We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Howgate Restaurant

) #1 of 25 Restaurants in Penicuik ££ - £££ European, British,
Howgate Village, Penicuik EH26 8PY, Scotland
+44 1968 670000
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent74%
  • Very good20%
  • Average4%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“steak” (56 reviews)
“cullen skink” (22 reviews)
“brie” (14 reviews)
Closed
All hours
CUISINES
European, British, Scottish, Vegetarian Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Howgate Village, Penicuik EH26 8PY, Scotland
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 10 of 392 reviews

Reviewed yesterday via mobile

This was the second time in recent months that we had visited the howgate. The first visit was to the bistro and this visit was to the main restaurant. The service and quality of food was impeccable. I would highly recommend it for either a...More

Thank kevinsmith29
Reviewed 2 days ago

So sad to read of the closure of The Howgate Restaurant. My favorite place to dine for a special occasion. Didn't visit often - once or twice a year, birthday celebration and Christmas mainly, but was consistently very good and to a very high standard....More

Thank a s
Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited Penicuik for our friends retirement party and as the Howgate was a favourite of theirs , we called there first to purchase a voucher as a present . Our friends were over the moon and looked forward to their meal only to find it...More

Thank ennaid57
Nigel H, Owner at The Howgate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Ennaid Thank you for your kind words, the Howgate Restaurant has had the support of many loyal customers over the years so i have made sure that and I personally have covered any loss they may have incurred due to the unfortunate business closure....More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very sorry to see this restaurant close - I've been enjoying their cuisine since they opened 20 years ago. Food of the Gods Nigel, food of the Gods! David R

Thank MisterQuartet
Nigel H, Owner at The Howgate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thanks David A sad day indeed....... Unfortunately the new drink driving limits, reduced customer numbers and increased costs have forced us out of business. Best regards Nigel

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Was looking forward to having a nice meal here but its now closed,a bit frustrating as my daughter spent her hard earned money on a voucher just two weeks ago.

2  Thank thor163
Nigel H, Owner at The Howgate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Thor, Thank you for your email, Please can you privately email me on nigel@howgate.com Best regards Nigel

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What has happened. Just tried to book and the website has disappeared and there is an answering machine message saying they have ceased trading! Was a great place, so sad!More

6  Thank John R
Nigel H, Owner at The Howgate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear John, thank you for your kind words Yes unfortunately The Howgate closed its doors for the last time on Sunday after nearly 20 years of trading , a very sad day for us all. A combination of increasing costs, dwindling customer numbers and the...More

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked a table here whilst visiting the area based on TA reviews. It was a Sunday evening and busy but not crowded. The Howgate is a gem of a find! Interesting menu, charming service and surprisingly good wine. We tried the haggis 'moneybag' starter;...More

2  Thank janineelizabeth2016
Nigel H, Owner at The Howgate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Janine Thank you for your review Unfortunately your visit was our last night of trading and the restaurant closed on Sunday night after you left, but it is very satisfying for the whole team to know that one of our last customers enjoyed their...More

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Love the atmosphere and staff. Good selection of local meats and fish. I had steak pie last time and lamb this time. Also wonderfully creamy Cullen Skink.

2  Thank elliemae223
Nigel H, Owner at The Howgate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Elliemae, Many thanks for your kind words Look forward to welcoming you back soon Best regards Nigel

Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

I recently ate here with my family. Group of 6. Was well impressed with the service and the food was delicious. Will be a place for a return soon. Thanks again

2  Thank R_scottland
Nigel H, Owner at The Howgate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2017

Many thanks for your kind review, We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. kind regards Nigel

Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

If you haven't been for a while, don't bother! It had been a while since my last visit so I was looking forward to this visit but oh, what a disappointment. No maître de, inattentive & untrained staff. The place has lost all its friendly...More

4  Thank helenmoffat51
Nigel H, Owner at The Howgate Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2017

Dear Helen Thank you for your review We are disappointed that you did not enjoy your recent visit. Our decision to stop offering draft ales was simply due to the fact that we no longer had a large enough demand to from our customers to...More

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The original Rosslyn Hotel
214 reviews
4.18 miles away
Cibo
392 reviews
4.01 miles away
Little Italy
240 reviews
2.40 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Krazy Kidz
30 reviews
1.69 miles away
Rosslyn Chapel
2,512 reviews
4.14 miles away
Don Coyote Outdoor Centre
250 reviews
4.48 miles away
Glencorse Golf Club
28 reviews
1.75 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
babybethan
4 June 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Nigel H | Property representative |
lunch is served from 12.00 - 15.00 with last orders @ 14.00. we do have a kids menu and offer smaller portions of the main menu that would be suitable for kids.
0
Votes
candidacasa
23 October 2016|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from GRB-hsbsb | Reviewed this property |
you had best call the restaurant to ask this.
1
Vote
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner, Brunch
Restaurant features
Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Reservations, Private Dining, Seating, Waitstaff
Good for
Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Open Hours
Sunday
00:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:30
Tuesday
00:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:30
Wednesday
00:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:30
Thursday
00:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:30
Friday
00:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:30
Saturday
00:00 - 14:00
18:00 - 21:30
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Howgate Village, Penicuik EH26 8PY, Scotland
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  Scotland  >  Midlothian  >  Penicuik
  • Phone Number: +44 1968 670000
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing