We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Woolpack Inn Restaurant

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
Beacon Lane, Brookland TN29 9TJ, England
+44 1797 344321
Website
Today
12:00 - 21:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Mon - Fri 12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Sat - Sun 12:00 - 21:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 204: English reviews
Dymchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Glorious. The only word in the English language to describe this place. Sorry to be so late in reviewing my visit of last month but better late than never! Set in rural Kent the Woolpack defies expectations to provide a superb dining experience. Our menu consisted of whole grilled trout (done to perfection) and moules, 1kg worth. Food was presented... More 

Helpful?
Thank itsatrap1955
danielray1990, Owner at The Woolpack Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you again From all at The Woolpack More 

1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Big portions, reasonably priced, good service and polite staff. 'Pub food' at its best Will return in the future and will recommend to friends and family

Helpful?
Thank Daziu
danielray1990, Owner at The Woolpack Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you again From all at The Woolpack More 

New Romney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Very disappointing visit with family for lunch today! The beef was chewy, slimy and very boil in the bag. The barmaid had commented to someone that it was cooked in gravy so not a joint that is carved. The Yorkshire was soggy and veg undercooked, I like my veg al dente but not raw. I'm afraid we won't be returning.

Helpful?
Thank sammyann
danielray1990, Owner at The Woolpack Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Dear trip adviser. We are sorry you had a bad experience. The roast beef is cooked fresh on the premises and then hand carved. We then layer it in gravy to keep it warm whilst it is being served during Sunday lunch. I can only apologise if your veg was under cooked and Yorkshire soggy. Please don't let this put... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2016

Went to the Woolpack Inn for lunch and found a delightful Pub Restaurant in New Romney Kent The quaint 15th Century build premises show you low ceiling beamed bar and has a good range of beers including Shepherd & Neame ales. The menu range was not too over crowded with different items but offered a good selection. They also had... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ray L
danielray1990, Owner at The Woolpack Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you again From all at The Woolpack More 

Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2016

Lovely old pub with really low ceilings but very quaint. Found this pub purely by chance, seen the name on the roof when passing in the car, so thought we'd give it a try and we were please we did. Food is very nice and tasty, not flash but good value. We had gammon on the first night and it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jeanlee2014
danielray1990, Owner at The Woolpack Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you again From all at The Woolpack More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,346 reviews
651 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 680 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely historical pub with a good car park and outdoor seating as well as plenty of seats inside as well The staff were very friendly and helpful and served us quickly and efficiently The food was good portions and very tasty I had the Homemade Vegetable Curry with Nan Bread and chutney which was very good and... More 

Helpful?
Thank badmintontim
danielray1990, Owner at The Woolpack Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you again From all at The Woolpack More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2016 via mobile

We unfortunately visited this pub at the end of our holiday wish we had visited earlier as we would have returned. Lovely meal, we recommend the lamb shank and the pie, the fish and chips looked good as well. Such large portions! Lovely friendly staff and excellent beer made this meal. Really recommend a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Jill G
danielray1990, Owner at The Woolpack Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you again From all at The Woolpack More 

Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2016

We have been here a couple of times before but this time we were with some friends over from the Netherlands. We all had the Sunday roast & it was superb. The portions were generous but manageable, although we didn't have room for a dessert! The vegetables were cooked to perfection - not crunchy, just nicely tender. The roast potatoes... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pat A
danielray1990, Owner at The Woolpack Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you again From all at The Woolpack More 

Basildon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Having been disappointed with the Woolpack in the past, we arrived back here, only because we had my elderly mother with us and were on our normal trip between Essex & E Sussex and needed a stop. So glad we did! We have been coming here for 10 years; the first few years we loved this place, then it got... More 

Helpful?
Thank stmoritz1960
danielray1990, Owner at The Woolpack Inn Restaurant, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we look forward to seeing you again From all at The Woolpack More 

Essex/Sussex
Level Contributor
63 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2016

I have eaten at the Woolpack Inn many times over the last 10 years, and I am pleased to say today's meal was one of the best I have had. The mixed grill is back to its best, bigger and better, so much so the chips came on a separate plate. Nicely cooked and piping hot. The liver was particularly... More 

Helpful?
Thank UKGezz

Travellers who viewed The Woolpack Inn Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Woolpack Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
Average prices
US$8 - US$26
Cuisine
Bar, British, Pub, Gluten Free Options, Vegetarian Friendly
Meals
Brunch, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Buffet, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Free Off-Street Parking, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Wine and Beer, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa
Good for
Cheap Eats, View, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
12:00 - 21:00
Monday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Tuesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Wednesday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Thursday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Friday
12:00 - 14:30
18:00 - 21:00
Saturday
12:00 - 21:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Beacon Lane, Brookland TN29 9TJ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Kent  >  Brookland
  • Phone Number: +44 1797 344321
Description
The Woolpack, dating from 1410, retains many of its original features such as wattle-and-daub walls and a low, beamed ceiling. Its name comes from its popularity with `owlers'- wool smugglers- who used the inn as a base for their lucrative trade. The Woolpack is so perfectly old-fashioned that very little had to be altered when, in 1947, scenes from `The Loves of Joanna Godden' were filmed there. Located in great walking country, the Woolpack is a perfect place to stop and satisfy the thirst and appetite during a day out in the country. Excellent traditional pub food is served with all fish and game are locally sourced and the delicious mature British beef steaks are always prepared to the individual customer's taste. The pub has two large beer gardens with neat lawns, shrubs, hanging baskets, picnic benches and a barbecue area. We are a family run pub and extend a warm welcome to all who come. 'No reservation no problem' At the Woolpack we do not take bookings or resevations, however we have plenty of tables including large tables for big parties. Whether you live near or are just passing by we aim to provide and excellent dining and drinking experience for customers. We do however take bookings for Christmas for individuals, couple or big parties as we have a set menu.

Questions & Answers

Here's what previous visitors have asked, with answers from representatives of The Woolpack Inn Restaurant and other visitors
1 question
Ask a question
Lydd, United Kingdom

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Woolpack Inn Restaurant staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?