We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Black Boys Inn

Henley Road | Hurley, Hurley, Maidenhead SL6 5NQ, England
+44 1628 824212
Website
Save
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
Overview
  • Excellent33%
  • Very good27%
  • Average11%
  • Poor13%
  • Terrible16%
Travellers talk about
“seafood” (3 reviews)
“chicken pie” (2 reviews)
“hake” (3 reviews)
Restaurant Hours
CUISINES
British, Gluten Free Options
PRICE
££ - £££
RATINGS
Service
Food
Value
Atmosphere
LOCATION
Henley Road | Hurley, Hurley, Maidenhead SL6 5NQ, England
All Details
Write a Review
Reviews (182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 20 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 23 October 2016

Just arrived home from a brilliant Sumday lunch. Amazing food and hospitality As a local cannot recommend enough. Forget about The Horns try this establishment. Great food and service. Very clean and staff very efficient and attentive.

4  Thank 12localperson
Nicole B, Owner at Black Boys Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

We luuuuvvvv having you and are over the moon you have enjoyed yourself with us. Thank you for the pheasants: game will be on the menu next in the next days

Reviewed 15 October 2016

Parking was easy,and the statue of HRH was just amazing. I will certainly be dining there in the future,the menu looked great and the staff very smart and professional and welcoming. Peter S.

3  Thank peter s
Nicole B, Owner at Black Boys Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2016

We are looking forward to having you in to try our new and exciting menu :-)

Reviewed 9 October 2016

We had been here many times during the previous ownership, but not in the past 6-7 years, I'm not sure why as it was great. The food was seasonal, well cooked and presented and in a warm and charming setting. On a whim, we booked...More

1  Thank ruthiegee
Nicole B, Manager at Black Boys Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

Dear Ruthiegee, Thank you for your comments and we hope you come to try our delicious roast. The roast this Sunday was larger then normal and we needed an extra 20 minutes for it to be cooked perfectly and served for eating at 12.30. I...More

Reviewed 5 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with my husband for 1 night. Arrived at 9:45pm , we quickly got checked in and into our room. Unfortunately the reception staff member finished at 10pm and the wifi is passworded so no internet. The rooms are tiny, definitely no room to...More

2  Thank Kathy H
Nicole B, Manager at Black Boys Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2016

We are terribly sorry that you felt our country Inn did not meet your expectations. Our basic room at £70 that you booked is equipped with a king bed , lounge chair , closet , bed side tables and a desk. The bathroom with a...More

Reviewed 15 September 2016

After having an awful experience trying to book our meal (due to a fault phone system apparently). We had a wonderful experience at the Black boys inn. The food was delicious can recommend the cod dish & chicken off of the set menu (or groupon...More

2  Thank Jemma S
Reviewed 13 September 2016

We pop in here occasionally for lunch. It is on the Henley - Maidenhead road with good parking. It was very good and reasonably priced but the food has become more 'Fat Duckish' and the cost has risen. We used to take others there, now...More

1  Thank petergreig
Reviewed 7 September 2016

Was slightly worried as had difficulty booking, this may have been as it was a Groupon deal. No need to worry as had a lovely evening with good food, wine and lovely surroundings. The staff were lovely as well. Not sure about the strange sitting...More

1  Thank Mlord22
Helen B, Manager at Black Boys Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and visiting us. All our staff try very hard to make sure each customer leaves happy and full. Our HRH garden statue is allot like marmite ; people either love it or hate it. We...More

Reviewed 1 September 2016 via mobile

We had lunch here yesterday 31 Aug and we really couldn't fault the place - food was excellent great value for money - staff were very attentive - the dinning area was very clean and gentle pipped music In the background - toilets were very...More

1  Thank ph135
Helen B, Manager at Black Boys Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2016

Thank you for your review and we are over the moon you had a fabulous experience. We hope you will visit us again as we are just about to launch our new menu : both set and al la carte and release our Christmas menu....More

Reviewed 31 August 2016

4 of us had a steak meal. All the steaks were chargrilled and very tender and tasty. Also cooked perfectly to order (rare and medium rare) with either pepper or mushroom sauce. Accompanied by well cooked chips (not a soggy one in sight!) and mushrooms....More

1  Thank EnglishLizzie999
Reviewed 28 August 2016

Had difficulty getting in contact by phone so needed personal visit. Used Groupon with free flowing prosecco. restaurant very busy (due to offer) and service somewhat slow. Excellent quality food, pleasant decor, friendly staff. Need a designated driver or taxi as out of town but...More

1  Thank Helen M
Helen B, Manager at Black Boys Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2016

Thank you for your visit. We are glad you enjoyed a piece of our beautiful countryside and home cooked food.

Nearby
Nearby Restaurants
The Dew Drop Inn
246 reviews
.23 miles away
The Rising Sun
202 reviews
.46 miles away
Danesfield House
177 reviews
.81 miles away
Nearby Attractions
Danesfield House Spa
103 reviews
.79 miles away
Hare Hatch Sheeplands
39 reviews
3.54 miles away
Higginson Park
47 reviews
2.73 miles away
Blackfeather Boat Charter
28 reviews
3.21 miles away
Ask a question
Questions & Answers
Paul M
23 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 6 answers
Response from lwhipps | Reviewed this property |
I am sorry you having problems booking. They were short staff. Ask for your money back from Travelzoo and explain. Good luck, Lily
0
Votes
Improve this listing

Restaurant Details

Rating summary
  • Food
    Service
  • Value
    Atmosphere
Meals
Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant features
Reservations, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff, Highchairs Available, Wheelchair Accessible, Serves Alcohol, Full Bar, Free Wifi
Good for
Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Location and Contact Information
  • Address: Henley Road | Hurley, Hurley, Maidenhead SL6 5NQ, England
  • Location: Europe  >  United Kingdom (UK)  >  England  >  Berkshire  >  Windsor and Maidenhead  >  Maidenhead  >  Hurley
  • Phone Number: +44 1628 824212
  • E-mail
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing