We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ratings and reviews

RATINGS
Food
Service
Value
Atmosphere

Details

PRICE RANGE
US$3 - US$11
CUISINES
Cafe, British
Special Diets
Vegetarian Friendly
View all details
meals, features, about
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveller rating
253
69
17
7
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
Traveller rating
253
69
17
7
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lunch cakes soup carrot cake trifle potatoes pork pie bread farm shop afternoon tea tea room great cafe lovely food lovely setting chips cyclists egg
Selected filters
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
Reviewed 2 December 2021

I was soo relieved to find my phone - I had dropped it outside the tea room yesterday (when visiting the physio in the Spud Shed). Someone from the tea rooms managed to phone one of my emergency numbers and track me down and I...was able to collect the phone. So relieved and grateful for your honesty! THANK YOU SO MUCH!More

Date of visit: December 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 21 November 2021

We pre booked a table for 2 for breakfast , we were seated in front of the big glass doors, which had a cold breeze coming in through as the door did not fit properly. As there were plenty of tables unoccupied, we asked to...be moved to a different table. Upon checking the waitress came back and said as the other tables were booked for lunch, we couldn't be moved, this was at 11.20? We waited 45 mins for our breakfast to arrive, by which time the tea in the pot was luke warm. Food eventually arrived, but the toast was burnt and the eggs and mushrooms hardly cooked. We ate what was edible. It was 12.20 by now, and there was still 4 tables for 2 unoccupied, same as when we had come in an hour earlier , so no reason we could not have been moved! Nobody bothered asking if our meal was OK and when paying the bill and voicing politely our disappointment we were told ' sorry but we are busy today ' .! We will not be returning!More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Helen C, Public Relations Manager at Owd Barn at Bispham, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2021

Evening Desmond, Thank you for visiting us and very sorry to see your review. If I remember correctly, yes you were prebooked but only rang up to book half an hour ish before you wanted to come, so a lot of my regular customers were...More

Reviewed 11 November 2021 via mobile

We were seated to our table after having a lovely beauty treatment in the spud shed. The table was presented beautifully next to the Christmas tree. Our afternoon tea was delightful, plenty or savoury sandwiches, pastries and cakes too with a lovely pot of hot...tea. The surroundings were gorgeous, very cosy and festive. The ladies serving were all polite and attentive. All round a great experience!More

Date of visit: November 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 31 October 2021

Went to Owd Barn with family for brunch on Wednesday 27th... Booked table for 10.45.We arrived about 5 minutes early and we're seated immediately. The waitress took our order within 5 minutes. Although the drinks came as expected it was gone 11.30 before our breakfasts...were served... I did not expect to wait nearly 40 minutes for our food. We are regular visitors and recommend the place to our friends and family but this is the second time in a row that the wait has been disappointing. I understand that the food is freshly prepared but they didn't seem over busy on the day. Sorry, I don't like giving a negative review.... But if they are unaware the service can't be improved on. The food, by the way, was very good as usual.More

Date of visit: October 2021
Helpful?
Helen C, General Manager at Owd Barn at Bispham, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2021

Good Evening, I’m very sorry to see your review and to read about your disappointment about the wait. We strive to get our food out as fast as we can and as you mentioned yourself it as it’s all freshly made it can some times...More

Reviewed 19 September 2021

Lovely breakfast and great service.Great little find and the benefit of a little farm shop onsite ..

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 17 September 2021

Perfect in every way. The setting, the service, the choice of food, the taste and presentation can only be praised to the highest level. I don't write reviews but for such a wonderful experience I just had to.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 3 September 2021 via mobile

A really nice setting in an old barn in a rural village. Small but tasty snack style menu. Staff really lovely and efficient.

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 1 September 2021

I had a lovely afternoon tea with my aunties. It came nicely presented on a tiered stand, we had soup, chips, sausage roll, sandwiches, cheese & chutney tart, pork pie, jelly & cream, scone jam & cream, little French fancy type cake, lemon drizzle cake...and tea. I just wish I had taken a photo before I tucked in! The place has a lovely rustic feel and is clean. The staff all very friendly and overall it is great value for money.More

Date of visit: September 2021
Helpful?
Reviewed 29 August 2021 via mobile

Picturesque setting, beautiful building, delicious food and attentive service. My partner and I visited on a Saturday morning for breakfast. We sat outside but also had a wander around the excellent shop attached to the tea rooms. We’ve found our new regular breakfast stop!

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?1  
Reviewed 24 August 2021

Called here as we had read all the reviews and were really looking forward to visiting. However in reality we found the food to be very unimaginative and lack lustre. My husband had pie which had the worst pastry ever and my salad was old...fashioned and quite tasteless. Just goes to show you cant believe everything you read.More

Date of visit: August 2021
Helpful?
Helen C, General Manager at Owd Barn at Bispham, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2021

Evening Lizzie, I’m sorry to read your review, we are only basic home cooking as myself and family make it, just cooks not chefs. We don’t try and advertise our meals as anything else but traditional home cooking but it seems to prove popular with...More

View more reviews
Best nearby
Best nearby hotelsSee all
Rufford Arms Hotel
354 reviews
2.24 miles away
The Wrightington Hotel & Health Club
673 reviews
3.92 miles away
Best Western Park Hall Hotel & Leisure Club
1,512 reviews
3.95 miles away
Ramada by Wyndham Chorley South
120 reviews
4.03 miles away
Best nearby restaurantsSee all
Eagle & Child
395 reviews
.63 miles away
The Red Lion
133 reviews
1.09 miles away
Eden Tearoom & Galleries
38 reviews
2.19 miles away
Rufford Arms
329 reviews
2.25 miles away
Best nearby attractionsSee all
Rock and River Outdoor Pursuits
37 reviews
1.65 miles away
Rufford Old Hall
547 reviews
1.66 miles away
Mbark Canal Cruises
24 reviews
2.19 miles away
Lancashire Canal Cruises
1,192 reviews
2.24 miles away
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Henderson2812
10 June 2018|
Answer
Response from helena179 | Property representative |
Hello, sorry for the delay in replying. I’m afraid we aren’t near the centre of ormskirk or Rufford. We are in quite a rural location. Hope you manage to make your way to us x
0
Votes
kellyh538
12 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from helena179 | Property representative |
Hello Kelly, we have a couple of areas which are suitable for wheelchairs but the best idea is to call and book a table and inform us of your needs upon booking so that we can ensure that an appropriate table is availablefor... More
1
Vote
Andrew K
21 April 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from helena179 | Property representative |
I'm afraid we don't allow dogs inside the tearoom but we have plenty of seating outside if you wish to bring your dog along 😀 Hope this helps.
1
Vote
Is This Your Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Free Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Owd Barn at Bispham

Yes, Owd Barn at Bispham offers takeaway services.

Owd Barn at Bispham is rated accordingly in the following categories by Tripadvisor travellers:
  • Food: 4.5
  • Service: 4.5
  • Value: 4.5
  • Atmosphere: 4.5