We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Soljans Cafe

Certificate of Excellence
££ - £££
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Get directions
366 State Highway 16, Kumeu 0892, New Zealand (Formerly Soljans Estate Winery & Cafe)
+64 9-412 2680
Website
Today
09:00 - 17:00
Closed now
See all hours
Hours:
Sun - Sat 09:00 - 17:00
More Info
Add Photo Write a Review

163 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 156: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Superb food and excellent service from knowledgable and friendly staff in glorious surroundings. Try the 2016 Pinot Noir - probably the best wine we tasted on this trip.

Helpful?
Thank Trevor B
Auckland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

We have been for brunch on several occasions,if you get a table outside on a sunny day it is great. Food is lovely but the staff appear to be all very young and even when they are not overly busy it is quite slow. Once your food is delivered you rarely get a return visit so if you want a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Felix2000nz
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

They were super busy but very attentive. Kept us informed as to length of time to wait. Yummy food. Special mention to the waiter Harrison for great customer service.

Helpful?
Thank qpandkp
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First something positive - the kids liked it as there was an area for them to play. The wine tasting was pleasant and our table was ready for us. I have eaten out almost every day in NZ for the last 9 years and before this I have had one bad meal in NZ. I have now had 2. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Will S
Tony S, Owner at Soljans Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Will S, Always good to start with a positive so I was very pleased to read you enjoyed the wine tasting and that the children enjoyed the outside area. I find your comment on the duck interesting because we do not have Duck LOrange we have Roast duck which is slow roasted to make it nice and tender. It... More 

Voorburg, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Soljans cafe has a nice setting and you can have a great lunch and do some wine tasting at the shop. Just outside the restaurant you can see some of their vineyards. We had lunch on a Sunday and booked in advance (1 day) which was necessary beceause it became very busy after we arrived.

Helpful?
Thank Woudan
Tony S, Owner at Soljans Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Woudan, We take a lot of pride in our venue and also the grounds and put in many hours a week keeping it all up to scratch so it is good to see that it is noticed. We have lots of visitors wander through the vineyard and take in the experience. Pleased to read that you booked into the... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had extremely great time in Soljans cafe this Monday. We went here for lunch. The food is so delicious. The staff are very friendly and organised. The service is perfect. Strongly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank zjulie2011
Tony S, Owner at Soljans Cafe, responded to this review

Dear zjulie2011, Thank you very much for posting such a glowing review. In two sentences you have covered our whole operation and the review so good it could be used as an advertisement. It made the day to all the people in the cafe and kitchen when I forwarded them your review, they, like me look forward to you coming... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Visited as part of a wine tour. It is very rare among a party of 10 people for every single person to say that the lunch was superb (in fact I don't think I've ever been in such a party). Certainly among the best lunches I've had at a restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Darryn M
Tony S, Owner at Soljans Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Darryn M, Thank you for such a great review you covered everything extra well. It was our real pleasure to be of service to you and the kitchen team were super happy to read the glowing remarks. Thank you for taking the time to post it, it is greatly appreciated and we look forward to you visiting us again.... More 

Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The facade is much more interesting and inviting than what you actually find inside. Considering it is a winery we would have liked to have some views, some open space allowing to see the vines other than the little courtyard with one line of vines visible. Boring. Typical New Zealand Spartan furniture - cheap uncomfortable chairs with square tables. No... More 

Helpful?
Thank Advice1000
Tony S, Owner at Soljans Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Advise1000, Over the years I have realised that different situations and setting etc suit different people, there is no one size fits all it is all a very personal view. The points you made about our venue fall into this, as you see it as boring other find it relaxing and comfortable so there is no right or wrong,... More 

Sydney
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2017

4 of us went to this place for lunch on 12th December 2016. I had read somewhere that the Cafe is in the top 20 winery Cafes/Restaurants in the world. So we had very high expectations. I booked way ahead to avoid disappointment. The ambience is Ok as is service. Not over the top but OK. However, the food is... More 

Helpful?
Thank cromansydney
Tony S, Owner at Soljans Cafe, responded to this review

Dear cromansydney, I find your review interesting and on the positive side the ambience and service came out OK and that is pleasing. I read and respond to all reviews be they good bad or indifferent but I take points from these and go over it with the staff area concerned. In your situation I have talked to the kitchen... More 

Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

I have no time for cafes and restaurants that willingly turn away customers when they have multiple uncleared tables when they're busy, its just arrogance and poor management of staff. We were told there are no other options in the area and we chose not wait wed end up coming back. The cheek!

Helpful?
3 Thank AM H
Tony S, Owner at Soljans Cafe, responded to this review

Dear Am H, I asked my staff what the story was with your review and it is somewhat different than you have written. We were clearing tables and one would have been ready in a few minutes but you also asked if you could get served in a certain time but because we were very busy we could not do... More 

Travellers who viewed Soljans Cafe also viewed

Kumeu, Auckland Region
Kumeu, Auckland Region
 
Kumeu, Auckland Region
 
Kumeu, Auckland Region
Kumeu, Auckland Region
 

Been to Soljans Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
    Atmosphere
    4 of 5 bubbles
Average prices
US$14 - US$26
Cuisine
Cafe, New Zealand, European, Gluten Free Options
Meals
Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Parking Available, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar
Good for
Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Child-friendly, View, Kids
Open Hours
Sunday
09:00 - 17:00
Monday
09:00 - 17:00
Tuesday
09:00 - 17:00
Wednesday
09:00 - 17:00
Thursday
09:00 - 17:00
Friday
09:00 - 17:00
Saturday
09:00 - 17:00
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: 366 State Highway 16, Kumeu 0892, New Zealand (Formerly Soljans Estate Winery & Cafe)
  • Location: South Pacific  >  New Zealand  >  North Island  >  Auckland Region  >  Kumeu
  • Phone Number: +64 9-412 2680
Description
Family owned for three generations, Soljans Estate Winery & Cafe is located at the gateway to Kumeu Wine Country, Auckland's heritage wine region. Sample award-winning wines at the cellar door then enjoy exceptional New Zealand cuisine in the highly acclaimed winery cafe.

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Soljans Cafe staff and past visitors.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Do you have gluten-free options?
  • Is there a dress code?
  • Do you allow dogs on the outdoor patio?