We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Bull

) #1 of 15 Restaurants in Corbridge ££ - £££ , British,
Middle Street, Corbridge NE45 5AT, England
+44 1434 632261
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent49%
  • Very good35%
  • Average10%
  • Poor4%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
“mixed grill” (10 reviews)
“lamb shank” (14 reviews)
Open Now
08:00 - 20:00All hours
CUISINES
Bar, British, Pub, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Middle Street, Corbridge NE45 5AT, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (754)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 744 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Visiting the north of England from the USA I usually stay away from beef ( sorry British farmers.) however theBlack Bull have changed my mind and prejudice against British Beef. This was absolutely the best pie I have ever had . Served in its own...More

Thank Susan S
Reviewed 2 days ago

Very Good Service, Starter was very good value ad well presented, while the main course of fish and chips was ample with lovely batter around the fish. Good selection of beers.

Thank wardthomashenry
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile

Really enjoyed our visit to the Black Bull. The food was mostly a traditional pub menu. The steak and ale pie was wonderful and my wife enjoyed her fish and chips. Would definitely go back if we visited here again.

Thank Greenowlhaven
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review and delighted you enjoyed your visit and the food,we hope to welcome you again next time you are visiting Corbridge. Regards Linda:)

Reviewed 5 days ago

We were attracted by the lovely flower boxes on the front of the building. The drinks were ok, but decor is very poor. So dark we could not read the menu so we left!!!More

Thank Judy M
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for your review and we are disappointed that you have given us a 2 star review because you couldn't read the menu but unsure of the time you visited daytime or evening but if you do wish to visit again we can provide...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

A group of us dined here where the fish and chips and beef and ale pie were both popular choices. Both dishes proved to be good. Although there were nine in our party we were served quickly and did not have to wait very long...More

Thank durhamd
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking time to do a review on your recent visit, we are delighted you enjoyed our beef pie and fish and chips, hope you can all visit again to sample some other dishes from the menu. Linda :)

Reviewed 1 week ago

Ate here with 5 other friends, and we all really enjoyed our meal. Service was really attentive, and it was reasonably priced.

Thank NickyU
Reviewed 1 week ago

We have,nt been to this Restaurant for around two years but decided to try it to see if it was as good as it was before. It was! Very pleasant staff who found a quiet table away from the main bar. The meal was served...More

Thank cattdvd
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for doing a review and your lovely comments, I will share it with our team and hope you can visit again soon Regards Linda

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Catch of the day, the ultimate fish and chips. Would recommend to my mum. But she lives in Cheshire, so it won't really be convenient for her to do the 6 hour round trip.

Thank Chris D
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks for doing a review and recommending one of our best sellers 'fish and chips',it is one of my favourite dishes and I hope you mam can come and visit so that she can sample the fish and chips herself:) Regards Linda.

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in Corbridge for the night and had a couple of drinks and a lovely meal in the Black Bull, booking may be required but we were found a table with no hassle and not harried to finish our meal as you sometimes get when...More

Thank Ross M
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking time to do a review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay in Corbridge and the food we served to you, hoping you can visit us again in the future :) Linda

A TripAdvisor Member
74
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A very busy pub, so must be good we thought when booking over 3 months ago. And we were not disappointed. The staff were very good and attentive and the food was very good. Recommend it to anyone.

Thank A TripAdvisor Member
linda7639, General Manager at Black Bull, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for a 5 star review, we appreciate you taking the time to do a review and your kind comments will be shared with our team. We do hope you will visit us again:) Regards Linda

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
Massey's traditional tea room
197 reviews
.01 miles away
Watling Coffee House
268 reviews
.09 miles away
The Corbridge Larder
113 reviews
.05 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Corbridge Roman Town
342 reviews
.54 miles away
Shepherds Dene
9 reviews
2.53 miles away
Northumberland Sausage Company
88 reviews
2.11 miles away
Aydon Castle
124 reviews
1.43 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Lesley Y
8 November 2016|
Answer Show all 2 answers
Response from linda7639 | Property representative |
Sorry we do not allow dogs into the pub
0
Votes
Jayjay R
11 August 2016|
Answer Show all 7 answers
Response from Featherfox | Reviewed this property |
If I were you, I would ask them via their emailaddress. No clue but normally British pubs are pro dogs.
0
Votes
Google Translation
Trevor F
12 July 2016|
Answer Show all 4 answers
Response from expectsthebest | Reviewed this property |
I wouldn't think so. It verges on fine dining.
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$7 - US$20
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks
Restaurant features
Outdoor Seating, Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Television, Highchairs Available, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Wheelchair Accessible
Good for
Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Open Hours
Sunday
10:00 - 20:00
Monday
08:00 - 20:00
Tuesday
08:00 - 20:00
Wednesday
08:00 - 20:00
Thursday
08:00 - 20:00
Friday
08:00 - 20:00
Saturday
10:00 - 20:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Middle Street, Corbridge NE45 5AT, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Northumberland  >  Corbridge
  • Phone Number: +44 1434 632261
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing