chips, home made onion rings x2, x2 drinks...More

Thank Gary H
Reviewed 18 September 2016

Went with friends for Sunday lunch,(and stayed till late) it was just fabulous!!! As was the pudding, great atmosphere lovely staff, and landlady and landlord(chief) very welcoming, Would recommend to anyone, and will be going back very soon, 4 very happy customers :)

Thank sarahmelvint10
Reviewed 16 September 2016

We ate at The Bell as a party of four on a Saturday evening but I'm afraid the experience disappointed and we are unlikely to return any time soon. We'd been to The Bell before so we were expecting friendly service, good home-cooked food and...More

2  Thank Seamo
477rachel50, Owner at The Bell Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2016

Thank you for this review , We always take note of criticisms and try to improve . We are very sorry that you had such a terrible visit last Saturday, we apologise your experience at the Bell was not up to our normal high standards.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Bell Inn
61 reviews
2.60 miles away
Woolsery Fish and Chips
15 reviews
3.49 miles away
The Cottage Tea Rooms
157 reviews
4.91 miles away
Nearby Attractions
The Milky Way Adventure Park
1,422 reviews
3.93 miles away
The Big Sheep.
2,151 reviews
4.08 miles away
The Gnome Reserve & Wild Flower Garden
395 reviews
4.15 miles away
Clovelly Village
1,774 reviews
4.90 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
pennybrice
23 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Neil C | Reviewed this property |
there was many dogs there when we visted.
0
Votes
Margie S
6 November 2015|
Answer
Response from Jannerbloke |
Do you have disabled access? Do you have free wifi? Do you allow children and or well behaved dogs? What are your opening days and hours? Do you bake all your own food? Do you take part in the 'suspended coffee... More
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$12 - US$24
Meals
Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Street Parking, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible, Free Wifi, Accepts Credit Cards
Good for
Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 20:30
Monday
00:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 23:00
Tuesday
00:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 23:00
Wednesday
00:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 23:00
Thursday
00:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 23:00
Friday
00:00 - 15:00
17:00 - 23:00
Saturday
00:00 - 15:00
17:30 - 23:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Rectory Lane, Parkham, Bideford EX39 5PL, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Devon  >  Torridge  >  Bideford  >  Parkham
  • Phone Number: +44 1237 451201
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing