We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Get food delivered

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

CUISINES
Indian, Asian, Bangladeshi, Balti
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly, Vegan Options, Gluten Free Options, Halal
Meals
Dinner, After-hours
View all details
meals, features
Reviews (293)
We perform checks on reviews.
Tripadvisor’s approach to reviews
Before posting, each Tripadvisor review goes through an automated tracking system, which collects information, answering the following questions: how, what, where and when. If the system detects something that potentially contradicts our community guidelines, the review is not published.
When the system detects a problem, a review may be automatically rejected, sent to the reviewer for validation, or manually reviewed by our team of content specialists, who work 24/7 to maintain the quality of the reviews on our site.
Our team checks each review posted on the site disputed by our community as not meeting our community guidelines.
Learn more about our review moderation.
Filter reviews
293 results
Traveller rating
202
41
15
16
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
202
41
15
16
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews naan breads best indian the early bird menu indian restaurant food was amazing regulars
Sort and selected filters
Sort FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really nice food really enjoyed it xxx will defo go again and fast delivery excellent! Good delivery nice lady delivered

Date of visit: April 2024
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2024

As always first class food, great menu and a good choice of vegan meals. The early bird offer is amazing value and still of the same quality and quantity. 👍

Date of visit: January 2024
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ahmed Ullah, Owner at Emon Spice Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2024

Thank you Lesley

Reviewed 4 January 2024

A remarkably impolite encounter with the staff unfolded despite the restaurant's sparse occupancy during our visit. While my partner and I were patiently awaiting service inside the establishment, I utilized the restroom due to the elapsed wait time. To my dismay, the assumed manager vociferously...reprimanded me in front of the entire restaurant, creating an embarrassing scene. Despite our efforts to clarify the situation—that we were waiting for a table, and my partner remained in line while I briefly stepped away—the manager persisted in his aggressive behavior. Following this distressing incident, we concluded that no culinary experience justified such disrespectful treatment. The manager's inexplicable uproar prompts bewilderment, prompting this review to highlight the unwarranted rudeness encountered.More

Date of visit: December 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ahmed Ullah, Owner at Emon Spice Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2024

I think you are talking about new year eve. All my customer were happy. I think you were a new customer to my establishment, you were expecting 5 star service on a new year eve. They you have explained about the service. I disagree with...More

Reviewed 3 October 2023 via mobile

Had a takeaway delivered tonight for 3, I ordered for myself:- Starter - Lamb Tikka, to be honest was tough, not nice at all and 4 pieces about 1” square, 2 out of 10 Main - Meat Karahi, was tasty and adequate portion size, 6...out of 10 Mushroom Pilau Rice 6 out of 10 Keema Naan - no keema inside, 1 out of 10 The pickle tray was barely enough for 1 person only Can’t comment personally on the other food ordered by family but they weren’t overly impressed. Have eaten in the restaurant a few times and mostly enjoyed the experience, I will try again but if no better will switch to VoujonMore

Date of visit: October 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 August 2023

WOW!!! What an amazing meal! I can't recommend this Indian Restaurant highly enough. I only went for my meal last night but I think I'm going to book again for later in the week (it was that good!!).

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ahmed Ullah, Owner at Emon Spice Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2023

Thank you for your review

Reviewed 28 July 2023

Terrible, miserable service (apart from the young lad who was nice), my "Garlic King Prawn" starter had never seen a King Prawn! Just little bits of shrimp with pitiful garlic mushed up with yellow lettuce. Main was Garlic & Chilli Masala, approx four 1/2 teaspoons...of 'meat' in a burnt and bitter curry sauce. Absolutely poor. All other members of the family agreed, one of which only had one spoonful of his! As stated in another post, how do people come up with their good reviews is beyond me. Never to return.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ahmed Ullah, Owner at Emon Spice Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2023

Sorry 1st I disagree with your complaint about my king prawn.

Reviewed 21 July 2023 via mobile

I eat Indian food all over the UK (around 200 places now) and this is one of the worst I’ve had. The restaurant is tired and the staff don’t seem happy (except the young lad who was the best). The Cobra was nice and cold...and that’s about it. Very poor quality meat, dry and overcooked. The sauces were all similar with no love or care at all. It reminded all of us as a frozen meal from the supermarket. I’ve no idea how they have the reviews they do. I never give people low marks as people’s livelihoods but this was very poor indeed.More

Date of visit: July 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ahmed Ullah, Owner at Emon Spice Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2023

I just don't know what to say. We provide best quality lamb leg meat.

Reviewed 9 April 2023 via mobile

We were away for the Easter weekend and being Easter Sunday wasn’t sure what would be open. We fancied an Indian takeaway and I found Emon Spice lounge, but then my boyfriend pointed out that as we were staying in a hotel how were we...going to eat it! Good point! So we decided we would eat in. The food was amazing, we loved it so much. Unfortunately we are from Kent otherwise we’d be regulars!! The nann breads and onion bhaji were the best I’ve ever had. I had a lamb Balti which not only tasted great, it smelt great too. The prices are very good and we were surprised at how cheap the drinks were. Highly recommend! And there is parking directly outside. Thank you for a lovely mealMore

Date of visit: April 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ahmed Ullah, Owner at Emon Spice Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2023

thank you.

Reviewed 9 February 2023 via mobile

This place baffles me a little. It is by far the best Indian restaurant for miles around and certainly in this area yet the restaurant is always fairly quiet. The food is and always has been amazing. The service is great and the staff friendly....The Early Bird menu offers a three course meal for just under £10. There is no better value anywhere in my opinion. If you are looking for quality then you should give it try .More

Date of visit: February 2023
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 December 2022 via mobile

Just finished our “traditional” Christmas dinner at Emon Spice. Great service and the food was excellent as usual. Definitely recommend to anyone looking for an alternative to a turkey dinner

Date of visit: December 2022
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ahmed Ullah, Owner at Emon Spice Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2023

thank you.

Reviewed 23 April 2022 via mobile

Had an amazing night , food was amazing and the staff where so friendly and helpful, will certainly be going back

Date of visit: April 2022
Helpful?1  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ahmed Ullah, Owner at Emon Spice Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2023

Thank you.

Reviewed 19 December 2021 via mobile

After ordering a takeaway from Emon a couple of times and absolutely loving it, my partner, a couple of friends and I went for a meal. It’s a traditionally decorated restaurant, with well spaced out tables. You did not feel like you could overhear other...people and they could hear you etc and it felt more safe than other places for Covid safety. The staff were polite and attentive, eager to answer any questions and food was prompt and absolutely delicious. We were not in anyway rushed to finish our meal and everyone absolutely loved their food and it was very well priced for four people with some alcohol. I also like that upon entry you can see the kitchen. Would 100% recommend for takeaway and dine in.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?2  
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ahmed Ullah, Owner at Emon Spice Lounge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2023

Thank you.

Reviewed 8 November 2021

A great takeaway menu with all the usual's plus house specials. Items tend to be on the 'hot' side but clearly marked in the menu. All well packaged and reasonable prices.

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 June 2021

My husband and I went to Emon Spice for a meal last night, we were really looking forward to it after not going there for awhile. They brought a “hot plate” which was only lukewarm, when the meal arrived it too wasn’t much warmer. We...ate some of it, the best part of it was the nann bread, it was lovely, and hot. We complained about this to the waiter who said he could warm it up, but didn’t seem that bothered really, didn’t even apologise for thi. When we went to pay, my husband told the chap that we had been very disappointed with the meal, and what had happened, and he didn’t seem that bothered either, I expected him to knock something off the bill, but no, he charged us the full amount and seemed pleased to do so. Then had the cheek to say, see you again. After that experience we won’t be going back there ever again. It cost my husband over £27, what a complete waste of money.More

Date of visit: June 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2021 via mobile

First takeaway in a while, but just as amazing as ever!! Chicken madras, fab! Mixed starter, fab! Naan breads, fab! I would recommend Emon to everyone, can’t wait to dine in

Date of visit: May 2021
Helpful?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Cave Castle Hotel
1,212 reviews
3.13 miles away
Travelodge Hull South Cave
324 reviews
3.88 miles away
Hull BW, Signature Collection by Best Western
1,908 reviews
4.35 miles away
Rowley Manor Country House Hotel
1,376 reviews
4.37 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Lara Bellas
13 reviews
.15 miles away
Ferry Inn
120 reviews
.19 miles away
The Village Paint Pot
51 reviews
.93 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Welton Waters Adventure Centre
21 reviews
1.46 miles away
Beauty969
7 reviews
3.09 miles away
Drewton's Farm Shop
364 reviews
4.49 miles away
William's Den
447 reviews
4.72 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
j8jsocks
2 November 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Ahmed U | Property representative |
Yes we will try our level best to provide a tandoori turkey for you. Yes they will be Christmas crackers on the table. Just to remind you that we asking for a small deposit of £5.00 pp.. Christmas day booking.
0
Votes
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing

EMON SPICE LOUNGE, Brough - Updated 2024 Restaurant Reviews, Menu, Prices & Restaurant Reviews - Food Delivery & Takeaway - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Emon Spice Lounge

Yes, Emon Spice Lounge offers takeaway services.

Yes, Emon Spice Lounge offers delivery services.

Emon Spice Lounge is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4